We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Fisherman's Wharf area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Fisherman's Wharf area!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in an old cannery and shares the building with the SF Maritime National Historical Park's Visitors Center And Interactive Museum. The hotel has a nautical theme, but it seemed a little "kitchy" and "dated". The front end staff and concierge were friendly and gave good recommendations. We were so busy that we were unable to enjoy their wine reception. The location was convenient and in walking distance to most of SFs attractions and several good restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi, there, Marilyn G!
The nautical renovation of the property is just two years young, though the concept was a "midcentury ocean liner," so that may help account for things feeling a bit dated. I understand if the style is not for you, and the neat thing is that each of our 8 Kimpton Hotels here in the city has a different look and feel. That said, we hope to see you back here with us :)! We are the lucky ones to have the historic waterfront location.... I'm just saying ;)....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,536
    1,606
    357
    136
    56
See reviews for
1,617
2,411
133
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Argonaut three nights in the beginning of our Californiatrip. The hotel was very good; friendly and welcoming staff, nice and clean rooms with nice beds. Breakfast was also very good - and again friendly staff! We can definitively recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Åsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks, Asa B! We appreciate your recommendations, and do rely on our faithful fans to help spread the word! I'm so happy to hear the team made you feel right at home here, and -- YES -- breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, made all the better by Chef's magical bacon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We reserved a Bay View room and was extremely happy we did. The view from the room was on the 4th floor directly facing Golden Gate bridge. We could hear the gulls watch a gorgeous sunset and see the bridge lit up at night.
You can stay downtown for a slightly upgraded room for the price you pay here and if you sign up for Kimpton rewards free WiFi!
Parking is steep but it's the same everywhere in San Fran. My kids are both over 17 years of age and they loved it here.
Highly recommend the upgraded room!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadaRockiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi, CanadaRockiesgirl!
It's great to hear that your family loved their time here, and that Golden Gate Bridge view made a big impression on everyone. Thanks also for mentioning that parking prices are kind of crazy everywhere in the city. It's one of the few downsides to visiting the city, though we all still love our dear SF due to her many alluring charms.... however much we ourselves pay in parking and rent :)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

When staying in San Francisco, this this the place to stay. The quality of service, linens, and location is an A+ In my book. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, the linens are so soft and plush, and the location can't be beat. This hotel is in a quieter part of town, which means a great nights sleep. From my window I could see Alcatraz: the view was beautiful. The tram is super close: within throwing distance, and there is a grocery store a block away.
When I visit San Francisco, this is one of my favorite places to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MinervaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks, MinervaNichole! We love you right back, and are so delighted to receive this "A+" grade. The linen, location, and land crew will all be here to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This being our 9th visit, as we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and my wife's birthday
we were given an upgrade with a complimentary bottle of wine and goodies.

The management and staff made us feel very welcome. This hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are spacious, very comfortable

Each evening there is free wine tasting.

This hotel is very well situated, very near to pier 39 and a few yards from the cable car and trams.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and will be returning next year for our 10th visit from the U.K.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reesgillvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Reesgillvin!
I see you have struck TripAdvisor once again! It will be so neat to see your smiling faces board the Argonaut once more in early Summer next year for your 2015 "double celebration." I have enjoyed sharing your inspiring and uplifting life stories with some of my colleagues here.
I'm happy we made you feel welcome, though of course we are the ones who should be thanking you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for 3 nights in July, and we couldn't have asked for a better place. Most likely this is where we'll stay next time we go to San Francisco again.

The location can't get much better. It's right down on the end of Fisherman's Wharf. You can walk to pretty much anywhere in the city easily from here. A long walk to some places, but you can do it. If you don't want to walk, there's a trolley stop right outside. It's also very easy to get a taxi. If you call down first, the valet guys will have one waiting for you. You can also rent bicycles right next door, and either ride of walk to the GG bridge. If you enjoy running or biking, there is a great trail right outside the front door that goes all the way to the bridge, across it, and even further on the other side.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. From the photos I saw, it looked a little small to me, but our room was very large, clean, modern looking, and the bed was extremely comfortable. They also had a very large, jet tub, with plenty of room for two.

The service was also great. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment not he food. But, everyone we dealt with... doorman, valet, front desk, and concierge were all very friendly and accommodating. Superb customer service all around. At least for us, this was the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks, Adam N! We appreciate hearing that the team's service really shined and the two of you had such a great time. The soaking tubs in the suites are just the best, and I think it's so neat to soak with some of the wines offered in the lobby while you look out at the views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for three maybe four nights in a room with a view of Alcatraz. The linen was so lush, soft and clean! I'm a huge fan of quality linen and you can see they did well here. The room was well sized. The staff were especially warm and friendly and seemed genuine which I found endearing. The best part and I don't know why we were surprised was the restaurant attached to the Argonaut was outstanding! (Except for the coffee, sorry, somehow Americans just don't get good coffee). We practically had all our breakfasts and dinners there because we have a toddler. It was well priced, the staff and service was wonderful. You have to try their Seafood chowder. Blows you mind! Breakfast was good too. Lots of healthy options.
Location wise, it is situated in the quieter part of San Fran which is great if you want a good nights sleep and especially have kids or are jet lagged.

There is a tram stop around the corner. Grocery stores one block up. Lovely park around the corner if you have kids.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wooohoo! Thanks, Divya77.

I just shared a copy of your review with the restaurant GM as well. They'll be delighted to know that they brought that extra delight to the start (and sometimes end) of your days here with us.

And I know just what you mean: it's all about a good night's sleep and a comfy bed, and I'm glad you loved the sheets, too! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,136 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
95 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,214 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing