We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Mystique

Cafe Mystique
Ranked #564 of 5,643 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Castro
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner and I weren't really sure where to eat in the Castro, and happened upon this charming place while walking. It was definitely worth the minor wait, the food was authentic and delicious. I'd recommend starting with the hummus plate. Portions were large and the staff was very friendly! It's not a very large place and the tables are someone close together which was fun considering our neighbors were also friendly and interesting people. If you enjoy Mediterranean food, not a bad choice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvanServo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Convivial atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very good restaurant on Castro, excellent service and good food at reasonable price. Would definitely go back here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The green bean appi was amazing….and the atmosphere & service was very good…they need to get a better selection of wine & drinks on the happy hour menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“MEDITERRANEAN DELIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I come here at least once a year to try new stuff and it never ceases to amaze us.

Friendly staff and not too much patronizing on "how's the food questions" , which I and my friend prefer how restaurant patrons should be treated .

Excellent food choices and wine selections .

Try their pomegranate chicken and Moroccan grilled chicken . Their Malbec and Bordeaux are good pairings for such dishes .


Helpful?
Thank CASTRO_MAVERICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Had a really nice breakfast here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had Raisin & Roasted Pecan Pancakes with a side of bacon, a cheese omelet and a couple of tall coffees. The waiter was very nice and the music was classic: Andres Segovia is excellent music for breakfast in my book.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LearningCurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mystique also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing