We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful walking tour of the Castro!!”

Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District
Ranked #17 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruisin' the Castro Walking Tours is San Francisco's premier LGBT tour company walking with PRIDE since 1989! Voted a top city tour and awarded the "Hall of Fame", by TripAdvisor! This easy, fun and fascinating 2 hour tour is the MOST comprehensive Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, & Transgender cultural tour available and boasts 15 different historical sites enroute. Discover how San Francisco and the Castro neighborhood plays a crucial role in the past, present and future of LGBT civil rights in the United States. Tours are intimate, personalized and operated by a professional tour guide, local resident and LGBT community activist. No large hills to climb and public walkways are handicap accessible.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Wonderful walking tour of the Castro!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kathy's knowledgeable narrative of the Castro District was not only filled with historical information, but was also witty and humorous. I've been on multiple walking tours throughout San Francisco, hands down this was a favorite!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    21
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
“Overview of the Castro District and Recent Past History of the LGBT... Community.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I enjoyed my experience of spending a couple of hours learning the physical lay of the land for the neighborhood in Eureka Valley. Kathy does a fine job covering the main points of the area's history and how it has contributed to advancement of human rights for the queer community. The tour route unfolds in an unhurried, appropriate manner. Kathy is very receptive to questions as well as additional information relevant to the tour's theme. This a a great example of heritage tourism.

I first became aware of the opportunity for a Castro tour in an article in Historic Preservation, publication of The National Trust for Historic Preservation in 1997. The ownership of the business has changed and it sounds like it has been trimmed in length of time and some thematic content, but still presents itself well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sclay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the Castro!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whatever the reason for your trip to San Francisco and the Castro, I do suggest you spend a couple of hours with Kathy, a genuinely nice lady, to gain a little historical perspective on this very special area of the city. It is the GLBT..... the "gay" aspect of the Castro which makes it so unique for all of us.

Kathy opened my eyes to the history, and the struggles which shaped the Castro. She told the stories from a very personal and intuative viewpoint, and included a lot of fact, and quite a bit of humour.

A really nice way to spend 2 or 3 hours, and gain an insight into a very unique part of San Francisco. A genuine thank you to Kathy for such an open and enjoyable few hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly disappointing and not worth it”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Borderline offensive and imbalanced/unthoughtful view of the area. Embarrassing for the community and unprofessional. Please do not go on this tour.

I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this establishment. I have lost 30$ to the establishment to write this review.

Helpful?
3 Thank 12db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruisintheCastro, Owner at Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear D.B., So sad to hear you found the tour contents and presentation embarassing. The Castro is a very unique community. Please contact me directly via email so that your loss can compensated. Sincerely, Kathy kathy@cruisinthecastro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As a high school teacher, I have been on this tour twice (and once for personal fun) and I can attest that Kathy is knowledgeable, attentive and always able to provide an authentic experience for anyone who wants to understand what the Castro is about. She takes her time with groups and always provides a context to whatever sites she is exploring along the way. If you want to understand the history of one of the most important neighborhoods in SF, take this tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dannyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing