We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Park Motel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$338
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$415
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
140
96
25
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
96
25
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubjava beachsunset districtl traingolden gate parktwo blockstrolley noiseoff street parkingrooms are smallquiet neighborhoodseveral blocksfree parkingdowntown sflocation was perfectunion squarecitymicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 275 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We spent 2 weeks in the San Francisco area in March which included 5 nights at the Ocean Park Motel. We are English and had this notion of a typical American family-run motel and I'm pleased to say that it was exactly what we'd hoped for. The motel itself is located in a quiet part of SF but the tram stop is located right across the street so getting to and from the city centre is very easy. The ocean itself is a 5-minute walk and the zoo is a couple of minutes away. We just loved the tranquil atmosphere and the way the rooms looked out onto a beautiful quiet courtyard (see photos!). SF is a typical busy city with lots to see and do, and it was great to be able to come back each night to this lovely peaceful place.

You also felt that you were left alone by the staff - sounds strange, but they provided everything you needed and were always there if you wanted advice or had a problem but weren't 'in your face' like some of the other places we stayed.

There was plenty of car parking space and it was easy to get to and from the motel by road, but we found it much easier to use the tram to explore the city itself.

Our room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed - maybe not the luxuries you'd expect from a more expensive hotel, but we definitely didn't want for anything. even things like irons, hair dryers etc. were provided willingly if you asked.

Would definitely stay here again if are ever in SF!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cunningham709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Staying at the Ocean Park was coming back to my California roots. The space was charming and comfy. I love seeing this old gem restored and functional.
I felt very comfortable, and had a wonderful sleep the night before a long flight.
The owners made sure that all guests were well taken care of.
So nice to experience the small town feel in the big city.

Being along the coast and close to the airport, can't be beat. Ocean Park is my favorite Bay Area stopover!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Upcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed at the Ocean Park while visiting our daughter at SFSU. The manager was nice and the hotel is located in a residential area. The rooms are dated but quaint. I guess that's part of the classic art deco feel of the hotel. The Ocean Park is very close to the SF Zoo and Beach. For a good place to eat try the Bashful Bull Restaurant a few blocks walk into the neighborhood (Great Breakfast All Day!). Now for the caveat, if you are a light sleeper beware of the Muni Train which passes right in front of the hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the train made a heck of a racket on a regular basis (I didn't sleep well but my wife did). I can't say how loud the train was for those lucky enough to get a room at the rear of the hotel. Overall, our stay wasn't bad but for $125/night I will probably try another hotel just to compare.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ashleealcantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

This is a cute little motor court motel that is everything motels aren't anymore. The art deco exterior is great and the updated interior are awesome. This is old school and you must have no 'motel' expectations when you check in. This is a charming, friendly, clean and comfy place to stay just a couple of blocks from the beach. Take advantage of the list of ideas for touring, dining, and transportation provided when you check in as well. If we stay in SF again, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank lauracro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

I have stayed in various hotels in San Francisco (all price ranges) and found that Ocean Park Motel was the very best value and we enjoyed the friendly service, great location and easy access, and very convenient (and FREE) onsite parking. I know that the City and accommodations can be very noisy no matter where you are and we found that this location was one of the quietest. I have also had rooms where you could barely move. This was not the case at Ocean Park Motel. Our room and bathroom were spacious (we had an upstairs room with a microwave and queen and twin bed). It was very easy to travel back and forth from our room to visit our daughter who is now living on the SFSU campus. If we wanted, we could have easily walked to the beach or the zoo from the Motel. We plan many more visits and will always stay at Ocean Park Motel, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews