We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, friendly, and a nice location to boot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly, and a nice location to boot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Cristo for a long weekend. It is an older hotel / B&B, but well maintained. Our room was furnished with antiques, with the exception of the matress, which was new and comfortable. We slept very well. Despite having a room that faced the street, it was quiet, in large measure because the busses that pass by outside are electric and offer only a hum instead of a roar and they pull away from the light.
A generaous breakfast was included in the price. There were a variety of cereals, fruits, beverages, etc. You can also get eggs prepared to order, with sides of potatoes and the usual breakfast meats. The staff is very helpful with questions about the area, how to get around etc.

We found the location to be very convenient to many of the sights we were interested in seeing.

All in all, we'd recommend the Monte Cristo and will stay there again when next we visit San Francisco (we go there about once a year).

Room Tip: If you're worried about street noise, ask for a room on the back. In our case, our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimgaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
59
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Quiet, CLEAN and friendly. We booked last minute and got a smaller room but it was clean. Breakfast had an array of fresh fruits and a hot entree along with other items they made us upon request. Quiet area a block from USF Medical School and in a residential location. Parking was good and no cost. Bus stop out the door. The staff was great. Nice to be in an area that is not 24/7 noise and rushing tourists.

Room Tip: Just get a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sobe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great hosts, great location! Very comfortable accommodations in nice, fairly centrally located part of San Francisco. Free on-street parking, with bus stop a block or so down to take you direct to the Ferry Building and anywhere you like. Cute and quaint. Jack recommended an excellent restaurant close by. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable place to stay in an often highly priced city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bankerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very nice place. We would go back. The facility is nice and clean and very Victorian. The host (Jack) was very accomodating and knowledgeable about where to go and how to get around. We recommend.

Room Tip: Get the California King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here on travel when doing work at the Presidio. LOVED my room, especially the Japanese heated toilette seat. It is a great space, the owners are extremely friendly, and the breakfast really will make your day. Location was very convenient for me, but might not be so for other travelers. Pricing is very reasonable and the staff again is great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisq_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay except for one thing. The owner failed to tell us that there was a remodeling project going on and in a bed and breakfast it's going to be noisy. So our anniversary afternoon that was to be romantic was spent listening to skill saws and hammering right across the hall. This is something I would think would be told to a guest at some point but it was not until we walked upstairs and saw the construction. On a good note if that were not going on, the room (11) was comfortable, window opens for fresh air, big comfy bed, bathroom in the room and breakfast was filling and yummy. It is a two story B&B that is located in a nice part of town. It is within walking distance of groceries, bank and many eateries.

Room Tip: rooms street side have more light but a bit more noise however you do not hear the traffic to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my one night at the Monte Cristo. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I chose it for the location and the staff helped me get to all the places I needed to get. The room I got was great, the bathroom was especially nice and well equipped. I also appreciated that there was tea and snacks always available and a nice living room where I could sit with friends. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yabiahomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#119 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
Address: 600 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115-2425
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the walls of the Monte Cristo could talk, what stories they could tell, for this remarkable building has been a part of San Francisco since 1875. When the great fire swept the city after the 1906 earthquake, homes were put to the torch on Van Ness Avenue to create a firebreak, and the 'Saloon' not only survived, it served as a refuge for the newly post-quake homeless. This European-style B&B is convenient to the entire city and is at the junction of three great neighborhoods, Presidio Heights, Pacific Heights, and Laurel Heights. It is in one of the cleanest neighborhoods in San Francisco with abundant street parking. It is only two blocks to the elegantly restored Victorian shops, Zagat-rated restaurants and antique stores on Sacramento Street. It's within walking distance to shopping on Union Street and Fillmore Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Cristo Hotel San Francisco
Monte Cristo b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing