We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great place, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. It can get a bit noisy in my room as the wall shared that of the restaurant next door, but not enough for me to be bothersome, but it may to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bav20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    193
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
82
207
65
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We've stayed at the Metro three times now. Our son and family live a couple of blocks away so it's a very convenient place when we visit. We LOVE it and the neighbourhood! My brother stayed there last December on my recommendation and was on a first-name basis with the staff by the time he left. He also loved it. We feel right at home each time we visit. The front desk staff is exceptional as were the cleaning staff. Leave a nice tip!

We arrived early, as another writer also did, and had the same service of bags being delivered to the room. If you're looking to be pampered, perhaps this is not the place for you. But - if you want a clean room in a convenient location with a very comfortable bed, a bathroom with shower, lots of plastic hangers in the closet, a TV, a good sized highboy and storage room in both bed-side tables PLUS want a very reasonable rate, this is for you. Another writer mentioned the new restaurant right next door. It's excellent. Try to get there before 7 PM. We've discovered a number of great little coffee shops in the area where you can get an inexpensive breakfast or morning coffee. Our son loves The Grind on Haight. A new one to us is the Oasis about 4 blocks north on Divisidero - easy walking distance. A most delightful young woman welcomed us on our first visit and remembered us on our second. It doesn't take much to ensure customer satisfaction. The coffee was fabulous and the omelettes were superb. The front desk staff also booked our shuttle to the airport at a reduced rate plus they'll print your boarding pass for you.

Oh, and don't forget the lovely patio behind the hotel.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are inside or facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennyVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The Metro is inexpensive (we paid $125), clean, convenient to points west in San Francisco, and has a courteous, friendly staff. However, amenities you might take for granted aren't available here, such as: an elevator, little bottles of shampoo and bars of soap, a bedside table, a chair for reading after dark and, especially, a parking arrangement. You find your own parking spot on neighborhood streets -- that was easy one night we were there, annoyingly tiresome on the other. If you're prepared for those handicaps, it's a good cheap choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim53217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Pro's:
Excellent value. This hotel is a great choice for the traveller on a budget.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good location close to Haight/Ashbury and public transportation.
Older building has a lot of character.
Free on-street parking.

Cons:
Small rooms.
Bed was not very comfortable.
Older building lacks all but the most basic amenities.
Parking is difficult to find at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We once lived in the neighborhood of the Metro Hotel, and decided to stay there when we went back for a short visit. It's a real bargain and we would stay here again. The rooms are very small (as in many European hotels), and there is no elevator (ditto), but the bathroom is large enough with a good shower and tiled floor, the staff is extremely helpful (they will print our your boarding pass) and there is free wi-fi. But you need to ask for a hair dryer. Great neighborhood with ease of access to transportation, though not next to a BART stop. Our room was in the back and very quiet. And VERY inexpensive (our room was $76 a night). The next door restaurant - Raguzza - makes wondrous pizzas.

Room Tip: The website describes every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkKathyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This place was a gem. I had to find a place fast and they had availability in the right location. I was impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. We arrived before check-in time and the front staff person offered to help us carry the luggage up to the second floor (no elevator) when we came back. When we came back, she had put all of our luggage in our room for us. That was amazing.

Then that evening we needed a suggestion for a vegan restaurant and a nearby grocery store. She suggested The Herbivore, only 2 blocks away, for the restaurant. The foold was delectable, nicely priced and the waiter was wonderful. The grocery store, Filettis, was a nice, little gourmet style grocery store - only two blocks away as well.

The room itself was quiet, even though facing the street. It was small, but the linens were really comfortable. Everything was clean. The carpeting is on the worn side, but everything was amazing given the price.

There is no a/c so not sure how it will be in the summer. There are fans in the rooms and high ceilings. And when I asked the front desk about this, she said that they have extra fans on request.

I didn't have a fan so I asked for one and they we happy to lend me one.

They have a deal with an airport van shuttle so it only cost $10 per person - cheaper than other shuttles which are at about $15 per person at a minimum.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

A family operated little hotel. The rooms are small but very clean. The service is good, the location is excellent, and in a great neighborhood. The price is unbelievably reasonable for San Francisco. The only drawback is that parking can be a problem, a person takes their chances with parking, especially on a weekend, because it is such a popular location. However, a parking place can usually be found within 4 or 5 blocks of the hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here, and plan on doing so again. I felt right at home immediately.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caramello51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
206 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing