We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone stole our food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of European Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
European Guest House
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Someone stole our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

When we first arrived, we had trouble finding the hostel as it's down a small dodgy alleyway. When we finally found the right road, there were a few homeless people having various needles confiscated them by the police. Made a great first impression...

Despite there being a cleaner who came in daily, the kitchen and living area was still a mess and quite dirty. When we reached our room, it was the size of a small prison cell and was crammed with 3 bunk beds which were so creaky that one guy went out and bought WD40 to oil the joints. Turning over in your sleep would wake the whole room. There was little space to put bags, and all of the lockers were already taken so we had to sleep whilst hugging our valuables.

The shower rooms were adequate, but a bit dirty and small.

It's understandable that backpackers borrow a bit here and there from others, but someone took our entire bag of food despite it being labeled and in the fridge like instructed. It doesn't sound like the end of the world, but it really was at that point. I know that's probably not the hostel's fault, but maybe they should appoint a food security manager, I would sleep better at night knowing my peanut butter was in safe hands.

Room Tip: Buy WD40 to oil your bed unless you'd like to be woken up every 3 seconds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fliss1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    12
    57
See reviews for
2
17
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good place to tay, convenient location, safe al most except midnight, clean bed, room & bathroom, thanks the authority for good maintainance. Better if they add some more furnitures in rooms, plenty of natural light in room, ac was working nicely

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donapregotuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Okay first the only pro, there was pot everywhere, you'd take a step outside and there'd be a guy selling you some. so if you're into that, you won't care about the cons... But there's a few, 1) it's location is bad. In two ways; it's in a really dodgey area of San Francisco, didn't really feel safe walking alone after about 6pm and the other is it is a fairly long walk from anything you'd want to see.
2) it's very cramped and the most anti-social hostel I stayed in (maybe its just us Europeans being European)
3) there was 2 toilets on my floor, with 3/4 rooms of 6/8 people....you can see where I'm going with that one...
4) it is the dirtiest hostel I saw on my travels.....there was a real living rat in the kitchen which made numerous appearances during my stay
5) for what you get, the price is pretty steep, I know S.F is an expensive place but c'mon $150 for 4 nights to stay in a puke stained bed with a rodent?
Basically, if you have to stay here I'd suggest buying some jimi Hendrix or pink floyd records first...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

this hostel is disgusting, ive travelled devloping countries and never seen anything this bad. the room was full of people smoking weed and it smelt like feet when it didnt smell like weed. there arent enough bathrooms for the amount of people. one of the staff was extremely unhelpful - i asked him how to get somewhere and he just drew a route on a map and didnt say anything. also the location is no good - fairly far from main area and dangerous and uncomfortable at night. don't humour this hostel

Helpful?
2 Thank maddiesydneyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

a girlfriend and i stayed here in 1999. i still refer to it as the worst place i have ever stayed (as covered in other reviews: paper thin walls, disgusting bedding, people throwing up in the shared bathroom, super dodgy homeless area) and out of curiosity i looked it up on trip advisor to see if it was still around. great to see they are taking traveler reviews to heart!

put it this way... when we told the waiter at a restaurant where we were staying, he made us wait until he got off his shift so he could drive us there safely. we were so worried about our safety, we took a ride from a STRANGER rather than venture back on our own.

please don't stay here. just don't. how are they even still in business??

Room Tip: there's a holiday inn nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRA-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Cheap place by San Francisco standards and it shows. I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend after traveling up the coast. We were in a tiny room with bunk beds, even though we booked a double. The room was opposite a shared bathroom and the walls were paper thin. Across the hall was a massive dorm filled with French students who spent evenings shouting at each other, slamming doors and watching movies loudly in French in the corridor and this continued into the early hours and the next morning. No air conditioning but we did have a heater that came on at random times and made our tiny room unbearable to sleep in. Window had no latch so couldnt be opened. Linen was covered in rips and stains, we both slept in our sleeping bags. Location ok for public transport but didn't feel particulary safe at night. I don't think we had any sleep for our entire stay and we planned eachday in San Francisco to stay out of the hotel. Grotty, smelly and no where near enough bathrooms for the floor. We counted 14 beds on our floor and we had two toilets and three showers. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloppyjoes1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Where do we start.........

We stayed here for a total of 8 hours before leaving. The sign at the reception stated that if we checked out early there was no refund, obviously they are used to people leaving this horrible, disgusting excuse for accommodation.

a) The Area.
To set the scene, walking to the hostel we saw a couple having a domestic, the area around the hostel smelt of urine and as we walk up to the door we see a burnt out car. As we approach the door we had to excuse our way through two homeless people using the door way for warmth all while avoiding the syringes on the floor. The area was noisy and unsafe. We got told by a number of people after we left that this is not a safe neighbourhood. The homeless people around this area are more 'forceful' and angry when told no, one man told us this place was hell on Earth.

b) The Hostel
The hostel is horrendous. The rooms are cramped, there are only two showers for each floor. The toilets are disgusting, there was no toilet paper and there are more things growing than I could count. The showers were horrendous, I was cleaner not having a shower in them. Only one power point worked, there were no individual lights, the curtain didn't even cover the window properly. The window didn't even shut properly.

c) The Smell
I don't know what the smell was but it was everywhere in the hostel. It was in the rooms, the beds, the bathrooms. The place smelt as bad as it looked.

Positives?
Leaving!!!

Seriously, we have stayed in hostels around the world and this has to be the worst place we have come across by far. It is like a half way hose, unsafe and unclean.

We get trying to save money but after you check out (don't get a refund) and find somewhere else you will end paying more anyway.

Just don't stay here!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amz880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#176 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 52 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
#16 of 52 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Hostel
#40 of 75 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Adelaide Hostel
#9 of 52 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
SoMa
Desmond Hotel
Desmond Hotel
#45 of 75 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guest House

Property: European Guest House
Address: 761 Minna St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2707
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — European Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your European Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing