We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Metro Hotel was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #35 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Metro Hotel was amazing”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just a short walk from Haight Ashbury. The hotel is clean, and in a great location (with private bathrooms..) It is a small, boutique hotel, so go in with open eyes, as we did. (bring shampoo and conditioner etc. If you want the Hyatt, stay there instead.) Shana, and Monty, our desk concierges were especially helpful. They gave us great tips on where to go, and what to do. I agree with the former post to check parking requirements beforehand. The staff told us to check the signs, but we parked on a street where the sign had been run over. Not the hotels fault, but the citys. Shana and Monty were so helpful, as we realized that our rental car was towed, as we were leaving for the airport. If it were not for them, we would have missed a flight back to the East Coast. Monty even ran up a hill to take a pic of the broken sign so we would fight city hall. I would totally recommend this place.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a busy city street. If you are a light sleeper, prob not for you. They have a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    190
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
201
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Visiting a relative in San Francisco was greatly enhanced by staying at the Metro Hotel in the Lower Haight neighborhood where he lives. The staff are enthusiastically friendly, knowledgeable locals. The hotel itself has been recently renovated, and it somewhat reminded me of both the Ace Hotel in Belltown area of Seattle, and the Dolly Varden in Long Beach (which I have also reviewed on TA). The rooms are smartly decorated, and my favorite thing about them was the thoughtful lighting over the sinks and over the beds, eliminating the need for lamps. I stayed in Room 205 for 3 of my 4 days, and found it perfectly sized for one, quiet, and beautifully outfitted. A wedding party required me to move to a first floor room in the back, smaller and even quieter, but fine just the same. The price cannot be beaten. The backyard garden and patio is exquisite and a wonderful place to read, share a bottle of wine, picnic, etc.
Fantastic restaurant next door, Ragazza. Also, just a block away is a great deli/grocery. Golden Gate Park is less than a mile's walk, and Buena Vista park just blocks away. We had a red-tailed hawk swoop right in front of us on one of our walks there. The famous Painted Ladies view is likewise blocks away, as are the shops of the infamous Haight Ashbury. The Castro is easily accessible as well. This is my kind of San Francisco! Good job at the Metro!

Room Tip: If you desire a quiet night's sleep, rooms at the back are best. The hotel's website is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanmeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We wanted to walk everywhere and the Metro was right in the centre of the City. We would highly recommend this place albeit our room was a little small. Our top recommendation would be for those parking on the street. Check with the friendly staff about the weird parking requirements or you will end up with a parking ticket like we did!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Peppin-Hugheses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The Metro has a great staff -- friendly, accommodating, more like concierges than receptionists. It is no-frills, without a restaurant, but in a swell walking neighborhood with many choices. Nice cafe on the corner.

The price for SF is *unbelievably* low. The shady backyard with patio tables is a lovely amenity.

Note that all of the rooms are upstairs, and there is no elevator so it isn't really handicap accessible. Now that my elderly mom has trouble climbing so many stairs, we can't stay any more -- but otherwise we'd be there in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank herone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel with a spacious room at an affordable price. Location in a quiet area with free parking along the streets some blocks around. Thought not in the center of the center of SF, it is easily accessible with the bus. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great little hotel, I arrived to find I had a free room upgrade (this suited me fine). The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and at a fantastic price.
The staff were helpful and gave me great advise of local attractions and good coffee stops.
Close to a hop on hop off bus tour stop, public transport, neat shops, and plenty of vegetarian eateries nearby. It is in a flat area of the street, so no giant uphill hikes after a long day of sightseeing.
Quiet and peaceful courtyard out the back, and the restaurant below served me good food and beer!
I loved staying here and happily come back next time I'm in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwichick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

When I come to SF, i don't like to stay in the Union Square/Downtown area, I just don't like the area and it's way to close to the dumpy Tenderloin. So i decided to search a place that is off the beaten path and found Hotel Metro.
I loved this hotel. We got the largest room which was around the corner from the actual hotel and it felt like we had our own apartment in a great neighborhood of San Francisco. The room was really clean and very spacious. This hotel is in great walking distance to a lot of great bars and the N Line is a few blocks away so getting anywhere around the city is pretty easy. I am going to definitely consider the place again in my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#153 of 227 in San Francisco
194 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#119 of 227 in San Francisco
427 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
2,274 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 72 in San Francisco
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing