We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #112 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent time here in September 2012. The owners and staff were so friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the city as well as the transportation system and gave us a list of great places to eat. The motel is charming and cozy. The place has been well maintained and very clean. We had a room inside the court area, and it was pretty quiet to us. We rented a car and it took us around 15-20 minutes to downtown - easy drive. For San Francisco, I thought the room rates were reasonable. It isn't fancy, but a comfortable place for my Husband and I to retreat to after a day of sightseeing. September seemed to be a good month to go, although it was too cold for us to fully enjoy the beach we were next to - we mainly went to the city and beyond.

Room Tip: When you call to make a reservation, they will be honest about which rooms will be quieter because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MINIMizer1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    92
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
77
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gulica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent one night at the Ocean Park Motel in December, when the sun is incredible in the outer sunset district. The room was clean and nice, though there was no bathtub, but probably slightly overpriced for what it was. Very friendly owners and adorable space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Charming motel located in San Francisico suburb, near SF City Zoo. Apartments with 1 or 2 rooms, with no breakfast, but equipped with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Ocean Park team gently prepared a short guide about surroundings and San Francisco (Cafes, restaurants and Attractions). Parking area avaliable and very easy access to public transport (less than 40 minutes to downtown).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyforest, Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a cute little old fashioned motel. The owners were so nice and helpful with everything in the area. Mind you,if its a fancy place you're looking for this isn't it. Its a boutique hotel. It is located out of the main tourist area. There are street cars running by all the time but that just adds to the ambience.

Room Tip: This cute place is within walking distance to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Ocean Park Motel is a lovely place to stay if you want to see a different side of San Francisco. It is a block from a vast beach (Ocean Beach) and feels like a whole different world compared with the downtown area, but it isn't hard to get to from the airport due to the fact that it's right on a streetcar line (you can easily transfer from BART, though the trip does take a little time). Several buses are also very handy - it's quite easy to reach other parts of the city from the motel. My room was small and not terribly bright, but very clean with everything in good working order. I can see how some guests have found the motel noisy (the street car and one bus run along 46th Ave., and it seems like noise could carry from other rooms), however, I found the motel to be incredibly quiet at night. I slept with the window open, and although I could hear the streetcars drifting by, I could also hear the surf. The front desk provides you with an excellent handout detailing the dining and grocery options in the area (as well as tips for nice walks, how to reach other neighbourhoods on transit, etc.). I found these recommendations to be accurate and reliable - very helpful indeed. The hot tub is very pleasant. You'll probably have it to yourself as it's in its own enclosure - a lovely place to view the night sky. The neighbourhood is mostly residential, and good for walking. The beach is spectacular - it's a wild, end-of-the-world kind of beach with big waves and pelicans cruising by. Don't miss the breakfast sandwiches and coffee at the Devil's Teeth bakery on Noriega St. Delicious.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Get away with my daughter over long weekend was just right. Close to hiking, transport to city! We had a kitchen! Little noisy with L right outside but that made it crazy easy to get around. Lovely time. Staff super nice and kind

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Next to the ocean !! Surfing .. next to the zoo .. away from all the noises and not far from the city ..Just loved the place .. The place was warm and comfortable .. the gardens were clean and ample parking space ..

Room Tip: there is a 2 room unit - if you have a family of 4 its more affordable as the unit is a price for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurvineet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Daly City
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
El Camino Inn
#4 of 5 in Daly City
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelers Inn
#14 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Sunset
Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach
Days Inn San Francisco at the Be...
#135 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Property: Ocean Park Motel
Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing