We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Adagio and it was a good choice. They have a great location near Union Square, a nice bar, and valet parking. Our room was fairly large, considering it is a city hotel. The bathroom was nice, the towels and bedding were above average. The hotel staff were professional, especially one of the concierges, who was very informative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Bauercat---I loved reading your review! So glad that you enjoyed not only our location to everything San Francisco but that our staff was professional and informative. Thank you so much for your review – we’ll see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at the Adagio for just under two weeks. Service was excellent, and the staff were all super friendly and helpful during my stay. Rooms were also very clean, and there were lots of plugs on the nightstands and desk for charging electronics.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

WChai – Wow – 5 stars! Thank you for the review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your 2-week stay with us and that everyone was engaging and helpful during your business trip.

Maybe next visit will be for fun!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff were very nice, the room "applause" was perfect for my family of 4. Housekeeping was great. The free morning coffee was great. The boutique feel was a welcome change from the huge hotels. The only drawback for us was the location, we spent more time down by the wharf. I would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

“Applause” to your review – thank you for the amazing feedback! So glad that you like all the little changes that bring guests to our unique boutique.

See you and your friends soon -
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The amazing staff sets this hotel apart. The front desk, bell stand, concierge and management (Patricia) made our 5 night stay perfect. The Adagio is incredibly convenient. While at the outer limits of the Union Square area (and at the border of a less desirable area), we found great restaurants (suggested by hotel) and transportation at our footsteps. After a day of sightseeing, it really was like coming home. The hotel lobby is intimate, as is the entire hotel. Our room was not exceptionally large, but it worked. The fitness center was incredibly complete for a boutique hotel. I have only one critique. The bedding, mattresses and towels need to be cycled out. We found the bedding dingy and not very high end and the towels did not always appear clean. This change would really make this hotel feel more upscale. I would not hesitate staying here again. It was great.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank SJSOLOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hello SJSOLOM – thank you for the review! I’m so glad that all of our staff could make your trip great!

We’ll see you and your family again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed at the Adagio several times and enjoy the smaller feel compared to mega hotels. This time we enjoyed dinner in the small lounge restaurant. Even though I would rate the food 3.5 stars in quality our server (Taina) made the experience a five! She was very upbeat, attentive and went out of her way to accomodate us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyandMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you TobyandMadison – for the awesome 5-star review! We have already told Tiana of her amazing service – we agree that she’s Adagio Amazing!

Visit us soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose the Hotel Adagio based on recommendations from other travellers, and I have to say - we were not disappointed. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, the rooms were large and spacious, beautifully appointed and so comfortable. Location wise - for us it was perfect. Short stroll to Union Square, plenty of shopping, restaurants, attractions and close to the cable car line. We loved this hotel and if we return to San Fran in future - would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

TravelBug792014,
Thank you for the awesome 5-star review! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us – look forward to your next travel adventure in San Francisco!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We felt a bit ripped off booking here. The hotel website pictures look very modern, however on arrival it was clear that while the reception/common areas lived up to expectations but the rooms had been given at best a refresh of decor. We asked for a quiet room and ended up next to the lift shaft, we asked for a different room but there was none available until the second night, we were offered a different room on the second night but we thought we would give it another chance as only being there for 4 nights we wanted to just get on with enjoying San Francisco rather than hanging back to move all our unpacked items. We should have moved rooms as it only got worse and we hardly slept, we asked for a different room the next night but none now available, we were offered ear plugs but we had already tried that. The room was very dark and dingy, artex on ceiling, old mattress but it had been given a refresh. We loved San Francisco and union square is a great area but I'd strongly advise booking at fishermans wharf, you will also find it easier to find nice restaurants for dinner. Service varied depending on who you dealt with.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift. Check your room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorers4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Explorers4444,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and write a review.

I would love to speak to you regarding your stay with us and some of the things that you'd mentioned. If you would like to speak with us about your experience, please call me or my Front Office Manager at the hotel at 415.775.5000.

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
533 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
2,185 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $177 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing