We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Square Backpacker's Hostel

Union Square Backpacker's Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Square Backpacker's Hostel
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Absolutely horrendous place!

Me and my friend landed here after a lot of travelling and were just looking somewhere to relax. 1 of the guys on the reception told us the place had been over booked but kept reassuring us we could stay as another guy told us he couldnt guarantee us a place. The only way I could describe these 2 employees was Dumb and Dumber

It was probably a blessing in disguise as the place looked to be horrible and dirty. Luckily we found another decent place, if not we would have had to pay a serious amount to book last minute accommodation elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratheenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    3
    30
See reviews for
1
6
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been here 2 weeks ago and the hostel was horrible!! The staff is strange and the hostel itself stinks. If u planning to visit san Francisco u better book a hostel beforehand. If not, u will end up here. It seems that the staff doesnt care about all the negative reviews. Due the lack of hostels in san fran they are packed anyway.

Back to the review. As soon as I walked in, I allready regret my booking. allthough it was just for 1 night. The black guy at the frontdesk was unfriendly. A women asked for 2 towels and the guy just shouted to her that it was unpossible to get 2 towels. Frontdesk is open till 11pm but around 1am one of the staffmembers came in and seems to be drunk and took place at the frontdesk. I felt unconfortable and went to my room.

The room stinks, the matrass and pillow are dirty. The blanket is brown and stinks too. U get clean linnen and sheets from the frontdesk but u will smell the matrass and blanket anyway. I checked the brown matrass on bedwants but I didn't find them. As soon I was sleeping my body started itching everywhere.

I didn't took the breakfast. Dirty hostel = dirty breakfast,. Avoid this dump, just book beforehand your hostels in san francisco and u won't find any problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Har30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

like: Location is awesome. price is ok...

DISLIKE: The staff was terrible unfriendly. the hostel was freezing cold. the bathrooms super super dirty, breakfast is a joke and bedrooms a super tiny. better spend a bit more and go to the neighbour.
and on the price comes 2$ per person plus 15% tax. so it's a rip off.

Room Tip: don't book it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlinzauberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a good friend of mine arrived back in San Fran after a few good nites in Vegas. Next day we were flying back 2 Ireland so we just needed 2 chill out and get sum last minute presents etc.

After arriving at the union square hostel, we soon realized we were in the wrong place for us!

Chaos is all that can be said for what we encountered. To cut a long story short, we waited for 40 mins watching the employee staring at a computer screen blankly only to be told they were over booked.

I was at the end of my tether at this stage but thank god going by the reviews I have read since. I would advise booking some of the many excellent budget accomodation well in advance, stay clear of this place if u have any sense!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Why cant i choose a score of 0?
Please dont stay here. One of the girls im travelling with got bed bug bites and the room stunk. We checked in on time and they had no linen ready for us and they moved people out of room in front of us so we could stay in there. The blankets werent washed, only the brown stained sheets. The pillows were also brown and stained. I nearly cried when i had to stay here. The kitchen was a hole in the wall piled with filthy dishes. There was free breakfast but i didnt eat it.
The staff were CREEPY. And there was holes in the walls. In the bathrooms there was supposed to be privacy blurred out glass but it had been replaced with regular clear glass. Staff were smoking outside and could see in. Gross. There was also some weird shack thing near our room where staff went to smoke weed. We had our windows open and all this weed smoke came in.
They said they had wireless but i could never connect.
Dont stay here. Try the hostelling international downtown or city center or fishermans warf, or a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed one night after a tour, stayed in hostels around the world & this is by far the worst I've ever seen! The mattresses are very old & stained brown, they look like they were thrown out onto the street & picked up by the hostel. Sheets are vile, luckily had sleeping bag & own pillow. Bathroom had a blocked toilet.
Would never ever go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalJackPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Terribly bad experience, the hostel was so durty that we prefered to used public bathrooms instead of the hostels facilities. We couldn't sleep at all because a bunch of drunk people were shouting all nigh and when we woke up the durty alley was covered with puke.
They charged us an extra and we end up paying like a regular hotel.
It was a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarodeAlmagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#180 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#134 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#175 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Square Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Backpacker's Hostel

Property: Union Square Backpacker's Hostel
Address: 70 Derby St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1221
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Union Square Backpacker`s Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing