We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Motel”
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Ranked #118 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We read ALL the reviews on tripadvisor and felt we needed to give this little motel a try! We love hotels/motels with character and wanted something on the outskirts of town. It does take longer to get to most of the tourist attractions but it was worth it. Don't come looking for flat screen TV's or fancy foo foo bedding but if you want a place that won't gouge you on ridiculous parking fees and hidden room charges this is perfect. We enjoyed the landscaping and cozy feeling. Everything is so neat and clean you forget this motel was built in the 1930's! We especially enjoyed the friendly owner that made sure we had everything we needed when checked in. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were able to secure the 2 bedroom upstairs unit overlooking the garden area. The view was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kidandpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

The only negatives I have are: the remodel work looks a bit shoddy. As a person who has a contractor husband, it's hard to not notice the caulking around the shower, the obvious paint over paint over paint on the door of the bathroom, and little things like that. The window in the kitchen was also cracked which allowed cold air to seep in. The windows are of the old latch-style and most don't close tightly. Would also like to see the chair in the second bedroom taken out to allow for a dresser and second TV. Normally TV wouldn't be a necessity but we spent the first two days there sick in bed so it was needed. The ice cube trays in the freezer were empty save for two cubes. would have been nice if they had been filled up. Other than that, the host of the property was nice and friendly. he held our bags so we could go eat prior to checking in. All in all a nice stay. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I grew up in San Francisco very close to this motel although it's been awhile and I don't remember this place at all. This motel was built during the depression in the 30s so the rooms are small, the tilework in the bathrooms looks original. The positives - it's clean, the landscaping is very nice, the price is good, the location within walking distance of SF Zoo and close to Golden Gate Park and parking is free. Our room was small, a bedside lamp on only one side of the bed. An alcove and curtain for the closet. Small flat screen TV on dresser. Small bathroom, no kleenex in the room or bathroom. They did have a hair dryer but there was no clock. We borrowed one from the office. The management seemed very nice.

Other people mentioned it was quiet and there isn't a lot of city noise or lots of people around. However, they provide earplugs free of charge because one of the streecar lines ends here and makes a racket as it turns and goes right by the motel.

I had also reserved a room for my son and his family, two adults, two teens and an under 2 year old. The motel had mentioned a kitchenette so I thought perfect. I might have misunderstood because there was only a mini fridge and a microwave. They did have two double beds in separate areas and it was a tiny more spacious than our room. It was on the second floor up really steep stairs. The streetcar noise was worse than in their room so they did take advantage of the free earplugs.

There is a nice little coffee shop around the corner and another larger restaurant around the corner in the opposite direction. We had lunch at the Java Beach Cafe and breakfast at the other place. Actually, the breakfast was tasty although the place is old, worn and a little depressing.

I've stayed at worst places and possibly I was hopeing it would be quaint. I seriously doubt we would stay here again. Honestly, I guess my husband and I are at an age where we prefer more comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lessalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I first booked this property because they take dogs and the price was great. We will go back for the ambience, the history, the terrific owners, and the hot tub. This gem is a treasure. We go to SF for the Park and this is very easy access to it. It is a step back in time with the comforts of home. We had a kitchen which saved money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for the first time in January 2012. I found the place by accident because I was looking for hotels in San Francisco on an online site and someone happened to mention this place in their review of another. What a find! This place is 'old school' a family owned place that only accepts reservations over the phone. The owner and his wife gave us a discount since the weather was supposed to be somewhat gloomy/cold when we visited, though it turned out to be fantastic weather anyway. We stayed in a room with two beds and a full kitchen (yes a real kitchen with a stove/oven, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink that was perfect for our little family. The only drawback to the room was the floor heater (though authentic for the time period it was built) since at the time our daughter wasn't always walking, but she couldn't crawl on it so we just shut the heater off and it turns out we didn't really need it on anyway. The hotel has free (that's right in San Francisco, across from the zoo and a couple blocks from the beach!) parking, that was nice after a long drive there and playing all day to just come back and relax (and have a place to put left overs :)). We were able to walk to the SF Zoo and to Ocean Beach. We also went to nearby Golden Gate Park and took our daughter to the awesome playground they have there (sadly the carousel was closed). The folks at Ocean Park also gave us the names of a bunch of family friends restaurants nearby, as well as a nearby store and laundry since when you have little kiddo you sometime need both. Overall we had a great stay at the Ocean Park Motel and loved the art deco decor, just a nice place and nice people, and we can't wait to go back and visit again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with a kitchen for convenience, though the one on the first floor are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musheded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Ocean Park Motel in San Francisco. The location for this place can't be beat. Let me repeat: CAN'T BE BEAT. This hotel is one short block from the San Francisco Zoo, and the beach. The muni picks up right on the corner. Perfect location.

The management at this motel actually cares about you. The place looks more like an art-deco apartment complex. Our little suite was like a one-bedroom apartment with another bed in the living room. We had a small bathroom and a full kitchen. The bedroom had a door for privacy from the other queen sized bed in the big room. Perfectly clean and very comfortable. The management gives you a lot of information that is incredibly helpful. Four typed pages that they have put together to make a San Francisco visit more fun. They explain exactly how to use the public transportation and what the best deals are for their visitors. A very personal touch. The Wi Fi in our room worked great. The only reason I can't give it a 5 is the noise. It is near a muni turnaround so there is a little noise from the trains and you can hear the ocean waves. Not everyone minds this (I actually liked the noise and considered it part of the ambience), but just in case ear plugs are provided in the rooms. They worked great for one of the people in our party.

For breakfast in the morning we walked around the block to a John's Ocean Beach Cafe and had a fantastic breakfast. There was another breakfast place that looked great nearby but we didn't have a chance to visit. We did stop by the garden center that was across from the motel. On our first night we drove down the Great highway to the Cliff House for dinner (it was only a few minutes away).

I felt like the owners/managers of this motel actually cared about me and that they truly valued my business. It was refreshing from the chain hotel experience. I would definitely stop by the Ocean Park Motel if you are staying in San Francisco.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed great to me. Like a little apartment complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zephyr11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Park Motel in early November 2011. We are a family with younger kids vacationing in SF for a week. The Ocean Park Motel was a great option for us. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
--Clean, safe, and ample parking.
--Our room had a fully functioning kitchen (not sure if they all do), but the full sized fridge and gas stove allowed us to make breakfast in and pack lunches most days, and offered a good place to store leftovers,etc.
--Is 10 yards from a MUNI trolley that goes directly downtown (no need to switch and trolleys were very frequent)
--Within walking distance of the Zoo, the beach, and a good cafe and pizza place.
--Easy to drive most places from here and very easy to find/get to.

Cons:
--Very loud. That trolley I mentioned is convenient, but also goes directly by the building, and if you have young kids it can keep them up/wake them up the first couple of nights.
--WiFi is totally unreliable. With our smartphones this wasn't a huge issue, but if you are in any way planning on relying on the WiFi, don't.
--Little small. This is a good spot to come back to at the end of the day after dinner, and get up an go in the morning, but if you think you'll be spending any significant amount of time in the rooms, just be advised they're small. Our rooms didn't have desks or anything like that and no real space for kids toys or anything like that (although the kitchen had a 2-person table).

Overall I would definitely recommend the Ocean Park Motel for families looking for economic places to stay while seeing SF.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheWanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Mirage Inn & Suites
#153 of 230 in San Francisco
583 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#179 of 230 in San Francisco
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#164 of 230 in San Francisco
143 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
849 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#136 of 230 in San Francisco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing