We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hostel is large and has plenty of rooms. We visited in a busy period in SF coinciding with a large conference. Consequently there were lots of people looking for places to stay and I found the hostel staff to be very accommodating. The facilities are good here with a big lounge area to meet up with people and eat. Breakfast is served here and it's good. Bagels, fruit, drinks and plenty of eggs to cook your own. The kitchen is well equipped and they have a chef that looks after things and cooks dinners 3 times a week. We had 2 of these and they were amazing...and free! We helped the chef cook on one of these days and he's such a nice guy and pretty talented in the kitchen too. Definitely recommend the dinners! Wifi was available in most parts of the hostel along with free terminals for accessing the internet. They have a tour desk, although we didn't use it, lots of people did whilst we were there. We had an 8 bed dorm which was big enough and had large lockers under each bunk bed for your large and small bags. This kept the floor space free and made the room feel bigger. Plug sockets and personal lights on each bunk too which is always good for charging your phone at night for example. The only downside I felt was that there weren't enough toilets and showers for the number of people staying there. On our floor we had 4 toilet/showers so in the morning there was a queue outside each one. The fact that the toilet and shower are together means you get larger queues too because some people just want to nip to the toilet but have to wait for someone who's showering. That's a minor thing though and it certainly wouldn't stop me staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location: perfect! We stayed four night, never used a taxi or bus to get to all the SF highlights. Private room is small but if you want more space go to the common room which is called the ballroom, its huge. Never had to wait to take a shower, everything clean. Great value for money!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hostel really encompasses the feeling you get when you explore this unique and exciting city, there is great attention to detail, there are many activities to take part in put on by the friendly hostel workers and then there is a good hill to walk up to reach it.

The rooms were clean and tidy. There were many private, clean bathrooms available, some bigger than others. There is free breakfast everyday and free dinner on monday, wednesday and friday in the big dinning area, where there is also a well equipped communal kitchen.

The only issue I saw, but I may be wrong, but it appears there is no air conditioning or fans, so if it is summer there is potential for the rooms to get pretty warm.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to be situated in a pretty good spot in terms of quietness. But there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having free dinner three nights a week was awesome and so were the huge lockers under your bed (don't forget your padlock), however the staff were the most unhelpful and unfriendly I have experienced, the put a bit of a taint on my staff. I did have some good room mates though although most of the people in this hostel were couples or groups so it was hard to make friends. Also, the corner it is close to is not the best place to be at night in San Francisco.

Room Tip: In warmer months choose a room that has a window onto the street as you have more chance of a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire862186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The diversity of the people is what makes this an amazing place. The free dinner was good and I was lucky enough to be there when a musical trio busted out the guitars and hand drum.

Minor hiccups were the front desk clerks talked with each other while I stood there to check in. The chef was rude about using the kitchen, but all cooking utensils were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

the staff were excellent. great value, loads of free stuff and a great location. beds were really comfortable. they had a huge common area with instruments to play. free breakfast, dinners, organized events. i will deff be staying here again when i return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaihll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Second time at the tortise, better than the first, can't wait till the third!. Review must be 200 characters haven't got any more to say! Discount on booze from the store two blocks down, breakfast burrito from around the corner, fish tacos from around the corner and up grant street.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomoterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,221 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
446 reviews
Adelaide Hostel
#10 of 54 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Address: 494 Broadway, Cross street - Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $33 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing