We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Bus San Francisco: Sightseeing Sunset Tour by Open-Top Bus
279

Book in advance
from
$49.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Treasure Island
from $49.00
More Info
from $269.00
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $84.99
More Info
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
124
96
28
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
124
96
28
5
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 262 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Plenty of free parking made me forget I was still in the Bay Area. Entrance fees were minimal and a huge show of food trucks all lined up to meet your every culinary desire. There was even several bars serving sangria and mocktails. We all found treasures in the merchandise for sale. Maybe this is why it is called Treasure Island!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank lshibumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

If you get a chance to go to Treasure Island on a clear night, you should go. There is a view of San Francisco that is unmatched. We were on a Big Bus Night Tour which took us to the Island. My son said he had a business lunch at a restaurant on the island.

View at Night is great!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank nkwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The small island in between the 2 spans of the Bay Bridge. Once used as a military post WWII is now mostly empty. looks like much of the barracks are now low income housing. Trash & debris everywhere. Still very nice views of the Bay.. Alcatraz & the City. There is a small winery set up with wine tasting by the entrance. Public transportation comes to the island & there is no fee to enter.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We decided to explore Treasure Island for a Saturday walk recently. It is a strange place, to say the least.
The flat part of the "island" is artificial, originally filled in for the Golden Gate International Exposition of 1939-1940. Sadly, there seems to be only one building from that exposition remaining, and this one building is not well maintained or supported as a historical site. However, it is called "The Treasure Island Museum." When we were there the parking area was blocked off, and there was no signage indicating when the museum might be open. There are some very interesting statues in front, and you can see interesting-looking interior murals if you look through the windows. Sad.
During World War II the island was used as a military base and most of the rest of the buildings there are military barracks and such. At this point in time, a very high percentage of them are abandoned and in disrepair.
We decided to try to walk, more or less, the perimeter of the island. Heading north, we ran into restricted areas and warnings about bio-hazards, even in areas that seemed to still be used for housing.
So we headed east to the other side. More abandoned buildings, and by this time the morning fog had begun to burn off, so it was getting quite warm. When we got as far east as we could, we headed south briefly, then walked back to the eastern side which has the best views of San Francisco. With the fog lifted, lots of other visitors were out to look at the city.
The views are really spectacular. The rest of the island is just confusing. It is a location of incredible potential-- yet it is abandoned, in limbo.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank N_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful views for sure, sunrises for San Francisco are best. The construction on the island limited access to good viewing areas. It looks like improvements are coming, we hope soon!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank SaltyKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews