We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Metro Hotel
Save
You added The Metro Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is definitely worth its price. Rooms are not spacious (= tiny), but they are well maintained and impeccably clean, and the beds are very comfy. Hotel has good location close tho many public transport lines.
For a traveler not caring much about hotel luxury and services but a nice, clean, comfortable bed to sleep, this hotel is definitely recommendable. I enjoyed my stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruusupapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    179
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
190
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was in room 101 (facing Divisadero) the first night and in room 111 (tucked in the back) the next two nights. Both rooms are clean and had a very comfortable bed, but there is a big noise pollution difference. I'll definitely be asking for an inner room at the time of reservation next time.

As many of the other reviewers have also pointed out, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with suggesting things to do, places to eat, as-well-as making change. The bus only takes cash without giving change, so every morning I exchanged for a bunch of dollar bills at the front desk.

One negative thing I didn't see in other reviews but was something I experienced in both rooms was a slow draining shower. Not only was it slow, the drain didn't even seem to be in the lowest part of the shower. Within a couple of minutes in the shower, I had to "seek higher ground" to avoid standing in a puddle of water.

Having said that, it was still an amazing bargain ($115/night) considering the nice location and comfortable rooms. Breakfast at nearby eateries (Vinyl and the Grind) were both delicious, and the hotel is no more than a Muni transfer away from all the places that I wanted to go within the city.

The significant savings allowed us to upgrade our experience in terms of food and activities. So I look forward to awkwardly showering again at the Metro Hotel next time I visit San Francisco. Or perhaps they will have already fixed the drain problem by then. :) I would easily recommend the Metro Hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Divisadero Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Metro hotel has a little strange layout of some of its rooms, but in a good way. It's not the average "module" build standard hotel. It got soul! Our party lived there for 2 days and had in total 3 different rooms. All the beds wasn't that comfortable but it was ok. The staff was great and helped us with adidtional rooms with very short notice. It's a nice "soft" neighborhood with restaurants and bars. Felt safe going out in the evening. You don't have BART nearby but there is buses for communication to Market street or other more central locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent quite some time looking on Trip Advisor for 3 nights accommodation in this lovely city. At first I looked around Fisherman's Wharf - far too expensive. This place got good reviews and was reasonably priced for a city. Room only no breakfast again but would recommend it to anyone. To get here from airport do not take a taxi it'll cost around $70 we were told. We caught the train to Powell then the 21 or 6 bus to Hays which stops at junction with Divisadero Street. $8.50 each on the train then $2 each on the bus. It is 150 yards from there. (Tickets can be used on other buses too within 2 hours interchangeable with trams too. It is $2 for 1 stop or 20 stops). To get to Fisherman's Wharf walk up 2 blocks to bus stop and catch 71 to Ferry Building then tram to whichever pier you want. Check with Hotel on Street name. Journey takes 30 minutes or so.

Now the hotel. 24 hour reception. All receptionists very helpful. There is a communal microwave and fridge downstairs behind reception that you can use. We also used the safe although none in the room itself.
We requested room 107 as someone on here said it was quiet and it was. Room is small but very clean. Bathroom a reasonable size and very clean. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: 107 has a slightly larger bathroom I was told. Not much room on left side of bed but enough. This ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here in September and thought it was great. The value is excellent, the staff was extremely helpful and the location is really good. It's a little ways away from the piers/wharf but right in the height/castro/mission area and really close to golden gate park (not the bridge). San Francisco is such a compact city that being in the middle of it, like Metro is. means that you're just 3 miles (5km) from anywhere.
We found that biking was the way to go from this hotel since the wiggle (bike route that avoids the big hills) is just a block away. However, if you're planning on biking from here make sure you're fit and comfortable biking in traffic since there are hills and lots of cars. In three days of biking we felt like we saw so much of the city and had a really great experience.
The rooms are very small but comfortable. There's no fridge in the room but the staff is happy to put things in the communal fridge with your name/room number on it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 and 111 during our trip. Room 108 is a little noisy in the evening as it is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadian0eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for about 4 nights. It is a great area that's really quiet so there was not any street noise to worry about. The room was clean and looked recently updated, and provided us with three beds for a great price! The staff was friendly, and very helpful when it came to food recommendations and information about attractions. We were walking distance from some great eateries and little bars!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at The Metro for 4 nights. We have visited SF a few times but never in the Haight-Ashbury District. The garden patio in the back was a really nice place to relax. The room was a little small but very clean. They gave us some great eating recommendations around the area. I must say Shana was delightful. I would always look forward to talking to her, if she was at the front desk. I felt right at home. We loved everything about this hotel and will be staying here everytime we come to town, for a 49er game.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0leP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#94 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#96 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metro Hotel is the perfect option from which to explore the city. It's central location near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods is perfect. Our no-frills rooms are extremely clean and budget friendly. This is one of the best values you'll find in the city. Choose from 24 unique rooms all with updated bathrooms. Live like a local and access some of the best places in the city. We are also a short walk to Golden Gate Park and all of it's great things to explore. Learn why some call The Metro Hotel "the city's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing