We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$269
$200
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$380
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$218
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$221
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 57% below average rates

The price you found is 57% lower than this hotel's average rate of $461/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $392/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$472
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of $390/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $302/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,689)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveler rating
677
690
223
56
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
690
223
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaremarriott propertiesgeary streetnice boutique hoteltenderloin districthomeless peoplefew blockscorner roomhotel barbreakfast roomfront desk stafffree coffeevalet parkingceiling fanstreet noiselobbysf
Filter
Updating list...
1,565 - 1,570 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would have given this hotel a better score, but I really dislike the fact that they charge for WiFi (which didn't really work that well anyway). Please wake up and give free WiFi to your guests!

Other than that, we liked this hotel quite much. The service is good and the rooms look cool. All newly renovated and feels nice and fresh. We also thought the location was convenient. The neighborhood isn't as bad as some reviews claim it to be.

Close by you will find two great bars, Rye for awesome cocktails and Jasper's for great beer and a bite to eat.

Free the WiFi and I will have no problem recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear flowerpie,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your insight on your recent experience at Hotel Adagio, and are pleased that you enjoyed the nice and fresh atmosphere of our newly renovated property. Thank you for your valued input on our amenities, as your suggestions are extremely important to us in our goal to always deliver the very best experience our guests can enjoy. We appreciate your patronage and want you as our loyal guest. It is our hope that you will return to see us again on your next visit to our area.

Kind Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

No major problems, just a lower score since the neighborhood location is in a somewhat lower class area. Close to union square where you can shop and eat all you want. If you want to catch the cable car it's located a quick 3 min walk to powell and market street!

Hotel room-great beds, wonderful sheets and soft towels! Rooms were super clean and when asked for extra towels they delivered promptly!

Service-average. I did need assistance with a cab and Colin, the concierge, did a fabulous job and was very helpful with other recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetLove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear SunsetLove10,

Thank you for rating and reviewing our San Francisco hotel. We are happy to hear of your comfort in our recently renovated accommodations and brand new beds. Also, thank you for mentioning our luxurious bedding and towels, as well as our prompt housekeeping service! Our entire staff strives to deliver superior customer service to our guests throughout their entire stay. Making your experience an enjoyable and memorable one is our top priority! Thank you for staying with us. We do hope to welcome you back to California in the near future.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Was here for a private party on the top floor 2 months ago. I asked the staff directly where I could find a liquor store to provide alcohol for the party. They gave me directions and even opened the door for me while I was carrying bags of alcohol. Half way through the night one staff member confiscated the alcohol and said we were not allowed to bring our own alcohol. Not sure why they weren't consistent with the hotel policies. The one staff member who confiscated the alcohol was so rude and unprofessional in the way he handled the situation. He told the party we could pick up the alcohol at the front desk when we checked out. Upon checking out I asked for the alcohol they confiscated from us which was several hundred dollars worth and he returned one bottle of liquor that was pretty much empty. I asked for the rest of it ( several bottles of wine, bottles of liquor and beer) and he said you only get this back. He said you are lucky that I am even giving you anything back. I don't understand how he can choose which alcohol to give us and keep the rest. Everything about him was so unprofessional. We spent thousands on this party which was ruined by this one individual. He chose to keep all the unopened alcohol and retuned only a bottle of whiskey that was almost empty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jooon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear joon13,

We are extremely sorry for any miscommunication or inconvenience that took place. Please know that we constantly do our very best to accommodate our guests' requests, however, we must always operate within our hotel policies. At your earliest convenience, please call me directly at the hotel, as I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to further discuss these details of your experience. Your business and your feedback are very important to us. Thank you for your review. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

...but don't be misled by the website photos that show rooftop spaces--those are only for suites. the rooms are unexpectedly spacious and nicely designed, but the carpeting is scrungy-looking. double-glazed windows cut down on street noise. Must be persistent with room requests (like higher floors). No in-room coffee maker, but tea and coffee available 24 hours in lobby. Great location, shopping and restaurants steps away. And, despite presence of homeless folk, very safe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2IowaGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear 2IowaGals,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share with us and other travelers the details of your recent experience at Hotel Adagio. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our newly renovated San Francisco hotel, along with our amazing location . Thank you for mentioning how spacious our stylish accommodations truly are! We certainly had our guests in mind throughout our entire renovation process. Again, thank you for your review. We hope your future travel plans bring you back to see stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, near the theaters and all the attractions of Union Square. Everything is in walking distance and a nice walk at that with shopping and pleasant atmosphere around. The hotel its self is beautiful, rooms are a nice size and decorated nicely. Staff is accommodating and the abidance is very pleasant. A nice hotel for a getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Schmaller,

Thank you for your fabulous review and rating on your experience with us. We are very pleased that our amazing location proved to be convenient to you for visiting all of the local San Francisco attractions, restaurants and shops. Our guests love being within walking distance to everything! Thank you for also sharing details on our beautifully renovated accommodations and hotel. We hope you will return soon!

Best,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews