We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Mason Center

Fort Mason Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Self-Guided Bike Rentals from San Francisco
Ranked #117 of 529 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had head mixed reviews about long lines and waiting times, so we planned to get there early. We arrived 5 minutes before official opening, and it wasn't busy at all. Food was fresh, and there were no lines at any truck. Within an hour, it started to get quite busy though (although still not terribly long lines or waits).

The food was a fairly nice selection of various local food trucks. I brought my appetite, and OtG didn't disappoint.

Prices are reasonable. You'll spend a little more than you might going to to a bar, but they didn't serve tiny portions either.

Overall, highly recommended on a Friday evening at Fort Mason Center if you're into trying different things or sampling street-meat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AKRON OHIO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our brother and sister-in-law were excited to take us to Off The Grid and what a wonderful experience. There were about 20 food trucks with many different ecclectic choices from Asian, Mexican, Cupcakes, Creme Brulee to American Cuisine, along with breweries and a winery. The food was very reasonable and delicious. All this and great music too as a local band provided ambiance! Literally, there was something for everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“touch, participate, see, enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

i went there alone and accidentally, and i must say it is really worth to go there. So go there, with your chilrden, and touch, participate, see, enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gift shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The center is also a souvenier store, it had a few souvenier items and the information desk was very helpful.

You can also get a funny picture taken on a green screen where it can get transferred on over to a picture that looks like your standing on top of the golden gate bridge

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank charmnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to wander around and enjoy eclectic events”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Fort Mason was a military facility whose buildings have been converted to various playhouses, crafts workshops and the like. Frequent events are held there. Not really a tourist destination unless you have an event to go to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel-junkie3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Mason Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing