We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party central!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is the party central! Very large common area and the night I was there they did a free dinner, and the hall was full! The very same evening they had a beer olympics where guests/partiers can take place and join them for a fun and beer-filled evening of games at the bar next door.

The backpacker is right next to Chinatown and about 10-15 mins walking from the downtown area.

Folks were friendly and helpful. The room and sheet were clean. The inside is a bit of a maze but nothing bad about it. Perhaps just a tiny bit challenging if you have a suitcase instead of a backpack coz they do have a few steps just going up to the reception and the staircases are just a little steep and narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingpinguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Great review...come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 754 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Have stayed at this hostel multiple times, always a great time! I actually met my german boyfriend there the last time i visited! ;D Tons of fun and free activities, the free meals three days a week are delcious, and the beds are super comfortable. The hostel is in a great area, definitely check out the Romo restaurant around the corner for delicious fries, upscale burgers and cocktails if you can. Also Vesuvio bar is a must hang out. Did the ealking tour the last visit and met some grest travellers, as i always do when staying. If you are social, stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chardizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We'll add matchmaker to our list of specialties!! Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here this year. Staff is pretty laid back, place needs more housekeeping details and the rooms are okay. Make sure to lock your stuff up in the day time, sticky fingers . They have video cameras recording in case someone steals. There are lots of social events if that is your gig!! From pool tournaments , pub crawls and other activities. Idea for singles, no kids. They also have free breakfast, and dinners other nights. Great for those on an adventure trip , or spiritual wonderland.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit and get a private room !! with your own bathroom. Seriously!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for the great pointers: we're here to make sure our guests have a great travel experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is a great price and right downtown, near Chinatown.
Has a community kitchen that you may use, along with fridge space (but my food got eaten =( that was the ONLY down side of my visit). They have FREE breakfast every morning! (Includes bagels with spreads, fruit, and eggs! cook to your own liking, orange juice and coffee) and you just clean your own dishes when you're done. They have FREE dinners a couple nights a week (I helped make the dinner that I ate for free, it was fun with the other helpers :) )
The rooms are good (I shared with 3 others in bunk beds but I'm cool with that!) and they have storage in the room where you can lock your stuff during the day. They also have a free locked and video taped storage room for luggage if you haven't checked in or just checked out and need to keep your stuff there for awhile while you run around traveling! (which I did both before and after)

They have some more private rooms available if you so choose (a little more $). They have numerous bathrooms/ showers on each floor.
They have free wi-fi and free computers open to use (not free printing). They have a free massage chair that I used! and a free dry sauna that I used! And lots of other odds n ends handy to travelers.
The staff was nice and is from there so you can ask all sorts of questions. They try to hold some social events with the guests a couple nights a week! I went on their pub crawl but they also have a pool tournament night (oh yea, free pool table and "hang out" room for large crowds), among other activities...
They seem to offer some tour discounts for the area...

Awesome for the price!

Room Tip: I stayed on the west street side and it was kind of a smaller road that attracted random people = no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsoccer2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got to plug in to all of our fun and free amenities that we offer at GT SF. Thanks for the great and thorough review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago and it was fine. It is in a good location close to good restaurants if you don't mind the red light district but you can stay in a much better place for the same money and not share a toilet! We had a 'private' double room for 3 nights end March 2013 cost $86 per night for a room with tiny sky-light windows and a view of an alley full of rubbish, clean it up GT! it was disgusting! There was a double bed in the room and a single chair and that was all there was room for, nowhere to put any clothes. There was a sink which was dirty and the so called 'toiletries provided' was a single small sachet of shampoo to last us both for 3 days. Towels are not supplied and cost $1 each extra if you want one.
If you don't want to queue for a toilet or shower (which were not clean at any time that we saw) you have to be up before 6.30am.
The security was nil on the room we had, the cleaner left our door ajar on the second day and it was only luck we didn't get robbed (she didn't clean the room, make the bed or change the linen, she just emptied our bin, nothing else.
If you stay on a Saturday night make sure you are out very late as you will not get any sleep due to the night clubs and strip clubs which are still very noisy until after 7.30am
Breakfast was good, serve yourself bagels, fruit, oatmeal, juice and coffee.
The prices they charge and the way they cram people in they could afford a coat of paint, the whole place is drab and shabby and most of the staff were not very friendly, there were some exceptions of course, Flora was very nice and helpful.
Take my advice and shop around, you can still get clean bargains with all facilities in San Francisco but I would avoid the Green Tortoise Hostel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

with its perfect location, you are just in the center of the big city of SF. Stayed there for 5 nights, attended the pub crawl nights, helped making the dinner, loved the morning bagels and coffee. the living room is such a vintage, but yet full of emotions place. just in 10 mins walk from the Wharf . the staff helped us with the local excursions we made. met a lots of interesting people there and had a really great time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vilkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

thanks for adding your emotion to the ballroom too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the Green Tortoise and was very impressed with the staff attitudes and the beds are very comfy. The hostel does free vegetarian dinners and free breakfast making it very easy to meet new people and save travel money. The location is in the red light district, but its very close to great eateries and bars. For a solo traveller this place was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks for your great review. Though there are a handful of clubs in our neighborhood we pride ourselves on being located on the edges of bustling China Town and culturally rich Little Italy, as well as being just a hop skip and a jump to the Embarcadero and Fisherman's Wharf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,218 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
446 reviews
Adelaide Hostel
#10 of 54 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Address: 494 Broadway, Cross street - Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $33 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing