We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of our favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #114 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, if you're looking for a hotel that puts you right in the middle of Chinatown or Fisherman's Wharf, this is not the place.

That said, the Ocean Park Motel is much cooler than all those other places and has better value.
I think a double room was around $100 and yes SF is that expensive. We loved the fact this motel was in a more residential area instead of the touristy places. And you can easily get in the city using public transportation. If you have a car, you can leave it at the hotel free of charge.

I loved the art deco design of the motel, the rooms were cute and very clean, the owner is the friendliest guy and gives great tips. We arrived without reservations the first night, had to stay our second night in a pretty bad motel on Lombard Street because they were fully booked, but came back to the Ocean Park for our third night in SF. It's two blocks from the ocean and yes this is a pretty grey and misty area of SF but that did not bother us. Use the list of restaurant tips the owner gives you, the Thai restaurant (a couple blocks away) was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citytripper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    92
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
76
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What is not to like about a masterpiece of Steamboat Deco architecture that is:
-2 blocks from the ocean
-On the Muni (L)-Taraval streetcar line
-On the #18-Forty-Sixth Ave & and 23-Sloat bus lines
-2 blocks from the Zoo
-Nestled amongst the quiet Parkside District
I included references to public transit because San Francisco has one of the absolute best systems in the country. Parking in the City By The Bay is difficult and expensive, so unless you HAVE to bring a car, you're better off taking the bus and trains.
The Ocean Park Motel is far enough from the frenzy of downtown and the bustling neighborhoods to be quiet, but close enough so that you can get there quickly. Your room will be comfortable, clean, and quiet, whether it has one or two beds. Kitchenettes are available for a slightly higher rate. This will be quickly offset by pruident travelers who don't want to pay for restaurant meals. Furthermore, seafood lovers will save a ton of money by going a few short blocks to Sunset Super grocery at 40th Ave & Vicente Street, where fresh Dungeness crab sells for less that $5 per pound (compared to $18 per pound at the Fisherman's Wharf).
At the end of your day, you will enjoy lounging in the motel's hot tub, then settle in for a restful night in your cozy room.
Getting to SFO airport is simple, but allow yourself about 40 minutes to get there, to account for traffic and allow a bit of breathing space. Depending on which route you take, downtown is between 20-30 minutes. The Golden Gate Bridge is a short drive up 19th Ave (15-20 minutes). Off-street parking at the Ocean Park Motel is free.
In summary, you will not be disappointed here; a perfect complement to one of the world's most beautiful cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were on a road trip from BC to Yosemite, and stopped at this little motel in San Francisco. I had booked ahead of time so I knew what we were getting into. Cute little motel with a 1970's feel to it. Upon arrival, the man working there was so friendly, and gave us tons of maps to the city & surrounding area. We were surprised with a "free upgrade" to a 2-bedroom room with a kitchen, which was awesome! I just loved the interior decor & quaint little courtyard out front. Walking distance to the beach, zoo, and incredible breakfast just down the street! The bathroom was a bit small, so I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone who has high standards or expectations - it was great for what it was :)

Room Tip: if possible, avoid the right side - along the street - random commotion sometimes, but it seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB-Nuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012, and thought it was a very unique place. It is actually a collection of rooms and small apartments, some with kitchens. It is located one block from the Ocean on the western side of San Francisco, right near the zoo. It is quiet and the streetcar service can get you to all the touristy places very easily, although it takes about 25 minutes. Ample parking. Great owners and staff, very clean, great courtyard, hot tub, a great coffee shop less than two blocks away, and a good Thai restaurant about three blocks away. Only drawback is the distance to the touristy area (Fisherman's Wharf, etc.).

Room Tip: Try the rooms at the rear of the courtyard for absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent time here in September 2012. The owners and staff were so friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the city as well as the transportation system and gave us a list of great places to eat. The motel is charming and cozy. The place has been well maintained and very clean. We had a room inside the court area, and it was pretty quiet to us. We rented a car and it took us around 15-20 minutes to downtown - easy drive. For San Francisco, I thought the room rates were reasonable. It isn't fancy, but a comfortable place for my Husband and I to retreat to after a day of sightseeing. September seemed to be a good month to go, although it was too cold for us to fully enjoy the beach we were next to - we mainly went to the city and beyond.

Room Tip: When you call to make a reservation, they will be honest about which rooms will be quieter because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MINIMizer1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent one night at the Ocean Park Motel in December, when the sun is incredible in the outer sunset district. The room was clean and nice, though there was no bathtub, but probably slightly overpriced for what it was. Very friendly owners and adorable space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Charming motel located in San Francisico suburb, near SF City Zoo. Apartments with 1 or 2 rooms, with no breakfast, but equipped with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Ocean Park team gently prepared a short guide about surroundings and San Francisco (Cafes, restaurants and Attractions). Parking area avaliable and very easy access to public transport (less than 40 minutes to downtown).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Daly City
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
El Camino Inn
#4 of 5 in Daly City
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#158 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Travelers Inn
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Sunset
Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach
Days Inn San Francisco at the Be...
#135 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Property: Ocean Park Motel
Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing