We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hire bikes and explore this SF gem”
Review of Golden Gate Park

Golden Gate Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Golden Gate Park Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hire bikes and explore this SF gem”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We took the bus from Union Square, which dropped us off just outside one of the entrances to the park. We hired bicycles and cycled all the way down to Ocean Beach (and then back up the hill!!). Enjoyed the great scenary ... and the Bison!! Good place to visit if you feel like a break from the city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Sandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,043
    1,977
    446
    74
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Beauty in the midst of crowds and congestion!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I enjoyed the beauty of this park on a Segway trip yesterday. It was a great way to learn many interesting facts and see a great deal in a timely manner. I especially enjoyed the greenery/ plants, the lake and overall nature in an otherwise noisy and crowded environment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend a saturday evening!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Try to schedule this place during your stay! I rented a bike but wished I planned ahead for a segway tour, which is an excelent way to see the park

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Et_naess@yahoo.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty, big with heaps of things to do”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The science museum is great and the park itself is quite beautiful with little coves and stuff everywhere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good park and easy to cycle”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was a very nice park with an easy bike ride from the Academy of Sciences to the Pacific Ocean. There's a lot to see here and I wished that we had more time to explore it all. Don't believe all the hype regarding the difficulty of the bike ride back to the start of the park as JFK drive is only a slight (but long) hill. It took us 1 1/2 hours to cycle to the ocean and back again and we are far from fit so. The park itself is very nice and peaceful. It doesn't have the same wow factor as Central Park however it's a lot more peaceful and definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Park also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Golden Gate Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing