We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,700)
Filter reviews
1,700 results
Traveler rating
680
693
225
58
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
693
225
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaremarriott propertiesgeary streetnice boutique hoteltenderloin districthomeless peoplefew blockscorner roomhotel barbreakfast roomfront desk stafffree coffeevalet parkingceiling fanstreet noiselobbysf
Filter
Updating list...
1,571 - 1,576 of 1,700 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a perfect place to stay for a trip to San Francisco, the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Union Square and therefor easy excess to the rest of the city making it perfect for a sightseeing trip. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very modern and smart. The staff could not do enough for you both on arrival and throughout the rest of our stay. The room was furnished beautifully and the bed very comfortable. The only slight down side was the view from the window but we spent so much time seeing the city this really didn't matter. I would 100% recommend this hotel for your stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Jacob N,

Hotel Adagio truly is the perfect place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your experience at our newly renovated hotel. Your 5 star rating and high recommendation are very much appreciated by our staff. We enjoy doing all that we can to ensure that our guests enjoy each and every moment of their experience with us. We want you as our loyal guest and will anxiously await the opportunity to earn yet another 5 star rating on your return visit.

With Much Appreciation,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hotel Adagio. We were in town for a business conference and the location was very convenient, near Union Square and close to the Moscone Center. The holtel was newly renovated, but our room was not quite ready. First, the staff were very friendly; the beds were comfortable; we appreciated the coffee service in the lobby. But our room was very dusty; there was a dirty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain left over from the previous guest; the vent over the bathroom sink was missing, so there was a hole in the ceiling over the sink; and the closet door was stuck and couldn't move. We also hated that they charged for WiFi and internet access via ethernet!! I think this comes from being a faux boutique, Hotel Adagio belongs to Marriott. The housekeeping staff was very stingy with soap and towels, by our last day we were down to a sliver of soap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Geary
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacyclist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear vacyclist27,

We are very disappointed to hear that we failed provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We have immediately followed up on your comments to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for completing the review and bringing these details to our attention. On your next visit to our area, we hope you will decide to stay with us again and give us an opportunity to deliver the impressive experience that our loyal guests have come to enjoy.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I went to SF to see an art exhibit. There were four of us, we had two rooms. Before this stay none of us had heard of the hotel, but decided to take a chance after reading reviews. We had a great stay!! The rooms are lovely and large. The staff is outstanding. We liked the location as it is close to many sites and transportation. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor front and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear fish555,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us after reading reviews on Hotel Adagio. It was our extreme pleasure to pleasantly surprise you with brand new, spacious accommodations, outstanding service and an amazing San Francisco location! Your 5 star rating on your experience and high recommendation means the world to us. We will look forward to delivering another fabulous experience on your return visit.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I really don't know how you could write a bad review for the hotel adagio. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest. Love the location very close to union square where you have everything food shopping bars the Bart station cable cars. The view from our room was great. Did not hear any of the street noise, rooms were perfect. The one small issue the man at the front desk seemed not to know what was going on. His co worker had to ask him to take care of us because we were standing there got awhile just to check in, she was busy checking another person in, then we he tried to check us in he did it wrong and had to ask her what was going on. She took great care of us and in it sure if he was training but all in all we has a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyme589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Luckyme589,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Adagio to the fullest! Thank you for providing us with your very important insight on your experience. We are thrilled that our accommodations were perfect! Your comments on the delay you experienced at our front desk are appreciated, as we have immediately followed up to investigate the details to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for choosing to make us a part of your visit to San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would have given this hotel a better score, but I really dislike the fact that they charge for WiFi (which didn't really work that well anyway). Please wake up and give free WiFi to your guests!

Other than that, we liked this hotel quite much. The service is good and the rooms look cool. All newly renovated and feels nice and fresh. We also thought the location was convenient. The neighborhood isn't as bad as some reviews claim it to be.

Close by you will find two great bars, Rye for awesome cocktails and Jasper's for great beer and a bite to eat.

Free the WiFi and I will have no problem recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear flowerpie,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your insight on your recent experience at Hotel Adagio, and are pleased that you enjoyed the nice and fresh atmosphere of our newly renovated property. Thank you for your valued input on our amenities, as your suggestions are extremely important to us in our goal to always deliver the very best experience our guests can enjoy. We appreciate your patronage and want you as our loyal guest. It is our hope that you will return to see us again on your next visit to our area.

Kind Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews