We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #53 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Only downside a bit noisy in the morning hours, walls didn't seem very thick at times otherwise great hotel. Service was great, gym was great, hot coffee in the lobby, bar was relaxing, towels were soft and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Kris755,
Thank you so much for you feedback! We will remind the staff of their noise levels in the halls. I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy the amenities Hotel Adagio has to offer.

See you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    549
    158
    41
    26
See reviews for
265
450
43
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here several nights, I had not stayed at an autograph hotel before but am Platinum with Marriott so Ive seen a variety with their brand.
I expected a chic place and instead I felt it was a half hearted makeover of some prior hotel in an aging building. The fixtures and furnishings seemed tired, and even a little dingy. The bathroom smelled of must and the tiles and windows were not all that spic and span. The carpets in the halls were tired as well. I did appreciate being able to open the windows and the window fan.

Service wise I was underwhelming- I couldn't get a newspaper 2/4 days I was there by 830 they were gone, no umbrellas when it rained at least when I needed one. The initial room I was put in was on the noisy side as well. For Marriott elites you'll not get much extra perks in staying here, no lounge though they offer a token amount of points or breakfast at the restaurant.

This place was a miss for me, nothing overtly wrong but not at the level I expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear flipper95,
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We have gone through a renovation – I was sad to read that you found it less than desirable.
I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact us directly to provide us with further information on the location of your room, so that we may immediately follow up on the details described in your review. Thank you for bringing the newspaper issue to our attention – as we have been at capacity we can’t guarantee everyone a newspaper – so we will definitely update our order. We certainly hope that you will change your mind and return to Hotel Adagio. We want to win you back and WOW you on your next visit!

Please contact me or my Front Office Manager, Patricia, directly at the hotel 415.775.5000 to discuss the issues that you experienced.

Warmest Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've stayed here several times recently. The hotel is very nicely done. The check-in staff is always very gracious. Both the bell staff, and espcecially the restaurant staff in the morning for breakfast are a bit cold and aloof. I've noticed this every time I've stayed there recently. The restaurant staff for breakfast seem to feel like they drew the short straw in getting their jobs there. Amazingly quiet rooms because of full double windows. Quietest rooms in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBarry400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you EBarry400 for the feedback – we’ll make sure to light the fire in our staff! We want to make sure that they’re helpful, friendly and excited to see you each time! Glad we could make your stay quiet!

Looking forward to your next quiet get-a-way!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,681 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stay at a LOT of different Marriotts. I was excited to try out this one. Just a few blocks west of Union Square the location is fine, despite other reviews not in agreement. I'm not sure I'd venture too far south if I was staying with kids, but thats an SF issue, not the hotels.

The building is an old art deco building with tons of character. The hallways have curved exposed ceilings that give it a chic feel. The rooms are nicely redone with fresh paint, tile, carpet, and drapes. There are a few spots here and there (like the tub) that are still old, but it does give it more character.

The windows are double, at least in my room. Not double paned, but actually doubled. They must have added these at some point but it really keeps out the noise!

I did not use the bar or restaurant but the happy hour at the bar looked like fun. Lots of folks around. The concierge was very helpful.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and I'd stay again.

Room Tip: 16th is the top floor. Try and get a back corner room which will look out to Nob Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you lucycan for all of your feedback! We have done some really fun work to the hotel – it’s always great to hear when someone appreciates our unique boutique!

See you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice quiet rooms, great location, very clean. Staff was excellent. Valet was superb. Chisu is an Asian Goddess, very nice woman. I nominate her Employee Of The Month. Elevators worked great. Registration was easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello Jerry C – 5-star reviews make the staff jump for joy! Thanks for the great feedback – Chisu will be happy to hear that she made another guest extremely happy with their stay! Looking forward to your next visit.

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is excellent. Amenities are fabulous. The central location and proximity to good restaurents and Union Square was fantastic. The staff was friendly. The bar was nice. The concierge was really helpful in telling me how to take a tour of San Francisco.

Room Tip: The hotel was conservative on soap. One cube on the start day was it. Room was clean but a microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for the great 4-star review - - - we love hearing how great we are! Visit again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The service was amazing. The room was large and clean. They promote as two blocks from union square but it's really 5, but it's an easy walk. The $49/night valet parking seemed excessive. Overall good experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneofJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear JaneofJP,
Thank you for the review – we’re always glad to hear that guests enjoy our service and hotel. We are three stop lights from Powell Street and Union Square shopping/activities starts two stop lights from us. We’re located in a great location for both food and other fun San Francisco activities.

See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing