We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“extremely expensive for the low quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropica

Hotel Tropica
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tropica
Ranked #216 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“extremely expensive for the low quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I paid 80$ for a room without WiFi in it, with no TV remote control, only the bath worked but no the shower,the door of the bathroom was impossible to close and on top of these the room was extremely cold that I had to ask an extra blanket during the night. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agostino230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    10
    21
See reviews for
5
8
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not a bad room, basic but does a job, was ridiculously overpriced for the weekend we stayed here, no internet in room, no breakfast and staff were so rude (When they eventually came out of the back room). They gave us no information about surrounding areas and things to do in San Francisco.
-waste of money!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackthebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live in San Francisco and stayed here for a few nights in July 2013. Internet rates were ~$130/night, but I was able to get a (smallish) room with private bath for $80+ tax by asking directly through the hotel.

Hotels can be pretty expensive in SF, average rate for a decent place is usually close to $200/night. I used to recommend the Elements Hotel to a certain brand of visitor (just need the basics, spend a lot of time out, location is key), but Elements is no more, having been converted to veteran housing. So, Tropica it is now, which is slightly nicer and a little more expensive.

My room was clean and modern. At the back of the hotel, with great natural light. Bathroom seems brand new. Comes with mini fridge and microwave. Does not seem to be daily maid service. Free WiFi, which is spotty at the back of the hotel (they also have a dedicated PC for guest use at the check in window).

If you like to go out to eat, bar hop,
listen to live music, shop for trendy clothes, location here is ideal - it is literally surrounded by restaurants, with some of the most heralded - Locanda, Mission Chinese, Foreign Cinema, Bar Tartine, Range - all within easy walking distance. Too many bars, of all types, to mention - from Mexican bars with mariachis to some of SF's most creative cocktails. And live music within a short walk - the new Chapel, the old Elbo Room, which has had Sunday late night reggae dance parties for over 10 years, and one of my favorites, Amnesia, a quirky little romantic place with excellent, lesser heard music, from Balkan and Gypsy jazz to bluegrass, punk karaoke, folksy singer/songwriters, etc.

Hotel is less than 2 blocks from 16th/Mission BART, which goes straight to SFO. Also close to Dolores Park and Castro.

Tropica is not for everyone. I give it 3.5 stars overall. But if you want more than a hostel, and can live without full service, and being right in the action is important, this is a very good bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all, i would like to say that the people working in the hotel were extremely nice.
about the room : the room we stayed in had two double bads, for four people.
the room was too small, uncomfortable, without a clothet or any drawers to place our clothes, no table near the beds. there were'nt any mirrors in the room besides the small one in the bathroom that hangs to high over the sink. the lightning in the room was very weak and did not allow us to read at the evening.
in the bathroom : there were no drawers, table or even a shelve to place our toiletries.
but as we said, the people were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropica June 2013. We wanted this location as it was near family, but I was worried after reading some of the reviews.

The reservation was made over the phone and when we arrived the lady behind the counter said they didn't have our reservation and no one by the name of the person my husband spoke with worked there. But we were patient and sure enough our reservation was found.

He had reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a bathroom. We got one double bed, but didn't want to try to change. The bathroom was clean. The bedding seemed clean. The room was clean, albeit small, but that was fine.

The room was hot at night as some other reviewers mentioned. We had the window open all the way - which is no big deal in the city as there are little to zero bugs - and that too was fine. The bed had both a foot board and a head board. We're both tall, so I would have liked no foot board.

Be aware that there are no elevators. The "office" is up one flight of stairs and our room was up another flight of stairs.

I would stay there again as the location is great for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While the price was right in a busy section of SFRAN--the Mission----I would not count it as a regular hotel visit. The room was adequate with private bath. Refrigerator in room did not work. Had a hard time getting fresh towels. No room phone and no control of room heat--had to ask manager. One lamp did not work and though reported it was never fixed. Since we were visiting our son about 4 blocks away and spent most of the 5 days of daylight out of the room, the situation was manageable--would not stay there again. Nightly rate was $115--small TV no guide. Our room faced the street, and at 2am when the bars closed there was always much comotion outside for about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Look at the room before taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

It is clear that the only reason a hotel such as this can continue the way it does is due to its location. The Mission is a brilliant place to stay whether you keep it local or explore the whole of SF. Now that I have mentioned this hotel's single redeeming feature, I can happily reveal that this truly is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Firstly, the staff were rude and uncommunicative when we arrived. We were charged $100+ in tax, despite the original quote promising that tax was included. When this was queried, the manager declared ignorance. Our rooms were clean(ish), but had fallen into disrepair. The window of one room was permenantly wedged open andthe other had exposed wiring and a violently loud fridge that was impossible to unplug. As other reviews have mentioned, the washroom situation is laughable. Neither the (shared) toilet or shower doors locked on either on the floors we had rooms on, which was made all the more aggravating as we were under the rooms would be en suite. The most irritating thing about our stay actually came courtesy of fellow guests. Loud club music was played continuously from early evening to early morning. When we complained, the manager amusingly told me to "go and get them and tell them to come and talk to her". At this point, I must state that I am a 19yr old girl
and the cause of the problem was a large group of men. It was an utterly ridiculous experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlottedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#177 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Layne Hotel
#204 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#129 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#153 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropica

Property: Hotel Tropica
Address: 663 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94110-1150
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tropica 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mix in some vintage Hawaii and throw in a dash of modern San Francisco, with a touch of Las Vegas and the results equal, San Francisco's newest hotel The Hotel Tropica. Colourful and bright mosaics, Hawaiian fabrics, Chinese bamboo, palm trees and beautiful vintage art adorn the hotel, making for a most unique experience.The hotel consists of 40 guestrooms featuring single and double beds, refrigerators and microwaves in each room, cable TV+ HBO, private bathrooms with full tubs and showers, FREE high speed internet access in every room, and electronic locks. There are 3 rooms with bay windows overlooking Valencia Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tropica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing