We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Old-World Charm, Deals To Be Had”
Review of Aida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aida Hotel
Ranked #205 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Some very harsh reviews here I don't get. Elevator worked fine, didn't smell anything foul... Big 'old hotel' lobby with wi-fi and great Billy Holiday era soundtrack playing (the sound system in the elevator, of all places, is awesome). Room was basic but clean, bed was firm. Coffee in the lobby and yes, donuts for breakfast aren't the best. If you go to the Visitor Center across the street they have flyers with a good discount for this place (as of this writing).

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathrooms in the hall, so you might want to take a room close, or far away, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 359 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place was a perfect stay for me and my parents. We were in town for Bay to Breakers so the location of the hotel couldn't have been much better. All our basic needs were met. The room was cozy but totally enough space for sleeping in and taking day naps.

We loved the style of the hotel. It was like entering the twilight zone and traveling back in time 50 or more years. The elevator was carpeted, and the hallways were long and narrow with interesting paintings on the wall.

Many reviewers have commented on the neighborhood the hotel is located in as being bad but truth be told it's San Francisco and areas like this are extremely common and you just need to be smart about certain things. There is no reason to feel unsafe in this neighborhood if you have smallest amount of commonsense.

I am looking forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kristopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Pros
1.Right outside of the Civic center BART station
2.Cheap
3.Service was good, they were able to hold my luggage after I checked out till 6pm.
4.Free coffee and donuts in the morning
5.Sheets was clean, showers and toilet was dry and clean

Cons
1.Its right in Tenderloin, the worst neighbourhood you can be in SF, lots of hobos and thugs roaming the streets.
2.Room smelt musky but wasn't too bad when the window is up
3.Wifi only in the lobby but there was a lot of seatings


Overall, I would booked this hotel again. Room was clean and it was the cheapest you can get in SF. But would suggest you book somewhere else if you are travelling with kids or old adults, its a tough neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Get interior room, you won't want to be at the front listening to hip hop and thugs shouting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Dehmelza L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Aida is a cheap hotel where you get what you are paying for. Attentive and helpful staff, some charm, but very basic lodging with cheaply decorated rooms, worn out furniture, old beds and small rooms. The location is on Market street, next to the Civic center. The area next to the hotel is quite run down but it is conventient with street cars, BART and buses close by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Don't ask for much, but it is was good for us! Couple in their late 20's doing a road trip, not looking for anything extravagant. Price was good for what you get, parking is an additional $25 a night in a location nearby. Right near the Tenderloin district so if you know San Francisco at all you know that you do not want to be here late at night by yourself! But we never had a problem as there is public transit everywhere and you really only walk to Union Square and other places around there so it feels safe.

The rooms are small but fine as you probably wont spend a ton of time in there. Felt clean and everything worked just fine. The WIFI however does not work the rooms. We were on the 4th floor and had to come all the way down to the lobby in order to use it and there was a dozen other people at a time doing the same thing. They do not have a safe in the room and ask you to "leave your room key every time you leave the hotel" but we never did and never had any problems.

The check in window is behind a glass window which may make you feel unsafe but really, it is a decent area, during the day at least.

The continental breakfast is just coffee, tea and donuts. Not really anything good but at least they offer something!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget and wanting decent access to the city's main points and/or public transportation to other main places.

The main thing to remember is that it is definitely 'you get for what you pay for'. Don't expect much and you will be pleasantly surprised! It is not much more than just a place to sleep but it is not gross and dingy in my opinion!

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness center are N/A not terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading all the reviews....but we spent $80 for a room here which was just ridiculous.
1. Room was clean, but the bathroom didn't work...and I mean, NOTHING worked. Toilet wouldn't flush. The trickle of water called a shower went from burning hot to freezing cold...nothing in between. Why did we pay an extra $30 for a bathroom?!
2. Breakfast is a bunch of crappy donuts...oh well, guess that's why it was free.
3. Internet only works downstairs. And I don't want to hang out in the lobby, some really weird people around.
4. Location...smack dab in the middle of the ghetto. When we checked in at around 4 pm, there were 2 homeless men having a full out fight in the front. When we arrived back to our hotel at night (after some dinner), our taxi didn't even want to stop because he said it was unsafe. Told us to run to our hotel from across the street and not to stop.
At least it was close to the tram to Fisherman's Warf...but really, that was the only redeeming quality about this place. We stayed 1 night and then switched hotels.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CaptKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 231 in San Francisco
666 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 231 in San Francisco
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexis Park San Francisco
#159 of 231 in San Francisco
142 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 231 in San Francisco
66 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#191 of 231 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aida Hotel

Address: 1087 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1605
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $76 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aida Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing