We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, but clean and friendly staff”
Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #38 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
1 review
“Small room, but clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I will admit I was taken aback after seeing the size of our room but I ended up enjoying our stay tremendously! Great courtyard out back to sit in and I just love the dog that is there during the day! I was missing my pooches at home and loved to see a furry face first thing in the morning! Staff is helpful and friendly and this was a great bargain if you want to stay in the city!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andilynn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    196
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
209
66
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2009

A friend and I stayed for one night. We were able to find great street parking with no problem. the room was small but we managed. They also are pet friendly which is great so I was able to bring my dog with me and not have to worry about getting a dog sitter! :) Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for something affordable, cute but definately not fancy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Thought this would be a fun stay but had a myriad of problems, we were told parking was not really a problem but it was, had to park 1 to 3 blocks away from hotel.
Room was really small, carpet was stained and dingy, spare blanket had holes in it and torn edges, TV did not work, Wi-Fi was not working and we were not told of this, turns out it had been down when we made the reservation, plastic cups in room had been used washed and repackaged, people were told to smoke at the doorway right by our door at exit area, not outside in Courtyard so as a result it was very Noisy at All times of the day and Night !
We expressively got a rear room as we told it would be alot quieter !
Had major issues with a group of people who were staying on the same floor we were on in four rooms, they were slamming their doors and visiting from room to room very loudly from Midnight till 6:30 am, we asked them to be quieter 4 times and they would for 5-15 minutes and then start back up !! Very miserable night, next morning packed up and got a new room which was bigger at the front of the hotel but was ALOT Noiser.
Got a discounted rate for our total stay which was nice, but for the original $ 89.00 plus tax we expected a cleaner and quieter room to be sure, and also to be told if some of the services that were advertised on the website were not available
Overall hotel staff were nice but they need to really clean place up so things like cleaning and reusing the plastic cups in the rooms does not happen !!

  • Liked — Restuarant next door
  • Disliked — NOISE
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We booked a room at this hotel with trepidation after all the mixed reviews it got on this website as we are on a budget and we wanted to stay in this part of SF (near Haight and Golden Gate Park) and we hadn't found any other decent options that weren't already booked one week in advance. I was relieved to get one of the interior rooms (104) that was neither on the street or over the garden cafe and we were amazed how quiet it was, considering another guest who wrote a review the same weekend commented on the noise the same night we were there. That said, there was a lot of post-election activity (protesting the No on 8 measure) going on in SF that weekend, so perhaps it was more noisy on the streets than usual. The bathroom was updated, we had a fan, and it wasn't as cramped as I'd expect. It's not a place where you'd hang out in your room, but I'd highly recommend it for the value, the proximity to Haight, Buena Vista park, and Golden Gate Park. Also very convienent to the Muni bus which stops a block away. We took that to see live theatre in Union Square. Very easy. We'll come back!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location and we had a VERY quiet room
  • Disliked — I wish the weather was good enough (it rained) to use the lovely garden cafe/seating area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tamalenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My mother and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is great. It's in a funky neighbourhood with lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. There are plenty of near-by bus routes to whisk you into the centre of town.

As you'd expect from the price, the accommodation is pretty basic. Our room was a bit dusty but the linens are clean. The advertised wi-fi was broken during our visit but the phone and TV worked. There is no lift and all the rooms are up either one or two flights of stairs. To cut back on costs (?), the reception desk isn't staffed 24/7 so make sure you let them know when you're planning to arrive (like you'd do for a B&B).

The main downside to this place is the noise. We had a street-facing room. Three out of the four nights we were (Thurs-Sat) there, lots of noise erupted outside at 1.30 in the morning (when the local bars closed?) It took me a while to get back to sleep each time because people didn't seem to be going straight home but instead standing on the pavement shouting for a while. I've lived and stayed in the centre of many big cities and to be honest, this was one of the noisiest hotel experiences I've ever had. The management can't control that the hotel is on a main street, but they could probably supply curtains (rather than blinds) or better glazing on the windows to contain the noise.

The hotel advertises itself as green but this seems to extend only to the recycling bins on every floor.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Noisy!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here four nights while visiting our son, who lives and works within walking distance. Since we were not expecting to spend time hanging out in our room, we were not particularly dismayed by the tiny room. Our bed was a full-size; there was not room for anything larger. We will happily stay here again as the pros outweigh the cons. Firstly, you can't beat the price - our 4 nights totaled less than $400. The bed was comfortable, the linens and room all clean. The pillows were comfortable. The staff were all friendly and accomodating.
Next time I will bring hand towels and a box of tissues. Bring your own hair dryer and toiletries, as there are none here. The stairs are long, with no elevator, so you need to be able to lug your bags up to the 3rd floor yourself.
Our room was in the back of the hotel overlooking the charming courtyard, so we did not hear any noise from the street at all. It was very quiet, even with the window open.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We booked a room for 5 nights and had to leave in the middle of the first night. It was simply impossible to sleep as our room (107) was located on top of the kitchen's ventilator of a restaurant. Despite the receptionist agreed that it was noisy, he did not offer anything better and charged us for that night. In short, one of the worse hotels I have been in.

  • Liked — Nice location
  • Disliked — So noisy we could not sleep
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
215 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,333 reviews
Music City Hotel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,341 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,261 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing