We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carl Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carl Hotel
Save
You added Carl Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #174 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
CT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I think this is not worth 3 whole stars, but it is in a great location and it was clean, but very dated and noisy. Almost worse than the outside traffic is the noise from the bathroom vent! The vent went on automatically with the bathroom light, and the light switch was on a wall 3 feet away from the bathroom door. It's fine if you are by yourself or if you don't have to use the bathroom at night!
Probably the three best things about the Carl are the price, the location and free wi-fi! We walked a lot: to all the attractions in the Golden Gate Park, the Haight-Ashbury area, and "restaurant row" on 9th St.
There was adequate drawer space for a short stay, but hanging clothes went on a rack on the wall. The bed was comfortable.
Not sure if we'd go back. Oh, no internet from the office; could not communicate with them beforehand except by phone, so no written confirmation. Also unable to print out boarding passes before leaving for the airport.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the street. I would not like to be in the room directly at the top of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topfuziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
7
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hanford, ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I thought I would be able to tolerate the noise since I once lived off the same street years ago. Wrong. The Muni was noisier than I recall. I highly recommend ear plugs (or something stronger).

Mostly clean. Dated. Seems safe. Serves the purpose.

It was $110 here or $350+ at the Courtyard Marriott. Hmm. Extra change in the wallet means more fun money in SF. Not a hard decision to make.

If your visit involves UCSF or you would rather have spare cash in your pocket and spend little time in your room, grab some ear plugs and make a reservation.

The location is good. Walking distance to Golden Gate Park. Walking distance to coffee shops and dining in Cole Valley. Walking distance to the Haight...if that is your thing. Jump on the N-Judah and head downtown for $2 (although I think there is a rate hike in the near future).

Not a dream hotel, but it works.

Room Tip: Room 218 would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is located 20 feet from the train tracks, and the Muni train will keep you awake at night as it comes roaring. The rooms are incredibly outdated, even the nonsmoking rooms smell of smoke. It is very cheap and thus is a good value in SF, especially if you want to be close to UCSF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

RENO,NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's a great stay for my son and I when we went to UCSF Medical Center Parnasus, SFO for his medical appointment. CARL HOTEL is accessible for both the Muni train and bus, there's Wallgreen and small restaurants around the area. THE HOTEL STAFFare nice and accomodating.. We occupied a room with 2 full beds, with TV and a very good WIFI. I think this hotel offers the lowest price within the vicinity of the hospital.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank star4virgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I needed a place to sleep and take a shower while visiting my mom in the hospital. That's exactly what I got at the Carl. It was walking distance and clean. It's an old hotel but for the price can't be beat! The man at the front desk was very accommodating. He even brought me an extra pillow and had a blow dryer for me to use. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room. I stayed on the first floor and the Muni does run right next to the hotel and is loud but I am not a light sleeper and was not affected by it at all. Twin size bed and a small table and chair make it just big enough for one. I would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momndadplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always have family stay at the Carl when they come to town. It is very reasonably priced and the staff is friendly and helpful. If you don't want to stay in the hectic downtown area, this is a great option, especially if you've got business on the West side of the city. The rooms are pretty small, and the convenience of being right on the N Muni line brings a bit of extra noise, but other than that it is a great spot.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, as the staff for a room as far from the Muni as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MacKenzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel will be your choice if you are hiddeng to the UCSF medical center . Either you are a patient or a visitor the location of this hotel is just excellent & very near to the hospital . The rooms are really clean but small with a microwave & small freg. The reception employee are really helpful in everything . The only disadvantage is the muni ( metro ) which passes near the hotel in Carl street . Safe to stay with your family .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msmq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#93 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#178 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Anne Hotel
#84 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Sunset
Great Highway Motor Inn
Great Highway Motor Inn
#161 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#110 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carl Hotel

Property: Carl Hotel
Address: 198 Carl St, San Francisco, CA 94117-3906
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing