We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel find in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 30, 2004

The Argonaut Hotel was everything we expected. The staff was quite helpful, and the location was perfect. We stayed on the top floor overlooking the bay. It's worth the additional cost. We were also able to see when the cable car lines were short! This can be critical when staying for only one night, fitting in as much sight-seeing as possible.
The details in the room such as Aveda products and fun decor sets the Argonaut apart from the typical chain hotels. The bedding was super comfortable too. If you're looking for a small "boutique" hotel, the Argonaut is a great choice!

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducks062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,770)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,062 - 5,068 of 5,770 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Del Mar, CA
1
Reviewed June 25, 2004

My husband had stayed at the Argonaut previously and insisted that we stay there when we went up together. The idea of Fisherman's Wharf turned me off, but I relented and we stayed in a room with a view at the Argonaut. I could not have been more happy..the view of the Park and Bay was wonderful, running in the morning was a delight and the staff could not have been more sincere, down to earth, eager to please, happy and well trained. However, one night the hotel was very busy and it seemed that the staff acted a bit rushed and frantic. We did use the restaurant for breakfast and it was fine, but there are so many excellent restaurants in San Francisco why stay for dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel if you like being by the water. It's great.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2004

Just returned from the Wharf after spending two nights at the Argonaut Hotel.

The Hotel location, amenities, value and cleanliness were excellent. The service staff were excellent.

Highly recommended - we had three adults and 3 children (ages 13, 13 and 7). The kids loved the place! They also loved the Hotel's restaurant, the Blue Mermaid!

Why an A- instead of an A+ - because the concierge/check-in staff were less than helpful on two occasions.

The first was on initial check in. Traveling with children we had requested adjoining rooms only to find that our rooms were located quite some distance apart.

The explanation was that the hotel was full and they had to do some moving around to accomodate other visitors. NOT GOOD ENOUGH since we had made reservations quite some time before. Personally, we could care less about their booking problems.

Anyway, they made it right by upgrading one of the rooms to a suite. MOST EXCELLENT! It was quite superior to the standard room.

We inquired whether all 6 persons could just stay in the suite (with roll aways) and was told NO. However, when we checked back later (different staff), we were told YES! So the second night we all stayed in the suite (which had a premo hot tub/whirlpool overlooking the bay!).

Persistence pays off!

Anyway, we would recommend both the hotel and the restaurant (on its own).

Oh the other occasion, the we asked the concierge where the closest ATM was and his directions were less than accurate and obviously less than helpful.

2  Thank mbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Friendswood,TX
1
Reviewed June 13, 2004

The Argonaut Hotel was in an excellent location. It is uniquely decorated and the beds and pillows are heavenly. The restaurant service was slow in the mornings but all of the staff was friendly and helpful. It would be nice if they offered coffee service in the lobby during the early hours of the day.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2004

What can I say - we loved this hotel! We booked for Valentine's Day weekend, and had a fabulous time. The room we stayed in was a small inside room without a view, but we didn't miss a thing. The decor was homey, yet elegant, and the Aveda products that are in the bathroom are top notch. On a side note, I arranged a boxed lunch to be available at the desk for a very early morning day trip, and the items were not ready when they were supposed to be - I think that this was more an issue with the restaurant, however. I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a romantic location... 5 stars!

Thank juice23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bloomfield, NJ
1
Reviewed June 2, 2004

My husband researched the Argonaut on tripadvisor.com and it lived up to the reviews. The location is better than any of the other hotels out there that we actually saw and had researched. It was right on the Wharf, we had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge and a pretty park and the cable car and Ghirardelli Square were a very short walk away. The staff was courteous and always willing to help with everything. They helped with small and large details. The nautical theme was cute and definitely not too much. Two issues-One-We didn't hear any outdoor noise but we could hear the people next door to our room really well which was definitely disconcerting! Two-A full length mirror would have been nice! Overall, I would definitely recommend the Argonaut to anyone and would stay there again myself.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2004

The Argonaut is a wonderful hotel. The staff are very helpful, from the doormen and the front desk to the concierge and housekeeping. A lovely surprise is the 5pm wine tasting in the lobby. The guestroom is very comfortable and we have plenty of space to spread out. There are even Aveda products in the bathroom! Considering the hotel is right on Fishermans Wharf, you'd expect a lot of noise but we didn't have any issues - it was very quiet, almost soundproofed. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,223 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
3,297 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $283 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing