We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommendable”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not recommendable”
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to the US.

This was the worst motel on our 20 day trip.

Cons:
Loud, 24/7 traffic on Lombard street, bad isolation
Lots of drunk and loud kids around (weekend)
Smelly room
Worn and smelly towels
Overall a very rundown place
Forget the breakfast (dry donuts)


Pros:
Cheap
Free Parking
Relatively safe neighborhood
Lots of nightlife opportunities near

  • Disliked — Smelly room
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Eggi0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    50
    68
    42
    53
See reviews for
54
72
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

My sisters just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before they were flying back to Europe. I tried to call them 3 times and this is what happened:

1. As I asked to transfer me to their room the person at the front desk told me that they asked to call back after midnight which they did not as he never called their room(he put the phone down for about 10 seconds only).

2. I called again about 20 minutes later and the person said that there is no answer from the room(after he put the phone down again for about 5 seconds) , although I sent my sisters a text message to make sure they were there.As I told him that he hung up on me.

3. I called again the next day and the person at the front desk tells me: "I don't feel like connecting right now" and hangs up on me again.

I finally called them via cell phone to make sure they are ok and they confirmed whatever the other people wrote in reports before on this page. As expample, their shower head does not work at all and the room is pretty dirty.

It's not worth it to concider this hotel even if it is inexpensive. There are many other hotels or motels in SFO that offer much nicer rooms and service for not a lot more money.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Groupie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

This was one of the worst motel experiences I've had in my life. It all started with them trying to scam us into a King room. THey told us we had reserved smoking and the only non-smoking they had left were larger. We fell for it and paid the extra . Afterwards we checked our reservation and it was for non-smoking. They were clearly scamming us. Aside from that, the beds only come with two small pillows, making it uncomfortable to sit in bed and watch TV. It is located on a busy street and the walls offer zero insulation from the noise. There was an ironing board but no iron. And the toilet made a weird noise like a sick cow when you flush it. Motel 6 or Super 8 would have been better for the money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

This place was pretty bad, even for a budget traveler. I decided to stay here for one night after I decided to extend by trip by one night. The other place I was staying at was a little pricey for a Friday night and Surf offered $79. So I took it to save about $40. I should have just sucked it up and paid the extra money. The outside is okay, like any other motel you see, but the rooms are pretty small, bathroom is average size, and parking is free. First of all, to enter room you had to insert card, hold and lift door nob a certain way to open door because nob was broken, which I never did figure out, but luckily my girlfriend did, room had bad odor, shower had obvious fungus and shower nozel fell off. Bed was okay, when opening sheets, my girlfriend found a public hair, disgusting! Coffee maker was broken and room didn't even have cream and sugar if it did work. Continental breakfast is free, but don't bother, it is a box of old muffinfs in the office with someone sitting their watching what you take. No offense to this place, but don't wast your time and money, there are plenty of other choices in San Franicisco and especially on Lombard Street to choose from. I am all for saving some money, but c'mon, some places should just be left alone so they can be torn down, and this is one of those places.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Angelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenage kids stayed 6 nights at the Surf. It had both good and bad features:
Good:
Inexpensive
Free parking
Queen size beds (very comfortable)
Clean room
Large bathroom with iron and board
Coffee maker in room
Adequate space, but not roomy
Next block contained many trendy international restaurants
OK neighborhood--although we didn't go out at night, there were no homeless hanging around and it seemed safe

Bad
NOISY--you are on the main street to the Golden Gate Bridge. Traffic is constant all night. Garbage pickup and street cleaners came at 5:30 am,
and there was construction across the street.
Continental Breakfast consisted of a box of muffins and donuts (nothing to drink and not even napkins)--served in the office
Towels were thin, stained, and frayed
Not walking distance to any tourist attractions
Front desk manager didn't understand English very well
Picture on websites is not the hotel!

If you can take the noise, and you are not there much, this place is a good bargain.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
34 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#162 of 229 in San Francisco
588 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 229 in San Francisco
649 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
493 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2265 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2703
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing