We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creative and delicious!”
Review of Rich Table

Rich Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Rich Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Oak St
Description: RICH TABLE is the culinary vision of Chefs Evan and Sarah Rich. With over three decades of combined experience in San Francisco and New York high-end restaurants, the team brings with them a wealth of talent, knowledge of quality foods and wine, and connections with the best farms and purveyors. RICH TABLE is a place with no dress code, where the food speaks for itself. Evan and Sarah believe that eating out should be relaxed, fun and exciting. It should remind you of the good times you share with family while introducing you to new tastes in the company of friends. The staff at RICH TABLE will use their years of experience to provide food that is expertly prepared and served, while set in a surrounding that is modern, convivial, and comfortable. We can't wait to cook for you and have you at our table! Evan and Sarah Rich
Montreal
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“creative and delicious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would go back anytime! Great food, very creative, good atmosphere, great friendly service. Nothing to complain about. My kind of place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    49
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Gastropub in San Francisco”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate at Rich Table at one of their first Tuesday night dinners. Unusual recipes incorporating fresh and appealing ingredients strive for excellence but too often fell flat through over-seasoning with salt and sour (vinegar?). The ambience and food reminds us of a spacious, modern, high end British Gastropub complete with a lively bar scene; light, airy, modern and casual decor; gourmet cocktails, wine and beer; and delicious appetizers (the home made bread, sardine chips and porcini donuts were delightful surprises and the best part of our meal). Service was indifferent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlDolcePerPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One word - Yummy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am sure you all know when you have it -- yummy food that is beyond the just great food and excellent food -- well prepared, well seasoned and excellent. Donuts, Sardine on a potato chip, the soup of the day, the excellent pastas and the main courses which change with season. We had the Tagliatelle and the Salmon and a couple of the other main courses and there were well prepared. The service is excellent and friendly and the chef owner is still cooking

The cocktails are good and the desserts were to die for especially the chocolate one. They do charge you for great bread with cultured butter and warm bread with that butter is also a nice way to clean up your plate because I bet most of you will be wanting more.

Reservations are hard to get so book in advance to line up when the restaurant opens as they do have some table at the bar and some for walk ins.

One can say this is hipster food or xyz food -- don't care -- it is good and the prices are ok for SF so if you just want to eat and not worry about what others say -- go there

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belomiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We secured a late evening reservation. A very pleasant airy space with a variety of types of seating. Porcini donuts and sardine chips are unusual and very tasty. Pasta descriptions promise a lot but don't all deliver the promised hype and oomph. Standout was the one with octopus "bolognaise"; it was full flavoured and different from the usual elsewhere. Steamed sea bass was nicely cooked with good texture and flavour variations. Like all trendy places it has wine on tap. We found the by the glass serving sizes were a bit meagre. It is a busy place and we found it hard to get the waitress's attention.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeeglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Innovative food and good service, deafening noise”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The former paul k has been replaced by trendy Rich Table (reservations go fast). Food was interesting, fresh, and well prepared--try the porcini beignets and the dark chocolate pot de creme. Appetizers are meant for sharing. Note that bread costs $2 per slice. No freebies here!
The personable, knowledgeable waiters are hard to tell from the Hayes Valley hipster diners except for their aprons.
Unfortunately, the noise level is several decibels above "energetic"; don't go expecting to carry on a conversation.
We were looking for an alternative to Absinthe and Jardiniere near the Opera House. Rich Table might be it if it were closer, but it isn't worth the extra 3-block walk each way. Street parking is as scarce as hens' teeth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rich Table also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Rich Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing