We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what were looking for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Location: perfect! We stayed four night, never used a taxi or bus to get to all the SF highlights. Private room is small but if you want more space go to the common room which is called the ballroom, its huge. Never had to wait to take a shower, everything clean. Great value for money!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    204
    60
    23
    24
See reviews for
20
139
224
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hostel really encompasses the feeling you get when you explore this unique and exciting city, there is great attention to detail, there are many activities to take part in put on by the friendly hostel workers and then there is a good hill to walk up to reach it.

The rooms were clean and tidy. There were many private, clean bathrooms available, some bigger than others. There is free breakfast everyday and free dinner on monday, wednesday and friday in the big dinning area, where there is also a well equipped communal kitchen.

The only issue I saw, but I may be wrong, but it appears there is no air conditioning or fans, so if it is summer there is potential for the rooms to get pretty warm.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to be situated in a pretty good spot in terms of quietness. But there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having free dinner three nights a week was awesome and so were the huge lockers under your bed (don't forget your padlock), however the staff were the most unhelpful and unfriendly I have experienced, the put a bit of a taint on my staff. I did have some good room mates though although most of the people in this hostel were couples or groups so it was hard to make friends. Also, the corner it is close to is not the best place to be at night in San Francisco.

Room Tip: In warmer months choose a room that has a window onto the street as you have more chance of a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire862186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The diversity of the people is what makes this an amazing place. The free dinner was good and I was lucky enough to be there when a musical trio busted out the guitars and hand drum.

Minor hiccups were the front desk clerks talked with each other while I stood there to check in. The chef was rude about using the kitchen, but all cooking utensils were there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franz josef
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the staff were excellent. great value, loads of free stuff and a great location. beds were really comfortable. they had a huge common area with instruments to play. free breakfast, dinners, organized events. i will deff be staying here again when i return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaihll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Second time at the tortise, better than the first, can't wait till the third!. Review must be 200 characters haven't got any more to say! Discount on booze from the store two blocks down, breakfast burrito from around the corner, fish tacos from around the corner and up grant street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomoterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my bf in a private rtravelleroom with TV. Although the TV is not connected to mainstream network, it has access to a media drive full of movies and TV shows which was awesome. Free breakfast is always a plus. located close to everything and with helpful staff to assist us when we needed help . Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,408 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#35 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Property: Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing