We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geary Parkway Motel
Ranked #120 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our daughter and family live in the Richmond district off Geary so, based on the good reviews, when visiting them last weekend we chose this motel. It was a great find and we hope to stay again. Just sorry we have wasted our money on big hotels when this was just down the street from them. The manager was very helpful and found a room for us upstairs as we hoped would be possible. From the outside it is just a very ordinary 50's style motel but the interior of the rooms are all newly refurbished and immaculately clean. The bathroom is small but everything is new, fixtures, pedestal sink, shower surround etc. The room was immaculate and the bedding was actually luxurious. The bed was on the soft side but very comfortable. We were amazed because the rooms were under $100! That's unheard of in San Francisco. We had a car but had our daughter come and pick us up as we didn't want to lose our parking place. They don't have quite enough parking based on the number of rooms so it is first come first served. We couldn't have been happier and told our daughter to tell her friends that live in the city so that when family or friends visit they will have a great recommendation for them. If you want a downtown experience in the big hotels this isn't it. If you want convenience, free parking and beautiful, comfortable room out near Golden Gate Park and the Presidio this is the best you could ask for.

Room Tip: Best choice rooms would be upstairs and to the rear of the property.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegirlGualala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear sunshinegirlGualala,
Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are glad that you enjoyed all the conveniences Geary Parkway Motel has to offer. Thank you for the positive review. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit your daughter and family, or anytime you want to hang out in the city!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Geary Parkway Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 323 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just stayed for one night, 08Feb14. Free parking, can you believe it?! The parking spaces are narrow, but FREE. Check-in with the hotel manager Henry was very pleasant and quick. Room was clean, the bed was comfortable, no tub in bathroom. Our room #201 on second floor was on the Geary Street side - was a bit noisy. Upon arrival, found heater to be broken. Advised Henry, and was replaced while we were out to dinner. He called our room once we returned, to ensure it was working properly. The location was perfect for us, since we wanted to visit the Golden Gate Park. Easy walking distance to restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Jan B,
Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are glad you took advantage of our free parking. We are sorry about the water heater but are glad that we were able to fix it. Thank you for the positive review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best reagards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We needed a nice clean and comfortable place to stay in the city. Plenty of places to eat that are an easy walk from our room. A little noise from the street but not enough to be a bother. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice, too. Always coffee, tea and muffins available at the front desk. If you're looking for a nice place to stay while working in the city, I recommend the Geary Parkway. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyb91390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Rickyb91390,
Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and Geary's location. Thank you for the positive review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was looking for a budget friendly motel within an easy commute to UCSF Hospital and the only negative for this one was traffic noise. Well in San Francisco wherever you go there will be traffic. You can ask for a room towards the back if you want to get away from Geary St which is a main street in the city. We had two rooms one upstairs near the front and one on the first floor in the middle and neither of us was bothered by traffic noise.

On the super plus side this is a reasonably priced motel with free parking (have you ever priced parking in San Francisco) and a great location. Besides a short drive to the hospital it is near Golden Gate Park, both major SF museums, ocean beach area, Haight/Ashbury, public transportation on Geary St. and fairly close to downtown.

The outside is rather plain but the rooms are quite nice, very clean and have been upgraded. Beds were very comfortable and my son-in-law wanted to take one home with him. Bathrooms were remodeled and the glass enclosed shower was great. There was coffee in the room, TV, microwave, a fridge and the heater was perfect. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There were also many restaurant choices in this nice neighborhood.

If there is another trip to SF in my future, we shall return to the Geary Parkway Motel for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear marie n,

Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our remodels. Sorry we couldn't let your son-in-law take one of our beds, but now he knows where he can always find them. Thank you for the positive review, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I needed a place to stay so I could be first in line at BLS International for a visa to India (and that's another story) which is just down the street. Found this one online - it was great. The manager (sorry didn't get his name) was awesome, super helpful, friendly. Room was very clean, amenities were just fine. It's not 5 star but for the price it's excellent. Free wifi too, and they let me park there for the day (knowing I may be asked to leave at anytime if they needed the parking space) since parking in SF is, well, if you don't know, you will when you visit. I give him a good tip for his kindness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higherisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Higherisbetter,

Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. Hopefully you got to be first in line for your visa! We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our WiFi and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Free parking, moderate pricing, a gracious and helpful host, cleanliness, comfort and convenience--these qualities are what prompted me to write this review. I will not stay anywhere else in San Francisco after enjoying The Geary Parkway Motel. Excellent transportation options, notable restaurants across the boulevard and a safe environment are not to be overlooked. My husband was a patient at UCSF and this location was particularly strategic. You will be hard pressed to find a better spot.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 through the rest of the wing towards the far end are desirable on either side. Cannot comm...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Maggie C,

Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of the strategic location. We are sorry about your husband and wish him a speedy recovery. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, hopefully under different circumstances.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A group of us from Fleet Feet Fair Oaks Racing Team entered the 5K/15K Chocolate Run in January & stayed at the Geary Parkway Motel. Not only was the room great, the bed heavenly but the bathroom was granite w/rainhead & AWESOME heat after 3 showers in a row. Henry the manager was outstanding, he is accommodating and helpful, so knowledgeable about the area. We needed to eat well before our run and Henry recommended a great Italian restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel so we could walk, it was EXCELLENT, I would eat there next time! We also were able to walk to the race and back at the DeYoung Museum & Japanese Tea Garden (no transportation issues). Henry let us do a late check out so we could get showers after the race. The place was immaculate, had everything from coffee, microwave, refrig to a great coffee in the lobby. Boudin's was at the end of the block to take home fresh sour dough. Excellent trip because of Henry and the wonderful motel, thank you Henry! Our racing team is definitely staying here again at the next chocolate run.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear kathy v,
Thank you for choosing Geary Parkway Motel. We are glad that your race went well and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the motel's close proximity to everything. We hope you enjoyed your Boudin bread when you got home and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
598 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#172 of 229 in San Francisco
139 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#166 of 229 in San Francisco
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
1,567 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
217 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geary Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geary Parkway Motel

Address: 4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118-2909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $109 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Geary Parkway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Geary Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geary Parkway Hotel San Francisco
Geary Parkway San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing