We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and it did the job. However, we had several issues. The rooms were not especially clean, and the beds weren't comfortable at all. The hostel is also quite difficult to find - even our taxi driver couldn't find it, and when you're in a hurry to get to downtown, there's no point taking the cheaper public transport option. Moreover, even though it's the same price as the hostel we stayed in Downtown, the toilet and shower facilities were far inferior. The showers weren't very private and it was quite a trek from our room to the nearest loo - not good in the middle of the night if you forget your key!
Nevertheless, the staff were friendly, and the common area is great. It was also quiet, and is nice if you need a breath of fresh air after the busy city. Just don't choose if you want to be in the heart of San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eff234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    186
    67
    33
    20
See reviews for
52
71
141
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the assistant wasnt the friendliest. The mattress protectors were filthy. Marks, hair etc. Asked for new ones. Doonas dont get changed much. Rooms very basic. No ladder really to top bunk. Cafe was great. Free breakfast, waffles or a bagel. And very cheap meals. Laundry facility was good. Activies and information posted was good. Kitchen very good. Lounge good. Bathrooms - not so much. Needs to be cleaned more. Location nice, 15 minute walk to wharf hub and view to golden gate. The lack of cleanliness is what let this place down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Looking at trip photos reminded me to comment. My friend & I stayed here May 2012 as we wrapped up our motorcycle trip around California. The hostel is right next to the Fisherman's Wharf area. Amazing location housed in a building that was once an army barracks on the grounds of historic Fort Mason. In my early 50's and only my 2nd hostel stay, I loved being around the mostly younger crowd from all over the world. I loved the vibe and felt like a kid again. The dining room and social areas were very nice. If you can handle 4 to a room accommodations, like to save $$ ( under $ 30 / night ) and want to meet interesting people, this is a great place to stay. Its a hostel, so not for everyone.

Room Tip: Book well ahead, especially in high season. I believe there are a select number of 2 to a room accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Yes indeed: how much would that view cost from a hotel? Where else can you breakfast in a funky cafe overlooking the Golden Gate right on the coastline and only spend a meagre sum on your bed? It really is that good. I'd rather stay here than in any hotel. View, breakfast, serenity, somewhere to run; then, once relaxed, hit San Fran at full pace by walking along the seafront. Awesome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sifriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this hostel. The location is perfect for everything in San Francisco. It is walking distance to most attractions and if you get a Muni pass (included in the City Pass booklet) you can take transit anywhere you don’t want to walk. Best of all, it is clean, comfortable, very affordable, has great breakfasts and dinners even certain nights for free or a small fee ($3) which was great for feeding our girl scout troop of 5. We felt very safe there and met all sorts of interesting people from all over the globe; something you don’t necessarily find when staying in a hotel. One issue in our room (#7) was there is only one outlet and with everyone and their electronic gadgets we had to take turns or go out to the common room to recharge (which really was no biggy). And no screens on the windows was too bad, but we slept w/ them open anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

First of all, I have to say that I have stayed at a hostel only once before in Chicago, and that was a surprisingly pleasant experience. With that said, I don't remember it being smelly like this one, (although after a while you get used to it), the beds so uncomfortable (you can feel the springs in the mattress), or the breakfast so limited (A bagel or two waffles, A piece of fruit and coffee). The kitchen, which is separate from their Cafe area where breakfast dispensed, was good, the bathrooms were OK, even though their dispensers of complementary soap and shampoo were always empty when I showered. The staff was always friendly to my wife and I, no complains there. I like going to hostels because they have a lot of information about places to visits and special offers, but the recommended places here were just OK. The high point was the location, a nice park in a nice neighborhood with OK transport. Overall, I don't think I would return to this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our Girl Scout troop stayed here for two nights on a bridging trip. What a great location! Steps from the Metro stop that would take us to the bridge. Steps from Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square. Steps from a grocery story to load up on snacks and items to prepare dinner in the hostel's huge kitchen! The staff was always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the free breakfast each morning in the Cafe and appreciated that they were open and had a good menu to choose from the rest of the day. The girls met up with another girl scout troop and they watched a movie together in the theater. I would recommend this for any Scout troop wanting to stay in S.F. What a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Our troop reserved private rooms. We had to pay for a few extra bunks but it was totally worth it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GStroop5364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, CA 94123-1335
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a National Park overlooking the Bay at San Francisco's first and best hostel! Both shared and private rooms available, cafe serving three meals/day plus free continental breakfast, free parking, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. In a beautiful park setting near North Beach, Pier 39, and cable cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing