We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart, quiet, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #56 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

excellent small hotel. staff makes you feel very welcome. hotel bar and food is not to be ignored - excellent Breakfast also very good in the green room. Don't miss the welcoming water - always done in an inventive way and very refreshing



  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the 5-star review - we love our “raving” fans!

Come back again soon – the waters always refreshing…

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our first stay at the Adagio. It's a nice boutique hotel addition to the Marriott family. Something different. I especially liked the corner room we had (#1204). Not sure if this was an upgrade beacuse I'm an Elite member. I should have asked. A real bonus was the fact that this room had a window in the bathroom. Nothing like natural light in the morning. The twelfth floor is very quiet. Great blackout curtains. The only issue was with the breakfast room on Sunday morning. They were understaffed and we had to wait about 15 minutes for a table even though there were some available, but nobody was cleaning them. They eventually had to get a couple of people from the front desk. I believe one was the manager and she kindly offered us a smoothie while we waiting for service. The staff were courteous, but just outnumbered. The food was good, however. We didn't get a chance to grab a drink at Mortimers, but it looked very nice. Short walk to Union square. Nice valet parkers. I understand some had trouble with parking, but as with our Sunday morning breakfast issue, timing is everything.

Room Tip: Corners rooms have windows in the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photos4mls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear photos4mls,
Thank you so very much for your warm and welcoming review of our beautiful boutique property. We at the Hotel Adagio pride ourselves on the unique nature that sets us apart from other Marriott properties.

Your comments on breakfast and valet service has been very helpful and appreciated. Since your review was posted we added staff and supervisors to accommodate the guest volume for shorthanded departments on our bustling weekends. The service from our crafty mixologist bartenders at The Mortimer is not to be missed so we would love for you to visit on your next trip.

We look forward to "Wowing" you on you next visit to this beautiful city by the bay.

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good clean rooms and good service. The sink was blocked on the 1st day and they got it fixed the same day when I called in. Clean rooms and convenient to the Bart on Powell street which was like a 3 block walk. Some good restaurants and bars are close by that was also convenient. The hotel bar was pretty good with the selection.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Zac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Jim_Zac66,
Thanks for the 5-star review! We’re very glad to have had everything that you wanted/needed just within steps of our hotel.

See you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are many boutique hotels in the Union Square area of SF. Many of them seem nice and big but run down. Adagio provides a modern and very updated experience without losing its characters. The only thing I will rant about is hotels in America should provide fast and free internet access already. Motels will do it and why not a hotel that you pay nearly $200 for?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya_Hao_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks Maya_Hao_Li, we’re glad that we worked for you!

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall the experience was very good. From dropping the car to getting it back this morning. there were only a few details that I list here. The faucet in the shower is difficult to open at first. It is not obvious which direction to turn it and the labels 'hot" and "cold" seem reverse. We had to use the safe and the way it is installed, close to the floor and partially behind the door frame make it difficult to access. For one, the door can only be open partially (about 30o) and if it is enough for small items, it becomes frustrating for a larger object such a laptop. The last item which gave us some trouble is the heating/cooling control. I know taht it is not you product and cannot blame you for it but the operation is not obvious at first, especially that it is installed in a corner with a piece of furniture and a big lamp in front of it. but these are details and we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Cecile N,
Thank you for the 4-star review! We will definitely look into the maintenance concerns that you mentioned and I believe have already been remedied.

We look forward to you coming back again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent last week at the Hotel Adagio in San Francisco's Union Square district. What a beautiful boutique hotel- near everything you'd want for a 3-4 day stay in S.F. ! We were only steps away world-class shopping, great dining, and the cable cars! Easy walk to Chinatown, Nob Hill, and even the North Beach area. It was really a perfect fit for our family of 5. Our 2 rooms were spacious, well-appointed, and extremely clean and comfortable. Great views from our 11th floor bay window!The front desk staff and concierge staff were fantastic- friendly and very helpful and quite well versed about the area. They gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Without question, I would absolutely stay here again and again on my next trips to San Francisco! We loved it!!! Thank you, Hotel Adagio!

Room Tip: Bay window (corner) room was quite spacious and has natural light from 2 sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeddyP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear TeddyP23,
Thank you; we were absolutely honored to accommodate you and your lovely family here in San Francisco. Your humbling five star review of our hotel is a credit to our first class staff and management teams. Our central location continues to intrigue business travelers and tourists alike and is conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco just steps away from Union Square. With world class shopping, dining and entertainment at your fingertips it is no wonder your experience will not soon be forgotten. Your gracious comments about our newly renovated guest rooms are highly prized and appreciated. We look forward to hosting your next visit to San Francisco with open arms.

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed in the Union Square area of San Francisco many times. We often choose hotels based on what deal is available at the time.We chose the Hotel Adagio based on reviews and location. The hotel is lovely and elegant. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean and refurbished. The location is one block farther than we would have wanted, but the walk was worth it. The happy hour at the hotel bar was good and the staff was great. There is even Starbucks coffee and teas available for free in the lobby as well as flavored water--a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level for a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear CaliforniaLeslie,
We love to make raving fans of our hotel = thank you for the 5 stars. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we made it well worth that extra block walk! As you stated, our rooms are on average some of the biggest in the city, we’re glad you like the updated look.

We look forward to your next trip = we’ll keep the water fresh and flowing ready for your arrival!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
603 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,666 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $194 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing