We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real deal walking tour with passion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild SF Walking Tours

Wild SF Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.70*
and up
Haunted SF: Ghosts in the City After Dark
Ranked #6 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Free tours and funky, in depth history of SF’s coolest areas led by artist-guides. Understand the social movements and heroes who helped define San Francisco, with brilliant storytelling and a local's perspective.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real deal walking tour with passion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

An excellent walking tour hosted by two very intelligent and entertaining hosts, who are clearly passionate about SF. Wild Wes and J Jo took us out to Castro and Mission areas by MUNI and gave us a truly informed tour. Their style is very much 'hands on' and interactive, at the end not only do you know WW & JJ, but through their 'ice breakers' you have met everyone else in your party, adding to the richness of the event. WW & JJ are cleary very well educated guys who are confident with tourists from all around the world and ensure that everyone is looked after. At the end of the 3.5 hrs or so I knew more about SF and felt as if I had been given a privileged insight into cultures and historical events I would have missed otherwise. This tour is a 'win/win'.... you pay the guys what you think the tour was worth, unfortunately for them I didn’t carry gold, because this is its true value. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Satori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    44
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original Take on the Convention Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had Wes guiding and serenading us for the day. He took us through different parts of San Fran that we didn't even know where there. Visited the backstreets of Chinatown rather than the busy main Grant Street area and really got an authentic feel for the place. It's a shame the tour only lasted two and a half hours but we covered a lot of ground in that space of time. Wes' songs were entertaining and kept the whole group laughing and joining in. Definitely worth doing, and it's free. I would pay for the tour again though if they started charging.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great experience that combines an informative and entertaining tour of different areas of the city.
The guides are a great laugh and are incredibly helpful.
The only way to get a personal touch style tour of San Fran.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DanGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hip tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I did the Barbary Coast tour. It went to lots of interesting places and had interesting pieces of information - better than the standard walking tour fare. J Jo was a very nice guy, even funny sometimes! At the end we went for some food and was very helpful with showing us how to get to where we wanted to go after.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great introduction to SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We opted for Wes' tour because he had a ukulele but I heard that Jay Joe's tour is equally fun. The tours take you to places you might miss otherwise and Wes has plenty of songs and laughs to keep things interesting. The tour is also a good place to meet fellow travellers. And best of all it's free (although don't forget to tip). Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild SF Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wild SF Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing