We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad things you have to know about this place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good and bad things you have to know about this place !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Good:
comfortable beds, good environment, enough plugs in the rooms, excellent breakfast, good dinner three times a week, good ubication.
Bad:
Bathrooms disgusting, ailes too narrow, smelly (all the place), small rooms, noises (doors opening and closing all the time, people running through the ailes, false fire alarms etc)
But taking into account the price, well.....it's acceptable !!!!!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    223
    68
    24
    24
See reviews for
20
153
252
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fun hostel, amazing staff, heaps of activities which aren't just drinking. The rooms are not the tidiest but it doesn't matter, but bathrooms and everywhere else was cleaned daily. Large common room with free dinners every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
Walkable location to pier 39, and downtown. But public transport preferable.
Only had to wait for a shower once. Book early, busiest hostel in Sanfran.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allystuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi thanks for writing. Yes it's a good idea to book direct in the spring/summer so you are not disappointed. We have many types of different room configurations that will appeal to all travelers. We have quads (2 double sized bunk beds) triples (one double bunk below and a single bunk above) twins (one set of bunk beds) Privates (one double bed) and dorms, either female or mixed. We love a clean hostel, but dorm rooms can get interesting at times when guests feel so at home! :) Glad you loved our free meals and activities. Cheers, GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my best stay at a hostel ever! The staff was very helpful and friendly, the hostel was clean and although Green Tortoise is known as the best party hostel in SF, the annex building where our room was located was very quiet and peaceful. Free breakfast was awesome for anyone travelling on a budget, and so was the free dinner we got to enjoy on our last day. I would definitely recommend this place for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokolattiamatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us, we hope to see you again soon to enjoy all the improvements we make.
All the best, Green Tortoise Mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am so glad I chose this place as my very first hostel on my very first solo trip.

Clean, friendly, safe, quiet, and very well located. I was a bit hesitant and nervous as this was the first trip I've ever made alone and the very first hostel I've ever stayed at, but it was a really great experience. I stayed in an all female dorm with 3 other awesome ladies and felt great. I recommend this place to anyone traveling to SF, I will definitely be coming here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Great to have you and to know it was your first foray into staying at a hostel. We like to think we offer an authentic & unique experience where travelers get to meet each other in a safe, comfortable and inspiring community. Don't forget to Like us on Facebook & check our our Adventure tours! All the very best, GT Mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good people, excellent location. Needs more bathrooms! An under 30's place for sure.......
But I only used it to sleep and shower in and nothing more. It had great food and night activities for guests!

Room Tip: When you stay in a younger hostel it is a big party! I was too old for this place but would have LOV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenback39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write. I will pass on the need for more bathrooms. It's rather tight space wise as it was originally an old style hotel with bathrooms off the corridor. We have 5 on each floor with toilets downstairs. We have many satisfied customers of all ages, but yes we do promote the "Party". We do have private rooms available for that extra privacy. If you decide to come again don't forget to inquire about them if you are after extra privacy and a quieter time.
All the best on your travels. GT mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

visiting from australia with a group of 5. very clean hostel with heaps of activities, our favourite was the beer olympics. this hostel is in a great location within walking distance of china town, north beach (little Italy), pier 39 and fisherman's wharf. the staff are very friendly and helpful. just make sure you book this hostel through their website.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Becreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Glad you had such a great time. Seems your group didn't waste any time getting to experience many of the favorite places nearby. Stinking Rose, Tonga room, Mama's. Our events are fun, we try to create a balance of events in the hostel and outside so you also get to meet other people. Hope to see you here again in the future!
GT hostel mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my cousin had the best stay here! Made friends immediately as we stepped through the door! Staff were so friendly and we got a free evening meal! Beds were comfy and rooms were cozy! Pretty good location .. Rent a bike and see the city my favorite moment so far! I'd stay here again and again! Go for it if your young and fun :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elodie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Yes, the hostel is very easy to make friends in, especially at our free dinners and events. Everyone is in travel mode and happy to meet new people. Renting a bike is a great way to explore the city, we organize discount coupons at our front desk. We also offer adventures with the Green Tortoise Adventure travel company who has their office in our building.
Have fun and see you next time. Thanks, GT mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Property: Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing