We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveler rating
662
678
211
53
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
678
211
53
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squaremarriott propertiesgeary streetnice boutique hoteltenderloin districtfew blockshomeless peoplecorner roomhotel barbreakfast roomfree coffeefront desk staffvalet parkingceiling fanstreet noiselobbysf
Filter
Updating list...
1,530 - 1,535 of 1,644 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed one night on business...loved the old hotel, which has been completely remodeled, but keeps its classic style. I was on the 16th floor, and the views were fantastic. The bar was hopping when I arrived at 7pm-ish on a Tues night. Walgreens and a Starbucks are within walking distance. My experience with the staff was terrific. I had a deep comfortable bathtub in my suite along with a standup shower....nice to have both. They provide Marriott Reward points which is an added plus since it is an off branded hotel. I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor for the view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear OCTodd,

Thank you for choosing to return to Hotel Adagio to experience our multi-million renovations and upscaled amenities. We are pleased you had the opportunity to also experience our brand new, sophisticated lounge, The Mortimer, and its exciting, social atmosphere. Thank you for also sharing the luxurious comforts and fantastic views you enjoyed in your suite, as well as terrific service. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Adagio for four nights and booked a standard king room. First visit to San Francisco. I liked the location that it was close to Union Square but not right in the middle of all the craziness. Our room was close to a club that had a rooftop patio so it was loud on Fri and Sat nights but not so bad that we couldn't fall asleep.

Whitney checked us in at the front desk and was super friendly. She also gave us great recommendations for dinner on two separate nights. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom is small-typical of a hotel in a large city like SF though. I was annoyed that they only give you two bath towels and two hand towels. Another bath towel would have been nice to use for my hair. One night we returned to our room and the towels had been refreshed but we had no hand towels so I called down to the front desk and they promptly sent two up. Another night we ordered room service pretty late-food arrived quickly and was really delicious (Adagio burger). We put our tray outside our door and it sat there for two days before hotel staff finally picked it up-gross!

We had drinks at The Mortimer one night - great hand crafted cocktails. All in all it was a good stay at Hotel Adagio. Don't know that I would stay here again but I would recommend it to friends and family if they are looking for a smaller boutique hotel in SF.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyTripletMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear CrazyTripletMom,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to experience your very first visit in San Francisco! We appreciate you taking the time to note that received helpful and knowledgeable service from our staff. Your comments have been shared with our team, as it is always a great reward for us to be recognized for service by our valued guests. We do apologize that your tray was not promptly removed from outside your door. This too has been shared with the appropriate staff members. Be assured that we will determine where the error was made to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for your review and recommendation of our San Francisco hotel.

Kind Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent 2,500$ for the penthouse suite. There were bums all around the neighborhood causing problems. The power went out several times. They have a wiring problem and actually yelled at me saying it was my fault. The French man who was the night manager was very rude and disrespectful. Looking back I would definately pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighRollr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear HighRollr,

First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced described in your review. We are also sorry for the miscommunication that took place with our night manager; it was not our intention to be disrespectful in any way. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss these details further with you at your earliest convenience. Please call me directly at the hotel so that I can personally extend my apologies to you again. We appreciate your business and hope to regain your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is very well-located (just short blocks from Union Square) and, if you are lucky enough to get a corner room on a high floor (a Skyline room), can offer some pretty spectacular views. The rooms are spacious and offer all the amenities you might need. The hotel's update didn't involve a complete gutting - so be okay with older windows, too-slow elevators and water that takes a minute to heat, and you'll feel like you are getting a great hotel at a good value. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The bar staff was great and the food and drinks top-notch, though the bar gets a little tight when it's most busy. I'd choose Hotel Adagio again without question.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor (like room 1509) are spacious with great views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear steven s,

Thank you for sharing the details of your impressive experience in one of our Skyline Rooms. Spectacular views, extra space and all the amenities you need certainly best describes this room type well. We are pleased that you enjoyed good value and extremely helpful service. Thank you for mentioning our new, stylish and sophisticated cocktail lounge, The Mortimer. Our master mixologists are professionally trained to deliver top notch experiences and are pleased they succeeded in impressing you. We are all delighted that you would, without question, return to our San Francisco hotel, and hope it will be in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Location is just blocks from Union Square. Never ate in hotel but many restaurants nearby including a great breakfast place called Honey Honey. Easy walking or public transportation access to many tourist spots.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear John C,

Thank you for sharing the details of your 5 star experience at our San Francisco hotel! We are very excited to receive your positive feedback and appreciate your compliments on our hotel and staff. We hope you will be back soon to not only enjoy another exceptional experience at our hotel, but to also take advantage of our amazing location again and visit all of the nearby San Francisco attractions.

Kind Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews