We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, convenient with personality”
Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #24 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

this blended hotel sparkles due to the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. it is in a very convenient location on a busy and somewhat noisy street. Take earplugs. Would stay again but hopefully get a room in the back that is not as noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrytraveler28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 516 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

We chose this hotel because it's 2 blocks from a concert we were going to see at the Independent. Plenty of stuff to do, especially within 2-3 blocks of the hotel.

Yes the rooms are small -- ridiculously so (ever see the stateroom scene in the Marx Brothers' "A Night at the Opera?"). We had room 109, which was actually two separate rooms with one big queen bed in each room. There was enough room for a dresser in each room, too, with a tiny t.v. on top of each dresser. One of the rooms was connected to the bathroom. The other room had a window that overlooked the garden.

I was glad I'd followed the recommendation to book a garden room, because Divisidero is a VERY noisy, busy street. Between booking an inner room, and wearing earplugs, I wasn't bothered by the noise at all.

I WAS bothered by how cold the room was. I couldn't find a thermostat anywhere. The beds each had one extremely thin blanket (not much thicker than a sheet, truly) and a bedspread. I had to sleep in a sweatshirt and my coat, in addition to pajamas, and still felt chilly. By the time we'd gone to bed it seemed too late to ask for more blankets, or figure out the heater situation.

The prices is definitely cheaper than what you'd expect in SF, so if you don't want to spend your whole vacation budget on hotels, this is a good place. The rooms were clean, the building felt safe and the staff and other guests were friendly.

We had to look around a bit for dining options. A good place for breakfast is The Grind, on Haight (about 3-4 blocks away). Most of the shops on Haight don't open 'till 11:00 a.m., so take your time with breakfast if you're planning to do any shopping. Get to know the bus system -- BART doesn't come very near here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Great price, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable beds, surprisingly quiet, and located in a fun walk-to-everything-you-need San Francisco neighborhood. The Metro is nothing fancy, but it's got to be one of the best values in the City. We stayed with two teenagers while visiting Bay Area colleges and it was perfect for what we needed. Our room overlooked the backyard garden, which was delightful. The rooms are spare but quite comfortable and the ceiling fans and Dr.Bronner's soap in the shower were nice touches. The only downside is the on-street parking, which was really hard to find on a friday night (45 minutes of looking for a spot!) Still, it's worth it, and with Faletti Foods and Peet's coffee just a block away, we were happy, and we'd definitely stay at the Metro again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnebagTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is a small boutique style hotel, with a small lobby, and small rooms. But the friendliness and attentiveness are huge, belying The Metro's compact footprint.

The attractively priced rooms at The Metro are very clean, and are as comfortable as any comparably priced accommodations you will find in Paris, London, Rome, or New York for that matter. Yes, the rooms are small. But so what? Who travels to and exciting city like SF to stay in a room all day. We came back home to The Metro to shower or to crash after a busy day and night.

The public areas at The Metro Hotel are attractively decorated, as are the rooms.

Metro Hotel keeps complimentary fresh fruit available for the guests as well as cinnamon rolls at breakfast. I wish there were a coffee maker though as some of the local breakfast places open kind of late for an early riser like myself.

There is a large shaded courtyard in the rear of the property where one may enjoy a quiet book by oneself under a shade tree. The courtyard is also a welcoming place in the afternoons or evening where a relaxing drink or snacks can be shared with friends. This is a real bonus!

The immediate neighborhood of Lower Haight is vibrant. Colorful people and characters make it a very hip place. The Page cocktail lounge is catercorner, on Page and Divisadero, Stop by at Happy Hour for a buck off your beverage. The fantastic Madrone Art Bar (art shows, live music AND booze!) is just down the street. Nopa restaurant is a block or so away. Wonderful restaurants of all types, and in all price ranges are dotted all over the neighborhood. And Haight-Ashbury is just a few blocks up the hill, Dude, if you want to get in touch with your inner Flower Child.

Divisadero is a very lively thoroughfare and can be quite bustling at night, especially at weekends. So unless you enjoy the sound of late night hubbub, try to book a room overlooking the inner courtyard, where the action usually quietens down or stops completely by 10:00 PM or so. If somebody is happening to be strumming his guitar or making a happy racket down there as you prepare to sleep, just call downstairs and a friendly word will be given. Peace, man.

There is an extremely high level of professional courtesy at this charming boutique hotel, and Metro Hotel staff go to extraordinary lengths in ensuring guest satisfaction in ways simply unimaginable at larger, colder, corporate hospitality chains.

There were no fridges in the rooms during our visit. But if you want to keep your Ferry Plaza Market-bought artisanal Brie cool, or keep your six pack of Anchor Steams nice and frosty, the staff will be happy to store your stuff in their fridge, if you just ask them. No ice, though.

Our experience at Metro Hotel was very, very welcoming; from the moment we arrived on a rainy Thursday morning, when Martha allowed an early check-in so that we might change into dry clothing, to the moment we checked out, when Jamal almost literally bent over backward to help us. In particular, we shall never forget Shana’s warm conversations, genuine smile, and everything she and Ellen did to make us feel welcome — and cared about — in their ‘home away from home.’

The next time we visit SF, we will most definitely plan to stay at Metro Hotel on dear old Divisadero, and we will continue to praise this establishment as a great boutique hotel in a great city!

Jim and Cynthia Naughton
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim_Naughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Metro for a few nights during our time in the Bay Area, and were very pleased with our stay. As a couple in our mid-twenties with only a few days to take the city by storm (we transfered to hotel in San Mateo for the second part of our trip - MakerFaire 2010!), everything (from the staff to the room to the LOCATION!) suited our needs far above and beyond what the price would indicate.

The hotel has (I'm fairly sure) 3 floors...the first (ground) floor is the lobby, and we stayed in the first room up the flight of stairs. Be advised, there is no elevator - stairs only. This wasn't a problem for us, and seems to be fairly common throughout the city. There is a little garden courtyard in the back that is fenced in (no street traffic), decently lit and very charming...an unexpected place to relax in the middle of the city.

The room itself was perfectly clean, with a wonderfully funky layout. Though on the smaller side, a couple should have no problem being comfortable with just a little organization (we're not particularly space-efficient, but we are fairly organized; if you're a sloppy traveler that likes to strew clothing about, you'll be at a disadvantage). The sink in our room was located near the foot of the queen-sized bed, which was something I've never encountered...and grew to like, actually...and the bathroom featured a standard toilet and stand-up shower that were both very clean and showed no wear.

No air-conditioning unit (being from Alaska, this worried me at first...), but there were screened slat windows and a ceiling fan that kept the room nice and cool regardless of the hour. Emphasis on screened - no bug infiltration. *Nice!* The windows did not let in as much noise as I'd expected.

Located on Divisadero (between a game shop and comic shop - perfect! *grin*), there is easy access to...well, just about anything. We'd researched a bit online, but were completely new to the city; once the small-town nerves faded and we got comfortable with the MUNI, anything was possible! There are several MUNI stops nearby but, if you prefer to walk, you'll be in a great location to do so; we had no problem walking to Japantown and back, and we did make the return trip from Chinatown on foot, though it did take a while (hilly terrain...and being out of shape probably didn't help *smile*).

*In any city you're not familiar with, use your head and be safe!*

And, no matter what hour we came through the door, the staff was great. Quick and courteous response to any questions/requests...not only polite, but seemed to be genuinely nice people.

The only possible negatives:
- Stairs only (again, not a bad thing for us, but could ruin a trip for someone else)
- I have no idea where someone with a car would park. We didn't have a rental car for this leg of our journey (public transit for the win! <--- for those of you nervous about MUNI, we quickly adjusted and it was both clean and timely. Sometimes crowded. Embrace it!), so it really didn't apply to us.
- The only noise issues we encountered were people stomping up the stairs or standing directly outside of our room talking loudly (normal speaking voices would likely go unnoticed). Our room was positioned directly beside the stairwell, so lighter sleepers may wish to request something a little farther away. After very busy days around the city and bellies full of greek/chinese/anythingtheheartdesires, we slept very soundly and were never bothered at all...I only noticed the noise once, truth be told.

All things considered, a clean place to stay in a great location and at a great price. This isn't the place to stay if you're looking to lounge about the room all day, but it's a clean and comfortable place to rest after a long day of adventure. We will be staying here again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcticFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Visited San Francisco for a wedding. The best thing about the Metro is the price. The quality to cost ratio is pretty good. The rooms are serviceable; not bad, not great.. I really liked their little courtyard for some reason. It is also close to a section of Haight Street that's home to some pretty cool little bars.

My only real complaint was the noise from the street; Divisadero is a pretty busy thoroughfare, and for some reason the noise from the vehicles seeped right through the wall. Anyway, you can't go wrong with this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpatts999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I was looking for a good value hotel in a different location to downtown SF - I didn't want to pay top dollar for some fancy but generic hotel. So the Metro Hotel was perfect. It is located very close to Haight St and Alamo Park. We even walked through to Market St and the Castro from there, plus it's right near a bus to downtown. There are some great restaurants in the area too. The room was decent - we stayed in room 115. It was roomy and warm, with enough natural light. The staff were great too - very friendly and responsive. I'd recommend this place if you want something that's in a bit of a different location and is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing