We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco City Center Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$379
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$199
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$281
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$259
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$452
$409
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$632
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$339
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
141
209
75
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
209
75
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsellis streethomeless peopletenderloineggs or pancakesbed dormcommunal areasbig kitcheni stayed in a private roomown bathroomdodgy areafree breakfast isunion squaretea and coffeea great staypublic transportenjoyed my staycable car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 456 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012 and had a private room on the 6th floor, it was fine. The check in staff were good. We had no issues with the street bums to the right of the hostel and were not annoyed in any way however we are in our 60's with life experiences. The hostel arranged for a Lorries transfer to SFO at 4.30 AM and that was also fine, so all in all if you want good budget accomodation this would suit most people.

Room Tip: Ask for a private room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very easy to get to from the airport. It took a mere 30 mins door to door. Not impressed however with the Tenderloin a very dodgy homeless and drug ridden area of San Francisco. Stay safe. Fell in love with San Francisco but the area to the right of the hostel left much to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackMinniemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at this hostel due to the reasonable price (SF is really pricey when it comes to accommodation) and the central location. On our first day we arrived a little early and were told we weren't able to check in until 3pm. We decided to leave our bags in a store room which you put a number tag on and present the number tag when you want to collect your bags. One thing I did find strange were the posters in the store room stating that you're putting your bag here at your own risk and the hostel takes no responsibility for it if it gets taken. I found this to be pretty poor and I didn't see the point in putting number tags on your bags if they're just going to let anyone walk in there and grab whatever... Which it appears they do.

We went for a walk around the city and came back up Ellis Street. We were shocked at what a bad area the hostel was almost right in the middle of. Lots of homeless people asking for money every minute and people screaming and falling on the floor right In front of us. When we got back to the hostel we were told that every big city has this and they're harmless - been to quite a few big cities and never quite experienced that! The worst part is that the SF visitor centre is right in the middle of it!

The hostel itself is clean, private room was adequate in space. It was extremely loud at night in our room from all the noise on the street. People are always yelling and cars are constantly driving past with loud music playing at all hours of the morning.

I would recommend staying away from the area if you stay here and head down to fishermans warf for the days. We discovered that it was much nicer and had a lot more to offer. If you don't mind staying in a loud ghetto neighborhood then this hostel is good. Otherwise I would stay down near the water for a nicer experience of San Fran.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our last night here, traveling with our two kids 6 & 8. We have stayed in a private room with two bunks and our own bathroom. Staff are super friendly and go out of their way to help you. Breakfast is a brilliant way to start the day with all you can eat pancakes and eggs for only $1. A winner with the kids. Awesome restaurants close by, highly recommend Lers Ros Thai. My eldest nearly cried when he realized he wouldn't have their fried banana tomorrow as we are leaving:) . Not the Argonaut, but a fantastic base for a reasonable price. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 212, street front but not too noisy with earplugs!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Other than the price of this hostel (which, for a private room at over $100/night is not even that cheap), I can't really say much positive about this place. For some reason, the quality of this place has declined since my and wife's last visit over two years ago.

PROS: (1) San Francisco does not have many affordable accommodations (by "affordable" I mean under $200/night) so a hostel is usually an OK bet if you're on a limited budget. SF City Center hostel offers private rooms at about $100 a night. This is a deal if you can get in and out of the room as fast as possible. (2) The hostel and room are reasonably clean. Linens are clean. No complaints there. (3) Free WiFi and free continental breakfast were good deals.

CONS: (1) Our room (215) was noisy as all hell, with the single-paned glass window looking out over an alley with garbage bags piled up in a heap and a noisy air conditioner unit and people yelling at each other at all hours of the night (remember, this IS in San Francisco's ghetto, after all). (2) One or two staff members were friendly (including the very nice cleaning lady), but for the most part were indifferent. The front desk male staff member with the German/Norwegian/something accent needs to learn to smile and show some friendliness. (3) Water pressure and temperature are unacceptable: my wife nearly scalded herself after trying to have a shower with varying water pressure. While the hostel is in an old hotel, there's a few things that every place should have as a minimum and that's steady water temperature.

As other reviewers have commented, and I'd agree, this hostel is in the heart of a very poor district. This is fine if you are just going to walk to other places in the city, but certainly not a neighbourhood for relaxing evening strolls. That having been said, if you're trying to save a dollar then I suppose this place will give you that option, but given the decline since our last visit and the negative experience I will not be returning nor would I recommend if you can afford something else or can stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews