We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel In An Amazing City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #53 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In An Amazing City”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of June, the hotel bar/lobby looks fresh and clean and the staff are really friendly. The gym is small but okay for a small work out. I had a double double room which was in very good new condition with comfortable beds. The only draw back was no free wifi and no ipod doc station. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Market street or Union Square. I would defo stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SJP1980,

We love hearing you would definitely stay at Hotel Adagio again! Thank you for noting that you enjoyed our new, fresh and sophisticated new look throughout our hotel. Please know for your next stay that we do have auxiliary cords available for you to hook up to our premium sound system in your room. Certain room types have the actual docking system available, however, all of our rooms have an outlet where you can use an auxiliary cord to get plugged in. You are absolutely right; San Francisco is, indeed, absolutely amazing! We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of all that we have to offer.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    544
    155
    41
    25
See reviews for
262
443
41
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gesaati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent 10 days at the Adagio, and it was really a great experience. The service was fantastic, the food provided at the restaurant was good.

The only things I didn't like was the fact that the bathroom fan and light were connected - it was noisy and a pain to have on all the time. Also the room lighting was very dim both in the room and in the bathroom - as a girl, I took issue with this b/c it made it really hard to put make-up on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gesaati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear gesaati,

Thank you for your 10 day stay at Hotel Adagio! We love hearing that it was a great experience and appreciate your time in sharing this with other TripAdvisor travelers. We enjoy serving our guests and receiving your fantastic comments on our level of service is very rewarding and encouraging. Your suggestions on the lighting in your room are also appreciated and taken seriously. Please keep in mind for your next stay that we are at your service at all times during your stay and welcome any opportunity to ensure your comfort. it would have been our pleasure to provide additional lighting for you to apply cosmetics. Thank you for your review. We will look forward to accommodating you on your future business and leisure visits to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This little hidden gem of a hotel is a great spot for lodging in the Union Square area. Recently refurbished, it's got character and style. We checked in late after traveling from Hawaii and were upgraded to a fantastic suite on the top floor (thanks Lonnie!), which also included an enormous rooftop balcony with a fabulous view of the city. Bathroom was a little small and oddly shaped (obviously, there's only so much you can do when remodeling an older property), but was nicely appointed and served it's purpose. The staff was consistently great and the valet parking was a breeze. San Francisco is a tight little town, with lots of one way streets and plenty of traffic at times, but the Adagio fits in well, with relatively easy access to the theatre district, freeways and bridges, and fairly direct access to the outer neighborhoods. Because of it's walking distance to Union Square and that shopping district, this is an excellent little spot for a weekend getaway or business trip near downtown.

Room Tip: By all means, ask for the penthouse suite - it's fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear nedleigh,

Thank you so much for you wonderful remarks; we truly appreciate them. We are very fortunate to have amazing views of the city and the luxurious comforts of our multi million dollar renovation! It was our pleasure to upgrade you and we're thrilled that your nice appointed suite was to your liking. Thank you for sharing how much you also enjoyed our consistently great customer service and fantastic location! We hope you will return soon to enjoy yet another excellent stay soon.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I (and another business colleague) booked rooms here for one night for a business trip. We booked about 7 or 8 days in advance. OK rate, not cheap though. When we arrived at about 5:30 PM, we were both walked to another hotel because they were 'overbooked.' They were very nice about it and I have no complaints about the hotel they sent us too, but if it had been midnite, I would have not been as congenial about the situation. I'm guessing we were picked because it was a one night stay and neither of us has status with Marriott.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jh183116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear jh183116,

We are very sorry and hope you will accept our apology for the inconvenience. Our front desk is trained to make every attempt to contact a guest before they arrive if a situation such as this ever occurs. We will review our practices accordingly. This is absolutely not the service we strive to provide here at Hotel Adagio. We appreciate your patience and understanding. Your business is very important to us and we regret not having the pleasure of accommodating you. We do hope that you will decide to return, as we would truly enjoy impressing you and providing the best experience San Francisco has to offer.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

When booking the hotel through Marriott.com, I held the belief that the Adagio was part of Marriott properties, and didn't realize until I checked in that this was not the case. Had a large room, but the bed was so hard, that both my husband and I woke up with sore backs both mornings. The lobby area had totally been renovated and it looked chic and up to date. The staff was friendly, but housekeeping was hit and miss! I would probably stay closer to Fisherman's Wharf on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mawindle,

Thank you for staying with us. Please know that we are, indeed, the newest member of Marriott’s Autograph Collection. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the housekeeping oversight you experienced and apologize for this inconvenience, as the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel. It is our hope that all that you did enjoy at Hotel Adagio will bring you back to give us the opportunity to have you as our guest again. It would be a pleasure to provide you with the quality of stay that you deserve and should expect from us. Thank you for taking the time to complete the review on our property.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for four nights. It was booked through Virgin Holidays and proved to be a good choice. The hotel has recently gone through a modernisation programme and the large rooms have been brought up to date. The reception staff were very efficient and has us checked in within a couple of minutes. The room is well decorated with a settee down one side and all the usual modern amenities. However the landings do look a little dismal as they have been painted a light brown colour and it doesn't do the hotel any favours, but the rooms themselves are bright and welcoming. On the ground floor there is a small breakfast area and behind that an area where free tea and coffee is availed to guests. A very nice touch. There is also chilled fruit flavoured water available to the right of the reception desk.
The hotel has a small bar to the right of reception and this was busy most nights. They also served 'light bites' in here in an evening which proved very popular.
Before we started the holiday we had taken out a Thomas Cook Cash Passport, where you could load Dollars onto a credit type card. We used this card to guarantee any extra payments at the hotel. Big mistake. We ended up not having a bill at the end of our stay but it has taken over three weeks for the deposit taken by the hotel to be refunded, not because of the hotel but because of Thomas Cooks inefficient system. Michael Page the General Manager of the hotel could not have been more helpful as our journey around California continued in trying to help us to get Thomas Cook to refund the $100 the hotel had taken as a deposit. The hotel had done what they should have done on the day we departed so the help we received from Michael in providing information to Thomas Cook was invaluable. He couldn't have done more. The lesson learned here is don't use a Thomas Cook Cash Passport as a hotel credit guarantee card while away. The $100 dollars was finally refunded after we had returned to the UK. Not a lot of use to us now!
The Adagio is in a great location and is only a five minute walk from Union Square. The area my look a little dubious at night the first time you step out, but we experienced no problems at all and felt very safe walking around the streets. San Francisco has a very large homeless problem (I thought London was bad till I went here) but we never felt threatened by these people begging or sleeping on the street. In fact if you say no to them politely, most will say 'have a nice day'.
This is a hotel were the level of service was exceptional with large comfortable rooms. I will be back to San Francisco and will definitely be staying at the Adagio

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear PeterMirfield,

Thank you for your 4 night stay at Hotel Adagio! Your extensive review on all that you enjoyed with us will certainly be helpful to other TripAdvisor travelers. We appreciate you providing your insight on our comfortable accommodations and exceptional level of customer service. It was my pleasure to personally serve you and handle the situation described in your review. Your business and guest loyalty is extremely important to us. We enjoyed having you and your wife as our guests and look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you kindly for your great review.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Adagio on a business trip as this was recommended by my company. The hotel was very disappointing. First problem was that they could not get my credit card working - The reason was that the hotel uses too old system that is no longer accepted by MasterCard - beware this! Next problem was the room. It was spacious for sure but it was filthy and facing directly the air conditioning system. The noise was terrible and it was impossible to sleep without earplugs. The quality of service was poor. Once they did not clean my room and change towels at all and another time the cleaner had left a dirty rug on the desk. Can you call this a five star hotel? The hotel is located in the first blocks of Tenderloin slum area and whenever you go out there are homeless people begging and asking for money. Not very nice if you go out alone after dark. I highly recommend avoiding this place. There are much better hotels in the financial district.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtherOpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear OtherOpt,

We apologize for falling short of delivering the level of quality that you are accustomed to and should expect from us. It is very disappointing for us to learn of your experience, and we regret not having the opportunity to improve your level of comfort and make it right. Be assured that your feedback is taken seriously and has been addressed with our staff, as your input is incredibly important to us. Also, please know that our location is in a safe area and the locals that you may have come across are not unlike what you will find in the majority of the San Francisco area. Again, we apologize for failing to impress you and hope you will reconsider returning to enjoy an improved stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 227 in San Francisco
1,932 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing