We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #57 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a cute boutique hotel, super modern fixtures and great amenities. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable ( particularly Sam and Orlando) about good places to eat/ visit while in San Francisco. The location of Hotel Adagio was central to shopping and many other attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonicaChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear MonicaChanel,

Thank you for your 5 star rating and review on your excellent experience at Hotel Adagio! We are very happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated San Francisco hotel and our incredible location. Our staff is thrilled to receive your positive comments on our helpful and knowledgeable customer service. It is extremely rewarding for us to hear when our guests thoroughly enjoy staying with us. We look forward to earning another 5 star review on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best,
MIchael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have Marriott Gold status and so figured I'd try this new addition to their downtown hotels, rather than go to a more regular haunt. Unfortunately on arrival, there was no valet and we were left to go in to reception and find them ourselves.

There's clearly been some investment in to the hotel with new furniture and an impressive lobby. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a corner room (thank you) which gave a me a good amount of room with a small seating area and a decent desk.

Whilst the room was fine, the bathroom felt grungy - albeit clean. Room service took 30minutes for breakfast when they said 15 and I had a similar issue to a previous reviewer with the $20 credit being only partially applied to my breakfast.

I had high hopes of enjoying a little luxury, but sadly I'll have to find somewhere else to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsmart101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Travelsmart101,

We appreciate your time in providing us with your insight on your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced and our oversight in applying the correct amount of credit from your coupon. We have resolved the miscommunication with the members of our staff to ensure that this does not happen again. Your valued feedback is appreciated as we rely on your insight to inform us of our successes and where consideration for improvements should be made. Again, please accept our apologies for failing to deliver the luxurious, comfortable experience you deserve and should expect from our hotel. Your continued Marriott loyalty is greatly appreciated.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We purchased a night at the Hotel Adagio thru Groupon. We were looking for a Boutique Hotel near Union Square. We didn't know anything about this hotel, but the Trip Advisor ratings were good. From the minute we walked in the door, we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. The lobby was inviting and spotless. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Kim Ferguson for her special assistance.

Our corner room, located on the the 11th floor was spacious and very comfortable and quiet. We had fabulous views of the skyline as well. This hotel has been renovated recently and the attention to every detail was evident. They offer a well equipped fitness center and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. What more could we want?.......Complimentary WIFI. WIFI was available for a daily fee, which really surprised us.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, amenities and incredible staff. When we return to San Francisco, we hope it will be to stay at the Adagio again.

Room Tip: We loved our 11th floor corner room with great city views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desertdweller2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Desertdweller2877,

What a pure delight and honor to be names your gem in the heart of San Francisco! It was our extreme pleasure to provide you with our newly renovated accommodations and incredible customer service. It is wonderful to hear that you felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment you walked through our doors. Thank you for your high recommendation of our San Francisco hotel! We are thrilled that you will be returning to stay at Hotel Adagio on your next visit to our amazing city!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a lovely stay. Yes there are homeless people but in San Fran this is not unusual. A 4 min walk to union sq the hotel is on the very outskirts of the tenderloin - most central locations are close to the homeless (where money is!). The room was cleaned and decorated to a high standard. The housekeeping were very efficient (I left notes asking for shower cap etc and when we retuned it was there). In the lobby there is fresh water - with mint&cucumber or strawberry infusion etc, a nice added touch. The Mortimer bar is lovely to relax in and the food we had delicious. We would definitely stay here again.
The only downfall is the wifi - $9.95 (plus tax) per day - which is ridiculous when you can get it free a few doors down in a cafe. Our wifi didn't work the second day so we were refunded but still grudged paying for wifi on the days we had it. Travelling from the uk we needed wifi as roaming cost were extortionate so payed for wifi!! our 4* rating would have been 5* if the wifi was free and good strength. Good stay however!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MScott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear MScott18,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio during your recent visit to the U.S. It is quite thrilling for our entire staff to receive your wonderful compliments on our hotel, services and location. Also, thank you for your valued suggestions, as we rely on your input to inform us of our successes as well as areas where improvements should be considered. We are very excited that you would definitely stay with us again, and hope that it will be very soon!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a perfect place to stay for a trip to San Francisco, the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Union Square and therefor easy excess to the rest of the city making it perfect for a sightseeing trip. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very modern and smart. The staff could not do enough for you both on arrival and throughout the rest of our stay. The room was furnished beautifully and the bed very comfortable. The only slight down side was the view from the window but we spent so much time seeing the city this really didn't matter. I would 100% recommend this hotel for your stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Jacob N,

Hotel Adagio truly is the perfect place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your experience at our newly renovated hotel. Your 5 star rating and high recommendation are very much appreciated by our staff. We enjoy doing all that we can to ensure that our guests enjoy each and every moment of their experience with us. We want you as our loyal guest and will anxiously await the opportunity to earn yet another 5 star rating on your return visit.

With Much Appreciation,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hotel Adagio. We were in town for a business conference and the location was very convenient, near Union Square and close to the Moscone Center. The holtel was newly renovated, but our room was not quite ready. First, the staff were very friendly; the beds were comfortable; we appreciated the coffee service in the lobby. But our room was very dusty; there was a dirty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain left over from the previous guest; the vent over the bathroom sink was missing, so there was a hole in the ceiling over the sink; and the closet door was stuck and couldn't move. We also hated that they charged for WiFi and internet access via ethernet!! I think this comes from being a faux boutique, Hotel Adagio belongs to Marriott. The housekeeping staff was very stingy with soap and towels, by our last day we were down to a sliver of soap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Geary
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacyclist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear vacyclist27,

We are very disappointed to hear that we failed provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We have immediately followed up on your comments to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for completing the review and bringing these details to our attention. On your next visit to our area, we hope you will decide to stay with us again and give us an opportunity to deliver the impressive experience that our loyal guests have come to enjoy.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I went to SF to see an art exhibit. There were four of us, we had two rooms. Before this stay none of us had heard of the hotel, but decided to take a chance after reading reviews. We had a great stay!! The rooms are lovely and large. The staff is outstanding. We liked the location as it is close to many sites and transportation. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor front and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear fish555,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us after reading reviews on Hotel Adagio. It was our extreme pleasure to pleasantly surprise you with brand new, spacious accommodations, outstanding service and an amazing San Francisco location! Your 5 star rating on your experience and high recommendation means the world to us. We will look forward to delivering another fabulous experience on your return visit.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,504 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $200 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing