We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian with Loving Care” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasa Indian Eatery

Kasa Indian Eatery
Ranked #1,403 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Description: Honoring simple, homestyle Indian food at reasonable prices using natural and local ingredients.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Indian with Loving Care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kasa is a cool concept. No frills, just like the mother country that inspired this food. You wait in line, choose your meal from the overhead board, watch the servers assemble your plate, and pay your tab at the cash register. You then take your tray to one of the several tables or the communal chest-high table in the center of the room. The food is fresh, tasty, and reasonably priced. This is for people who love Indian food without the drudgery of going to the "pink tablecloth" restaurant that are so often associated with this cuisine. Kasa is more of the "street food" genre, and there's nothing pedestrian about it. It's savory, with the usual spice spectrum that makes Indian food so interesting and flavorful. You can tell by the repeat customers that this place is a winner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had lunch a few days ago at Kasa. We got a plate which was enough for two people. We sat inside and ate it and enjoyed a little respite from a windy day in SF. We had chai to drink. I don't know how they do it, but their chai is REALLY hot and stays that way forever. The plate lunch included a variety of dishes that were all really good. We cleaned it! Easy to get to, friendly staff. Good place to drop in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Kati Rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was here for a quick lunch with my daughter. My expectations were not that high after entering. You order your food at the counter in back and they prepare your food and you pay there as well. Your food is served on metal pizza trays and you self serve drinks. Appeared to be a typical fast food type operation. Then we sat down and tasted the food. We ordered Chicken Tikka Masala and Lamb Curry rolls along with a samosa. Both rolls were excellent. The balance of seasonings was wonderful and it was plenty of food for a filling lunch. It was only as we were preparing to leave that I really looked around at the other tables and noticed all the happy faces. Everyone appeared to be enjoying their meals. This will be a welcome addition to my SF must eat list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a Typical Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

In our continuing quest for Indian food in San Francisco, we discovered Kasa Indian Eatery. Kasa was an affordable Indian homestyle that is now bookmarked as a place to go back to if I'm ever again in that area of SF.

Take this place: we'd come off of a Sunday hike to Mount Davidson Park and were looking for an Indian restaurant nearby that was open on Sunday's before 5 PM. This place is on a corner in the Castro on 18th and Noe that is a little like a cafeteria and an Indian Bistro.

You get two main choices: a wrap called a Kati Roll, which is a filled (with one of the choices below plus marinated onions and chutney) roti rolled like a burrito for a inexpensive $4.50 each (order 2 or 3 for a meal) AND/OR what we had which was a Thali (A Combination Plate).

For about $11, you get an authentic Indian home-style round and sectioned stainless steel tray that holds many wondrous things: first, two choices of the following selection:

Chicken Tikka
Chicken Tikka Masala
Lamb Curry
Turkey Kebabs
Karahi Paneer
Aloo Jeera
or one of the Daily Veggie Specials (like today's Saag Paneer)

Also with that you get a Daal (lentil) with basmati rice, a large handmade wheat roti, a veggie salad (that is to plotz for), two chutney's (including a cilantro one) and a large spoonful of raita (yogurt).

This is a lot of very good food, served up by friendly and efficient people behind a counter. You then can order drinks or a mango lassi ($3), and find your seat in this small restaurant.

We three did the Thali with:
Chicken Tikka
Chicken Tikka Masala
Karahi Paneer
Saag Paneer

And we all agreed how real the food tasted (locally sourced or naturally raised BTW) and how much great food you can get for relatively little in SF. The daal was spicy as was the Karahi Paneer, but the perfect tempering of the raita and the fresh flavors and crunch of the fresh salad tempered this spice. With all the fresh, different textures and flavors that were served on a single platter, we found this a welcome change from the many standard Indian buffets we've had in our past, where we would tend to stick only with "what we knew".

The Chicken Tikka Masala was meaty with a sauce that did not come with that super-creamy opaque sauce, which allowed you to better taste the moist, grilled nature of the chicken. So many other Tikka Masala cream sauces try to cover up cubes of chicken that had gone dry too many hours ago, but this was done in small batches and the result was simply excellent.

Saag Paneer was really good and generous with their Paneer. Their large roti was really tasty and felt homemade rather than commercial.

The service tends to remain behind the counter and you are obligated to clear your own table and set your used dishes in a slot under a counter near the drink machine.

But this rather small place is clean, fast, and delicious; not much more to ask for in the City. We will definitely return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasa Indian Eatery also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kasa Indian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing