We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,699)
Filter reviews
1,700 results
Traveler rating
680
693
226
58
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
693
226
58
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaremarriott propertiesgeary streetnice boutique hoteltenderloin districthomeless peoplefew blockscorner roomhotel barbreakfast roomfront desk stafffree coffeevalet parkingceiling fanstreet noiselobbysf
Filter
Updating list...
1,573 - 1,578 of 1,700 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I went to SF to see an art exhibit. There were four of us, we had two rooms. Before this stay none of us had heard of the hotel, but decided to take a chance after reading reviews. We had a great stay!! The rooms are lovely and large. The staff is outstanding. We liked the location as it is close to many sites and transportation. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor front and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear fish555,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us after reading reviews on Hotel Adagio. It was our extreme pleasure to pleasantly surprise you with brand new, spacious accommodations, outstanding service and an amazing San Francisco location! Your 5 star rating on your experience and high recommendation means the world to us. We will look forward to delivering another fabulous experience on your return visit.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I really don't know how you could write a bad review for the hotel adagio. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest. Love the location very close to union square where you have everything food shopping bars the Bart station cable cars. The view from our room was great. Did not hear any of the street noise, rooms were perfect. The one small issue the man at the front desk seemed not to know what was going on. His co worker had to ask him to take care of us because we were standing there got awhile just to check in, she was busy checking another person in, then we he tried to check us in he did it wrong and had to ask her what was going on. She took great care of us and in it sure if he was training but all in all we has a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyme589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Luckyme589,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Adagio to the fullest! Thank you for providing us with your very important insight on your experience. We are thrilled that our accommodations were perfect! Your comments on the delay you experienced at our front desk are appreciated, as we have immediately followed up to investigate the details to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for choosing to make us a part of your visit to San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would have given this hotel a better score, but I really dislike the fact that they charge for WiFi (which didn't really work that well anyway). Please wake up and give free WiFi to your guests!

Other than that, we liked this hotel quite much. The service is good and the rooms look cool. All newly renovated and feels nice and fresh. We also thought the location was convenient. The neighborhood isn't as bad as some reviews claim it to be.

Close by you will find two great bars, Rye for awesome cocktails and Jasper's for great beer and a bite to eat.

Free the WiFi and I will have no problem recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear flowerpie,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your insight on your recent experience at Hotel Adagio, and are pleased that you enjoyed the nice and fresh atmosphere of our newly renovated property. Thank you for your valued input on our amenities, as your suggestions are extremely important to us in our goal to always deliver the very best experience our guests can enjoy. We appreciate your patronage and want you as our loyal guest. It is our hope that you will return to see us again on your next visit to our area.

Kind Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

No major problems, just a lower score since the neighborhood location is in a somewhat lower class area. Close to union square where you can shop and eat all you want. If you want to catch the cable car it's located a quick 3 min walk to powell and market street!

Hotel room-great beds, wonderful sheets and soft towels! Rooms were super clean and when asked for extra towels they delivered promptly!

Service-average. I did need assistance with a cab and Colin, the concierge, did a fabulous job and was very helpful with other recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetLove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear SunsetLove10,

Thank you for rating and reviewing our San Francisco hotel. We are happy to hear of your comfort in our recently renovated accommodations and brand new beds. Also, thank you for mentioning our luxurious bedding and towels, as well as our prompt housekeeping service! Our entire staff strives to deliver superior customer service to our guests throughout their entire stay. Making your experience an enjoyable and memorable one is our top priority! Thank you for staying with us. We do hope to welcome you back to California in the near future.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Was here for a private party on the top floor 2 months ago. I asked the staff directly where I could find a liquor store to provide alcohol for the party. They gave me directions and even opened the door for me while I was carrying bags of alcohol. Half way through the night one staff member confiscated the alcohol and said we were not allowed to bring our own alcohol. Not sure why they weren't consistent with the hotel policies. The one staff member who confiscated the alcohol was so rude and unprofessional in the way he handled the situation. He told the party we could pick up the alcohol at the front desk when we checked out. Upon checking out I asked for the alcohol they confiscated from us which was several hundred dollars worth and he returned one bottle of liquor that was pretty much empty. I asked for the rest of it ( several bottles of wine, bottles of liquor and beer) and he said you only get this back. He said you are lucky that I am even giving you anything back. I don't understand how he can choose which alcohol to give us and keep the rest. Everything about him was so unprofessional. We spent thousands on this party which was ruined by this one individual. He chose to keep all the unopened alcohol and retuned only a bottle of whiskey that was almost empty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jooon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear joon13,

We are extremely sorry for any miscommunication or inconvenience that took place. Please know that we constantly do our very best to accommodate our guests' requests, however, we must always operate within our hotel policies. At your earliest convenience, please call me directly at the hotel, as I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to further discuss these details of your experience. Your business and your feedback are very important to us. Thank you for your review. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews