We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, needs some refining to be 5 star in my book”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #55 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Adagio for four nights and booked a standard king room. First visit to San Francisco. I liked the location that it was close to Union Square but not right in the middle of all the craziness. Our room was close to a club that had a rooftop patio so it was loud on Fri and Sat nights but not so bad that we couldn't fall asleep.

Whitney checked us in at the front desk and was super friendly. She also gave us great recommendations for dinner on two separate nights. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom is small-typical of a hotel in a large city like SF though. I was annoyed that they only give you two bath towels and two hand towels. Another bath towel would have been nice to use for my hair. One night we returned to our room and the towels had been refreshed but we had no hand towels so I called down to the front desk and they promptly sent two up. Another night we ordered room service pretty late-food arrived quickly and was really delicious (Adagio burger). We put our tray outside our door and it sat there for two days before hotel staff finally picked it up-gross!

We had drinks at The Mortimer one night - great hand crafted cocktails. All in all it was a good stay at Hotel Adagio. Don't know that I would stay here again but I would recommend it to friends and family if they are looking for a smaller boutique hotel in SF.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyTripletMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear CrazyTripletMom,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to experience your very first visit in San Francisco! We appreciate you taking the time to note that received helpful and knowledgeable service from our staff. Your comments have been shared with our team, as it is always a great reward for us to be recognized for service by our valued guests. We do apologize that your tray was not promptly removed from outside your door. This too has been shared with the appropriate staff members. Be assured that we will determine where the error was made to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for your review and recommendation of our San Francisco hotel.

Kind Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent 2,500$ for the penthouse suite. There were bums all around the neighborhood causing problems. The power went out several times. They have a wiring problem and actually yelled at me saying it was my fault. The French man who was the night manager was very rude and disrespectful. Looking back I would definately pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighRollr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear HighRollr,

First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced described in your review. We are also sorry for the miscommunication that took place with our night manager; it was not our intention to be disrespectful in any way. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss these details further with you at your earliest convenience. Please call me directly at the hotel so that I can personally extend my apologies to you again. We appreciate your business and hope to regain your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is very well-located (just short blocks from Union Square) and, if you are lucky enough to get a corner room on a high floor (a Skyline room), can offer some pretty spectacular views. The rooms are spacious and offer all the amenities you might need. The hotel's update didn't involve a complete gutting - so be okay with older windows, too-slow elevators and water that takes a minute to heat, and you'll feel like you are getting a great hotel at a good value. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The bar staff was great and the food and drinks top-notch, though the bar gets a little tight when it's most busy. I'd choose Hotel Adagio again without question.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor (like room 1509) are spacious with great views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear steven s,

Thank you for sharing the details of your impressive experience in one of our Skyline Rooms. Spectacular views, extra space and all the amenities you need certainly best describes this room type well. We are pleased that you enjoyed good value and extremely helpful service. Thank you for mentioning our new, stylish and sophisticated cocktail lounge, The Mortimer. Our master mixologists are professionally trained to deliver top notch experiences and are pleased they succeeded in impressing you. We are all delighted that you would, without question, return to our San Francisco hotel, and hope it will be in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Location is just blocks from Union Square. Never ate in hotel but many restaurants nearby including a great breakfast place called Honey Honey. Easy walking or public transportation access to many tourist spots.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear John C,

Thank you for sharing the details of your 5 star experience at our San Francisco hotel! We are very excited to receive your positive feedback and appreciate your compliments on our hotel and staff. We hope you will be back soon to not only enjoy another exceptional experience at our hotel, but to also take advantage of our amazing location again and visit all of the nearby San Francisco attractions.

Kind Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Showed up after booking through a conference housing page to find that the hotel was oversold and we would have to be relocated for one night. This was clearly not an ideal situation when heading into 3 full days of meetings all around the city.

While I was initially frustrated, Hotel Adagio made up for the inconvenience not only by covering the one night we were displaced elsewhere but also providing us lunch in their bar and putting us in upgraded rooms upon our return. These are signs of a great hotel focused on service.

My room extremely comfortable and had a great view of the city. Noise was well insulated, leading to a great night's sleep.

Net net this is a modern and sleek hotel with great service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Bolie11,

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to detail your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the initial inconvenience and frustration; however, it certainly was our pleasure to make every effort to make things right. You are absolutely correct; we are committed to delivering exceptional service to our guests and ensuring that their experience is a memorable one. It's great to learn that you were extremely comfortable and enjoyed the amazing San Francisco view from your room as well as a great night's sleep. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to our area.

Best,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late, after a long day, and were looking to get to bed for some rest. Our skyline queen room was apparently booked for the 6th floor. When I saw the front desk attendant writing the number on card pamphlet I mentioned we had booked a skyline room and she said a glitch in the system thinks the 6th floor is a skyline room. She kindly put us in a different room, which was a corner king on the 9th floor. This was about 9:30 at night on a Friday, so we were very thankful for that accommodation. Now when we were coming into the area we were concerned about noise because it was so busy and loud on Friday night, however on the 9th floor we barely heard anything. A very very peaceful night sleep. The room itself was great. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom and overall very modern look and feel. We didn't spend much time checking out the hotel, so can't say much else. Would definitely recommend and stay again. One bit of advice. Park somewhere else. We got a full 24 hours a block away for 25 bucks.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Nick E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our San Francisco hotel and detailing your experience on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the miscommunication that occurred at our front desk, and are happy that you were ultimately pleased with your Skyline Room. The view of the city from our Skyline Rooms are quite amazing! Thank you for noting that your room was great, beds were comfortable and that you also enjoyed a very, very peaceful night's sleep. Your recommendation means the world to us and we are excited that you would stay again. We hope you will return soon!

Kind Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just spent 10days here on business. This is a good business hotel, it has everything you need, good location if you want to be downtown. I don't know the roommate as was pre paid but I imagine its reasonable. I would use this again for a weekend or business trip but not a family long stay as lacks some essentials. Simple suggestions to improve : tea/coffee making facilities in each room, bar/kitchen open all day, concierge to open front door and help with luggage, faster room service, if problems with boilers and no hot water be pro active and call each guest and tell them what's wrong and resolution time, expand the gym, organise a free access or discount access to local swim pool facilities

This is trying to be boutique style independent hotel but really isn't - as Marriott Hotel chain has bought it they should turn it into a good mid range business hotel but some investment and increase in service needs to happen.



Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank jayyjayym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear jayyjayym,

Thank you for extended stay with us on your recent San Francisco business trip and sharing with other travelers how much you enjoyed your experience All of your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated, as we rely on your insight to inform us of where we are succeeding and where improvements need to be made. Your extensive details will definitely be taken into consideration. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Suzie Yang, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
591 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,518 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $197 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing