We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely expensive for the low quality”
Review of Hotel Tropica

Hotel Tropica
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropica
Ranked #218 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I paid 80$ for a room without WiFi in it, with no TV remote control, only the bath worked but no the shower,the door of the bathroom was impossible to close and on top of these the room was extremely cold that I had to ask an extra blanket during the night. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agostino230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tropica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not a bad room, basic but does a job, was ridiculously overpriced for the weekend we stayed here, no internet in room, no breakfast and staff were so rude (When they eventually came out of the back room). They gave us no information about surrounding areas and things to do in San Francisco.
-waste of money!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackthebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live in San Francisco and stayed here for a few nights in July 2013. Internet rates were ~$130/night, but I was able to get a (smallish) room with private bath for $80+ tax by asking directly through the hotel.

Hotels can be pretty expensive in SF, average rate for a decent place is usually close to $200/night. I used to recommend the Elements Hotel to a certain brand of visitor (just need the basics, spend a lot of time out, location is key), but Elements is no more, having been converted to veteran housing. So, Tropica it is now, which is slightly nicer and a little more expensive.

My room was clean and modern. At the back of the hotel, with great natural light. Bathroom seems brand new. Comes with mini fridge and microwave. Does not seem to be daily maid service. Free WiFi, which is spotty at the back of the hotel (they also have a dedicated PC for guest use at the check in window).

If you like to go out to eat, bar hop,
listen to live music, shop for trendy clothes, location here is ideal - it is literally surrounded by restaurants, with some of the most heralded - Locanda, Mission Chinese, Foreign Cinema, Bar Tartine, Range - all within easy walking distance. Too many bars, of all types, to mention - from Mexican bars with mariachis to some of SF's most creative cocktails. And live music within a short walk - the new Chapel, the old Elbo Room, which has had Sunday late night reggae dance parties for over 10 years, and one of my favorites, Amnesia, a quirky little romantic place with excellent, lesser heard music, from Balkan and Gypsy jazz to bluegrass, punk karaoke, folksy singer/songwriters, etc.

Hotel is less than 2 blocks from 16th/Mission BART, which goes straight to SFO. Also close to Dolores Park and Castro.

Tropica is not for everyone. I give it 3.5 stars overall. But if you want more than a hostel, and can live without full service, and being right in the action is important, this is a very good bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all, i would like to say that the people working in the hotel were extremely nice.
about the room : the room we stayed in had two double bads, for four people.
the room was too small, uncomfortable, without a clothet or any drawers to place our clothes, no table near the beds. there were'nt any mirrors in the room besides the small one in the bathroom that hangs to high over the sink. the lightning in the room was very weak and did not allow us to read at the evening.
in the bathroom : there were no drawers, table or even a shelve to place our toiletries.
but as we said, the people were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropica June 2013. We wanted this location as it was near family, but I was worried after reading some of the reviews.

The reservation was made over the phone and when we arrived the lady behind the counter said they didn't have our reservation and no one by the name of the person my husband spoke with worked there. But we were patient and sure enough our reservation was found.

He had reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a bathroom. We got one double bed, but didn't want to try to change. The bathroom was clean. The bedding seemed clean. The room was clean, albeit small, but that was fine.

The room was hot at night as some other reviewers mentioned. We had the window open all the way - which is no big deal in the city as there are little to zero bugs - and that too was fine. The bed had both a foot board and a head board. We're both tall, so I would have liked no foot board.

Be aware that there are no elevators. The "office" is up one flight of stairs and our room was up another flight of stairs.

I would stay there again as the location is great for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

While the price was right in a busy section of SFRAN--the Mission----I would not count it as a regular hotel visit. The room was adequate with private bath. Refrigerator in room did not work. Had a hard time getting fresh towels. No room phone and no control of room heat--had to ask manager. One lamp did not work and though reported it was never fixed. Since we were visiting our son about 4 blocks away and spent most of the 5 days of daylight out of the room, the situation was manageable--would not stay there again. Nightly rate was $115--small TV no guide. Our room faced the street, and at 2am when the bars closed there was always much comotion outside for about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Look at the room before taking.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

It is clear that the only reason a hotel such as this can continue the way it does is due to its location. The Mission is a brilliant place to stay whether you keep it local or explore the whole of SF. Now that I have mentioned this hotel's single redeeming feature, I can happily reveal that this truly is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Firstly, the staff were rude and uncommunicative when we arrived. We were charged $100+ in tax, despite the original quote promising that tax was included. When this was queried, the manager declared ignorance. Our rooms were clean(ish), but had fallen into disrepair. The window of one room was permenantly wedged open andthe other had exposed wiring and a violently loud fridge that was impossible to unplug. As other reviews have mentioned, the washroom situation is laughable. Neither the (shared) toilet or shower doors locked on either on the floors we had rooms on, which was made all the more aggravating as we were under the rooms would be en suite. The most irritating thing about our stay actually came courtesy of fellow guests. Loud club music was played continuously from early evening to early morning. When we complained, the manager amusingly told me to "go and get them and tell them to come and talk to her". At this point, I must state that I am a 19yr old girl
and the cause of the problem was a large group of men. It was an utterly ridiculous experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlottedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
63 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#171 of 230 in San Francisco
161 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
Nineteen 06 Mission
Nineteen 06 Mission
#8 of 52 in San Francisco
86 reviews
Mission District
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#32 of 72 in San Francisco
12 reviews
Mission District
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 72 in San Francisco
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropica

Address: 663 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94110-1150
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $147 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tropica 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mix in some vintage Hawaii and throw in a dash of modern San Francisco, with a touch of Las Vegas and the results equal, San Francisco's newest hotel The Hotel Tropica. Colourful and bright mosaics, Hawaiian fabrics, Chinese bamboo, palm trees and beautiful vintage art adorn the hotel, making for a most unique experience.The hotel consists of 40 guestrooms featuring single and double beds, refrigerators and microwaves in each room, cable TV+ HBO, private bathrooms with full tubs and showers, FREE high speed internet access in every room, and electronic locks. There are 3 rooms with bay windows overlooking Valencia Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tropica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing