We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Long Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #44 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Long Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Adagio is a very nice small property in the heart of San Fran. It is centrally located: a short walk to Union Sq. and a long walk to the wharf, although the many homeless people nearby the hotel detract to its location--but this is true of any San Fran hotel in the heart of downtown. As a Plat member I got an 'upgraded' to a higher floor, supposedly bigger room. The room view was nice, and even though the hotel is on a busy street, I don't have any complaints as far as outside noise, it was rather surprisingly quiet (14th floor). The room is nicely appointed, although the bathroom was a bit standard and small. The food from the hotel was excellent. Both breakfast and dinner were far better than I expected.
As far as service, the front desk was helpful giving ideas for activities, but fell a bit short actually booking reservations, etc. The staff at the breakfast area, while very attentive, seemed a bit unorganized.

Room Tip: Trry to get a high-corner floor for a good view without much noise.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    518
    140
    36
    21
See reviews for
247
414
36
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by nice and welcoming staff members upon arrival. Updated decor, nice and modern coloring scheme throughout the property. The lobby is a little cram but tidy. The room is quiet spacious for San Francisco standard. Dust was everywhere due to the construction work that was going during my stay. I would recommend this hotel... minus the dust :)

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Club2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Club2013,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and tolerating the dust in some of the common areas while we completed a few improvements. We are very happy that our comfortable and spacious accommodations suited you nicely, as well as our welcoming staff. Your recommendation of Hotel Adagio means the world to us. We hope to see you on your return to San Francisco.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked Hotel Adagio for a recent work visit to San Francisco. Room was nicely renovated and easily the biggest I've had in San Francisco for the price. They have done a good job taking an old hotel and modernizing. Breakfast in Green Room and room service dinner were fine.

A letter from GM was in the room asking to advise them of anything that could be done for a 10 star stay. I provided the front desk with a list of two repairs the next morning that were completed by the time I returned - great! The problem was that the front desk didn't even know guests were receiving the letter and seemed confused when I showed it and the repair items. Desk also didn't realize that the elevator was down for maintenance that evening. When I said that I will be checking out during the down time - from the seventh floor - front desk said "Well you'll start the day with some good exercise then." No offer for staff to help with my bags down six flights of stairs in the early morning for a female guest traveling alone. No matter how nice the room or hotel location, it is these little things that make the difference.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the inner courtyard and was quiet the first night but loud the second with a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izengolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear lzengolf,

First and foremost, I apologize that your experience lacked the professional and efficient service that we are known for. I immediately addressed the details described in your review with our front desk staff, which included a thorough review of the process to ensure that each staff member is updated and informed of current events when beginning their shift. The little things absolutely make the difference, and we regret that we missed our mark on this occasion. Thank you for your patience and understanding. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again. We are anxious to serve you with the attention to detail that you should expect from us.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice and the hotel room was great but there were a lot of noises once you got in the room. At 4 am I could hear someone above our room going to the bathroom and a lot of noise going through the pipes. I'm not sure if it was just our room but it appeared as if then didn't put in enough insulation when they remodeled. Unfortunately we won't be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dosh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear dosh777,

Please accept our sincere apology. It is extremely disappointing for us to learn that your stay was disrupted by noise, and we regret not having the opportunity to make things right while you were still our guest. We would greatly appreciate it if you could possibly contact our hotel to provide us with further details on the location of your room, etc. so that we may immediately follow up on the details described in your review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly hope that you will change your mind and return to Hotel Adagio, as it would certainly be a pleasure to deliver the enjoyable overall stay that you deserve.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a family of three in June 2013 in order to "do" San Francisco. Being near Union Square it's a good location for transport and there are a good number of diners nearby as well as convenience stores.

The room we had was a decent size and very nicely decorated. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There's 24 hour free tea and coffee in the lobby and Wifi throughout.

We had a great time in San Francisco and the Hotel Adagio played a good a big part in that. No hesitation in recommending this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much, MMILLEN! You high 5 star review and high recommendation mean the world to our entire staff! It was our sincere pleasure to be a part of your family's visit to San Francisco. We appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed Hotel Adagio and all that we have to offer. We hope that you and your family decide to plan a trip back to the states very soon! Again, thank you.

Best,
MIchael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

These must be the largest rooms in downtown SF. It's a nice, modern, boutique hotel, and you can get reasonable rates for downtown. Great bar and restaurant next to lobby. The location is convenient to Union Square businesses and restaurants, though also very "convenient" to the Tenderloin area, but you can avoid that easily.

Would stay here again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Parking is valet only (around $50/night), but there's a lot next door for $25/night if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrencemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear lawrencemon,

Yes, indeed, we do have spacious, modern rooms and we are pleased that you were so comfortable! Thank you for mentioning our reasonable rates. Taking into consideration that we are a newly remodeled hotel and our close proximity to all of the San Francisco excitement, our rates are definitely competitive. It's great to know that you would stay with us again on your next visit to our area. We can't wait to have you back! Thank you very much for your review.

Kindest Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I spent 10 nights here on a business trip.

The room was clean, the staff friendly and food solid.

Definitely a solid boutique hotel.

The only real caveat is its on the border of the tenderloin (which can be a little sketchy).

I would have also preferred some weights in the gym but no biggie.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent 10 night stay with us, Ryan M. We are very happy to receive your excellent remarks on our accommodations, service and food. Your suggestions are also appreciated and very important to us, as our guests' feedback is reviewed and discussed in management meetings on a regular basis. We are honored to be named your solid boutique hotel in San Francisco and look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing