We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Casual - Amazing Food”
Review of City Chopsticks

City Chopsticks
Ranked #347 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Description: The food is fabulous!
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Casual - Amazing Food”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We enjoyed every dish we ordered and we ordered a lot. Our little group are tasters, so we share. We had soups, fried shrimp, garlic shrimp, sweet & sour shrimp, chicken, just some of everything! Each dish was just the best.
Very, very casual with just a few tables. Most people were coming in for take out. The service excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    73
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
349 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Casual, Good Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

City Chopsticks is a very casual place but the food was very good. Three of us shared one hot and sour soup - it comes in a large tureen with individual serving bowls for $6.95 and could have easily fed 3-4 more. I had the garlic prawns, which comes with lots of broccoli and was tasty. My husband likes spicy food and he said his Mongolian beef was definitely hot. Prices are cheap and this is a good option if you just want something close to your home or hotel without heading into Chinatown. They do serve wine and beer but we didn't have any.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare46408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went here based on other reviews and were not disappointed. It is not a traditional restaurant but more of a take away with a few basic tables inside do not be put off by this. We sat inside and ate, the food is cheaper than a lot in china town and really tasty. It is perfect if you are looking for a quick meal that will not cost the earth but tastes great. Would recommend the chili beef really good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided to try City Chopsticks based on Tripadvisor reviews and the fact that it wasn't too far from our hotel.
Looks pretty basic from the outside. Not what you'd class as a restaurant. Equally basic interior but don't be put off.
Once inside we discovered a great menu and when the food arrived, generous portions and delicious! Fantastic value too.
Would highly recommend the Szechuan Chicken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you get stuck eating here, do not order the sake”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was certainly not the worst Chinese food I've ever had. The award-winning General Tsuo chicken is not bad-- it's just not good. We also had an eggplant dish that was okay. Both served at lightning speed. But I have never tasted sake like this--it's the kind of experience that kicks your head back just as you wonder why your eyes are watering. I told the waitress it was undrinkable and she insisted on showing me the bottle it supposedly came from-- she hadn't made it, she had bought it in a bottle. She did not subtract it from our bill. There are so many real Chinese food restaurants in SF-- make a point of avoiding this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Chopsticks also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to City Chopsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing