We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveler rating
680
693
226
58
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
693
226
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaremarriott propertiesgeary streetnice boutique hoteltenderloin districthomeless peoplefew blockscorner roomhotel barbreakfast roomfront desk stafffree coffeevalet parkingceiling fanstreet noiselobbysf
Filter
Updating list...
1,570 - 1,575 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We purchased a night at the Hotel Adagio thru Groupon. We were looking for a Boutique Hotel near Union Square. We didn't know anything about this hotel, but the Trip Advisor ratings were good. From the minute we walked in the door, we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. The lobby was inviting and spotless. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Kim Ferguson for her special assistance.

Our corner room, located on the the 11th floor was spacious and very comfortable and quiet. We had fabulous views of the skyline as well. This hotel has been renovated recently and the attention to every detail was evident. They offer a well equipped fitness center and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. What more could we want?.......Complimentary WIFI. WIFI was available for a daily fee, which really surprised us.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, amenities and incredible staff. When we return to San Francisco, we hope it will be to stay at the Adagio again.

Room Tip: We loved our 11th floor corner room with great city views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desertdweller2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Desertdweller2877,

What a pure delight and honor to be names your gem in the heart of San Francisco! It was our extreme pleasure to provide you with our newly renovated accommodations and incredible customer service. It is wonderful to hear that you felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment you walked through our doors. Thank you for your high recommendation of our San Francisco hotel! We are thrilled that you will be returning to stay at Hotel Adagio on your next visit to our amazing city!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a lovely stay. Yes there are homeless people but in San Fran this is not unusual. A 4 min walk to union sq the hotel is on the very outskirts of the tenderloin - most central locations are close to the homeless (where money is!). The room was cleaned and decorated to a high standard. The housekeeping were very efficient (I left notes asking for shower cap etc and when we retuned it was there). In the lobby there is fresh water - with mint&cucumber or strawberry infusion etc, a nice added touch. The Mortimer bar is lovely to relax in and the food we had delicious. We would definitely stay here again.
The only downfall is the wifi - $9.95 (plus tax) per day - which is ridiculous when you can get it free a few doors down in a cafe. Our wifi didn't work the second day so we were refunded but still grudged paying for wifi on the days we had it. Travelling from the uk we needed wifi as roaming cost were extortionate so payed for wifi!! our 4* rating would have been 5* if the wifi was free and good strength. Good stay however!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MScott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear MScott18,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio during your recent visit to the U.S. It is quite thrilling for our entire staff to receive your wonderful compliments on our hotel, services and location. Also, thank you for your valued suggestions, as we rely on your input to inform us of our successes as well as areas where improvements should be considered. We are very excited that you would definitely stay with us again, and hope that it will be very soon!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a perfect place to stay for a trip to San Francisco, the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Union Square and therefor easy excess to the rest of the city making it perfect for a sightseeing trip. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very modern and smart. The staff could not do enough for you both on arrival and throughout the rest of our stay. The room was furnished beautifully and the bed very comfortable. The only slight down side was the view from the window but we spent so much time seeing the city this really didn't matter. I would 100% recommend this hotel for your stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Jacob N,

Hotel Adagio truly is the perfect place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your experience at our newly renovated hotel. Your 5 star rating and high recommendation are very much appreciated by our staff. We enjoy doing all that we can to ensure that our guests enjoy each and every moment of their experience with us. We want you as our loyal guest and will anxiously await the opportunity to earn yet another 5 star rating on your return visit.

With Much Appreciation,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hotel Adagio. We were in town for a business conference and the location was very convenient, near Union Square and close to the Moscone Center. The holtel was newly renovated, but our room was not quite ready. First, the staff were very friendly; the beds were comfortable; we appreciated the coffee service in the lobby. But our room was very dusty; there was a dirty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain left over from the previous guest; the vent over the bathroom sink was missing, so there was a hole in the ceiling over the sink; and the closet door was stuck and couldn't move. We also hated that they charged for WiFi and internet access via ethernet!! I think this comes from being a faux boutique, Hotel Adagio belongs to Marriott. The housekeeping staff was very stingy with soap and towels, by our last day we were down to a sliver of soap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Geary
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacyclist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear vacyclist27,

We are very disappointed to hear that we failed provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We have immediately followed up on your comments to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for completing the review and bringing these details to our attention. On your next visit to our area, we hope you will decide to stay with us again and give us an opportunity to deliver the impressive experience that our loyal guests have come to enjoy.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I went to SF to see an art exhibit. There were four of us, we had two rooms. Before this stay none of us had heard of the hotel, but decided to take a chance after reading reviews. We had a great stay!! The rooms are lovely and large. The staff is outstanding. We liked the location as it is close to many sites and transportation. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor front and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear fish555,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us after reading reviews on Hotel Adagio. It was our extreme pleasure to pleasantly surprise you with brand new, spacious accommodations, outstanding service and an amazing San Francisco location! Your 5 star rating on your experience and high recommendation means the world to us. We will look forward to delivering another fabulous experience on your return visit.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews