We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel for a quick visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geary Parkway Motel
Ranked #112 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Motel for a quick visit.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wanted to stay in the closest motel to my son's appt in San Francisco. Reception were nice, rooms updated, clean and comfy bed. I had only a 15 min walk to my sons appt and we walked to a pizza restaurant and then a nice bar. Parking off the street was a plus. Only one problem, I had the front room looking out on Geary and it was very busy noise wise, but I liked everything else and I will go back.

Room Tip: If you don't want street noise, ask for any room, except facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiChris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, General Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Geary Parkway Motel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our guest rooms and reception area and we welcome you back the next time your in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    132
    60
    5
    16
See reviews for
86
120
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Expected a lot more looking at previous reviews. Compared to other places in the states we thought it was very overpriced (this is probably every where in San Fran). Room was ok but a lot of noise from Geary Blvd which is a very busy Rd. Public transport is easy to access but you are looking at a 30 to 40 min trip into downtown. The neighborhood is good, plenty of places to eat and drink. Breakfast is a joke ,why bother? Would look at staying closer to down town If I visited again. Overall very average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize we were unable to satisfy your stay with us, however we thank you for your the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is an older motel which has been extensively renovated with up to date furnishings. We stayed in a king bed room. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. This is a great location on Geary, a block away from Clement, within walking distance of Golden Gate Park, near lots of restaurants and shops of New Chinatown (check out the Dragon River a couple of blocks away on Geary). There is some traffic noise from Geary, but we found it was not overwhelming.

Housekeeping does a great job. The onsite manager was always helpful and responsive. Parking is limited -- but it is free. Breakfast is sparse (coffee, tea, prepackaged muffins, juice machine -- but the coffee is excellent).

We definitely look forward to staying at the Geary parkway Motel on our next visit to SF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. Thanks for you kinds words regarding our staff. We are happy to hear you found our guest rooms to be very comfortable and our location to be great. We welcome you back the next time you in San Francisco again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Geary Parkway Motel is the best value in San Francisco including free parking, which is a rare thing in the city. Clean rooms well furnished with flat screen TV, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, ironing board, and pillow-top mattresses. In the Lobby, they serve coffee & tea all day, plus free breakfast pastries and juice each morning. The motel is located in a cute residential neighborhood with a short walk to great restaurants and the Golden Gate Park. This location is very convenient and right on the bus route to Fisherman’s Wharf, Downtown, and Union Square.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-9Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you, we are thrilled to hear your review regarding our guest rooms and location. We are happy you enjoyed yourself while visiting our beautiful city. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived after a long flight and picked up our hire car. I was unsure about this place as I had read previous reviews about the limited parking. It was fine however, plenty of parking available even in the middle of the day. The man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and the beds are very comfortable. It is a bit far from downtown, but there are still plenty of good places to eat nearby, and the neighbourhood seems fine. It is a great location to start the 49 mile scenic drive around SF.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our guest rooms and found out location to accessible while touring the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a wonderful 5 days in SF, and stayed at the Geary Motel...
The front desk fellow "Henry" was always very helpful, and pleasant.
Henry helped make our trip to SF a real happy trip.
Will want to go back to this motel for future visits!

Room Tip: Location allows bus travel nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was always good to hear great things being said about Henry. I am happy to hear he took good care of you during your stay with us and we welcome you back the next time you in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

in town for my son's graduation. the prices in san francisco make me feel like i am back in london. this motel was in my son's neighborhood and the price was close to resonable. the bus let us out right in front of the place. i took a deep breath and thought "oh, no" it is a motel 6!!! however, the bones are a motel 6 but they are tried really hard to make it worth the cost. very clean outside. i was suprised at how quiet it was (second floor near the back) considering how close it is to the busy street. the retro-fit inside the room was well done. tiny bath, but with granite shower and nice shower door. the towels were good. the bed was very nice with good support and lots of pillows. the tv was a flat screen (maybe a 46 inch?) nice size fridge. free wifi and the folks at the desk and staff were very nice.

Room Tip: near the back and on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mekulisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms and had a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
589 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#173 of 229 in San Francisco
133 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#163 of 229 in San Francisco
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#18 of 229 in San Francisco
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geary Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geary Parkway Motel

Property: Geary Parkway Motel
Address: 4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118-2909
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Geary Parkway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Geary Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geary Parkway Hotel San Francisco
Geary Parkway San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing