We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of iThai

iThai
Ranked #936 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco
Level Contributor
430 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Reasonably good food, not very popular and good service. Its location is a bit odd. Neither perfect for downtown office people nor is it noticeable by the tourists. I went there with a Groupon. Will probably not go back because we live so close to Marnee Thai, unless for some reason we are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, but cheap Thai food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was staying at the hostel over the road and went with a small group. Menu selection was good and all the meals were brought out quickly. Everyone enjoyed their food and the price!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjm504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really appaling hygiene”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First of all, this place is not a genuine thai food! The waitresses and chefs are chinese! We went here after a long day around napa valley and it was a close thai to our hotel. We checked it out on TA before going. As soon as we walked in and sat down we were jarred by the blue neon light which meant you couldnt see properly. We also sat near the kitchen and it was absolutely disgusting! Extremely dirty and probably full of cockroaches and lord knows what else. I ordered a pad thai vegetarian took one bite and couldnt eat it because I was put off by the very dirty kitchen - it didnt even taste like pad thai. My husband ordered Gai Yang chicken and what came out didnt even look like chicken, and certainly the bones were way too big to be a chicken. All in all very disappointed, there are much better places in San Fran to go, dont be lured by other peoples reviews as we were!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhavisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Has to be the best thai food outside of thailand. The tom kai soup was absolutly 5 star, and the portion was so genorous, that alone would have filled me, but the main course, crab fried rice, was even better. The only gripe was, they served the soup with the main course, so it was a bit awkward juggling both courses to keep them hot, but still 5 stars all the way

Helpful?
Thank Davy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple but very good!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The place stand outs wih authentic Thai taste and good quality of ingredients. The staff are very polite and caring. The service is fast. Do not fill in your hungry stomach with the starters- most are fried and the best is still to come. Be prepared for large portions of food. The soups are delicious (deserves to taste if you like really spicy Thai) and the green curry - just perfect! The place has simple outlook, so no need to specially dress up for the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iThai also viewed

 

Been to iThai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing