We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Communal Dining”
Review of Namu Gaji

Namu Gaji
Reserve with OpenTable
Namu Gaji is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #464 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission District
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Communal Dining”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Delicious and fun. The restaurant is very small and intimate so can get loud but it's a very communal experience at long farm tables or bar areas around the kitchen or windows.
Everything was delicious. The only disappointment was the noodle bowl with chicken - it was just lacking a bit of flavor. The dumplings were amazing with their mushroom broth. The tartare was excellent!!! We really did not have many complaints - even the service was exceptional and the value was great as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilGoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really good food, get a seat overlooking the kitchen & enjoy the show”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a late-night feast at Namu Gaji after a last minute booking and weren't disappointed.

The menu is small but everything is interesting, well executed and lovingly presented. The chicken wings are to die for. Loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fusion Korean in the Mission”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

When we Uberred to the Namur Gaji we were not sure what to expect. We are Korean food addicts but we also knew that Namu Gaji was not traditional food. A first look at the menu will show you a compilation of Korean, Japanese and Western fusion dishes. The dishes ordered were good but the menu was limited. We enjoyed especially the freshly shucked oysters and a Japanese/Korean okonomiyaki (savory pancake). We went next door to Birite for dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surfpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food .. have no idea if it's authentic Korean but it was really tasty in a fun local neighbourhood. Little nibbles are brought free of charge while waiting. The highlight was the "stonepot" which we shared between two and was really fabulous

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelloSunshine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish I had a bigger stomach!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went as a family to this small amazing Korean farm to table restaurant and the entire experience was a delight for the senses. We did the "family style" dinner where they brought out 6 (seemed like more) courses. Each was unique and incredibly delicious. They also have a fantastic selection of Sakes and our waiter was very knowledgeable about all of them. All of the staff were very friendly. It's a small place and you're packed in, but we didn't really notice since we were consumed with the food, the sake & the company. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namu Gaji also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Namu Gaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing