We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Adventurers Academy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco City Center Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Francisco City Center Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adventurers Academy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a group of 31. 23 adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities and 8 staff. We had rooms of 4 or 5 to a room which worked out great for us. We were split between the 2nd and 3rd floors. The rooms were nice. There is limited space for eating and meeting for a group our size. We usually met in the mezzanine and others didn't seem to mind that we pretty much took up one entire half and sometimes had to spread to the other half as well. We were usually up and out by 8:00 AM and didn't return until 7:00-8:00 PM. The bagels and toast were nice in the morning before leaving. We took advantage of egg/pancake breakfast for $1 each one morning when we slept in a bit and it was well worth it. It was very good! If you need a place to eat for your large group, Tommy's Joynt is within walking distance of the hostel and was GREAT! The people there were so accommodating and the food was really good. Nice space upstairs for a group to sit together. For a place for a large group to stay at a reasonable price in San Francisco, this place worked well for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    172
    64
    15
    5
See reviews for
15
79
106
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our first stay in a hostel, and what an excellent experience we had.

Firstly the staff there are great, really helpful to the point of even managing to get our recently purchased computer to work when our Tablet had broken on our first night of our stay.

The breakfast that was included in the cost consisted of a choice of bagels, cream cheese, porridge, tea and coffee or you could pay $2 for eggs or pancakes. The communal kitchen was always clean and tidy and had more than adequate equipment and storage facilities for you to self cater which we did on a couple of evenings.

At the time we stayed they had movie nights which included complimentary popcorn which was a nice touch. The bar is open in the evenings with a Happy Hour which has a great ambience and great to fellow travellers.

Our room which was a double ensuite was on the second floor, it was serviced every day with new towels if we had requested them.

The location is a little scary at first as there are alot of homeless in the area however no one approached or hassled us. I would suggest getting a taxi if you were going into the town centre in the evening though, we only walked a few streets in the dark.

There is a lovely deli and winebar nearby, and the walk to Union Square took around 20 mins.

We used the local transport which was easy for getting around.

We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, not sure about staying on the ground floor maybe noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOWEREXPLORERS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hostel is great, the rooms are big and the bathroom is really clean. The breakfast is one of the best I had in a Hostel. The prices are really great. They also have city tour walks with guides from the hostel which we loved, the guys from the staff are really nice and helpful. Nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: just take care when you go out because the location can be a little dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caavazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked a deluxe double room with a private bathroom, to myself, as a cheaper alternative to staying in a hotel. The room was excellent - just like a hotel, if not better! It was very clean and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The communal areas had good facilities, were fun, generally good atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful, I loved all their recommendations, and their advice was spot on. Thanks guys! I was only there for a limited time, but there seemed to be lots going on in the hostel and lots of fun activities on offer. As a solo female traveller, I found the area a little 'iffy'. When you arrive the staff mark on a map the area around the hostel you should avoid walking through, which is helpful of them, but is unnerving. And I can believe it, because there was a fair bit of yelling going on outside, at all hours, and some unsavoury characters lurking along the street. I live in a city centre myself, so I am confident enough to handle this kind of thing, and nothing bad happened to me at all. Plus the desk is manned 24 hours, so once you're inside the hostel it feels safe. I'd probably stay here again. But if you're more nervous / cautious, then maybe this won't be ideal for you. The other San Francisco Hostelling International hostel (Downtown) is nearby, but in a safer, nicer area, and more conveniently located for the city's attractions etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Emily,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave this great review! You're right that our neighborhood is rather 'spirited,' and can be a little unnerving on your first encounter. We love that you felt so safe staying with us. The comfort and security of our guests is absolutely our top priority, so it makes me very happy to know that you felt taken care of! We also appreciate your intrepid traveler spirit, and that you were willing to try our hostel and explore a neighborhood that has an edge, but also a lot of soul, and some really cool, truly San Francisco, stuff going on.
Come back and see us again soon, and happy travels!
M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Location 2,5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Staff friendliness 3/5
Bathroom 3/5

We stayed in a double bed ensuite for several nights.

- The neighbourhood is bad (wouldn't like to be there alone at night time). badly situated on Ellis street, only leave and enter the area via Larkins street!
- felt safe because you have to show your "hostel pass" on _each_ entry. (Did I say the neighborhood is bad?)
- Room: ok, but had not enough stowage (especially when you stay there more than one night).
- Bathroom was partly clean & very small. I think no one ever cleaned the sink drain. water pressure bad. water temperature unsteady (cold to hot in a sec)
- Room was cleaned every day but the housekeeping staff sometimes didn't knock or asked if they can come in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I recently stayed here with a friend because it was the most affordable way we could stay near union square in SF. This place is nothing special, but there are friendly staff and sufficient accommodations. The only complaints I have are that there were no outlets in the bathroom so we had to blow dry our hair in the mezzanine which was kind of awkward. But for about $30/night it was worth the inconvenience. Be advised that Ellis street is a bit shady, but if you walk up a street and then go towards union square the walk will be much more pleasant. Ellis street is littered with homeless people, so if you are uncomfortable with that I would suggest you stay elsewhere. I would stay here again though, just because it made visiting SF affordable and did offer all of the necessities (shower, bed, bagels + coffee for breakfast).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is nice. The people who work there is awesome. Very helpful and helpful. The only problem with this hostel is the location. Even if I didn't have any episode of violence there is a very unsafe neighborhood. During the night if you don't have car you have to make a lot of extra block to avoid drugs dealers. I know that this is not problem related with the hostel is more related with the police but they have to make more denunciation about those situation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ezequiel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#129 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 53 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco City Center Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco City Center Hostel

Property: San Francisco City Center Hostel
Address: 685 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Francisco City Center Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience budget travel at its best: Both private and shared rooms available (only 4-5 beds per dorm), all rooms with private bathroom, restaurant-quality guest kitchen, cafe serving free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, plush common areas, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. Recently renovated 1920s hotel near San Francisco's best affordable restaurants, diverse nightlife, and world-class Civic Center arts district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your San Francisco City Center Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco City Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing